We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this!”

Prime Berth Fishing Museum
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Twillingate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prime Berth Twillingate Fishery & Heritage Centre is a private interpretive fishing center and craft studio created by David Boyd as a tribute to his fisher forefathers.In honour of this tradition, and as a tribute to proud people so dear to his heart, David decided to call his heritage centre - "Prime Berth"- meaning literally -"the best spot!"
Blind Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016

There are a lot of very interesting and educational displays here. After several weeks of travel in Nfld. we had seen a lot of presentations about the cod fishery and thought we had a pretty good handle on how it worked but it wasn't until we saw the displays at the Prime Berth that it all came together and the whole thing made sense.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    35
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“"Quirky"”
Reviewed 23 September 2016

An interesting visit. Walk around and you might see things that your grandparents used and many things that you won't recognize.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting items”
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Fascinating look at how the fishermen survived in the past. Good gift shop attached and books on local lore.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank eej1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Were so lucky to meet two fishermen and hear so much about the differences in the past and now.The museum is a true trip into the past and very interesting.My husband and i both enjoyed it very much and were glad we stopped!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit”
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Quite an interesting place to visit. To see how the story of the whale, and how they floated Grandpa's store to it's present site are both interesting. There are many antiques, some great fishing stories and a nice little gift shop. Well worth a stop if you are in the area.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ijaxson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captdave2015, Owner at Prime Berth Fishing Museum, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Always nice to know that all your hard work is being appreciated. Thanks so much! Be sure next time to take a boat tour with me , as we try and make that the very best part of your Nl vacation. Fun and safety is our two main concerns. Just bought 2 brand new 4 stroke motors to make sure we won't be rowing back to the dock. Also should be thrilling with 180 horses behind us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prime Berth Fishing Museum also viewed

Twillingate, Newfoundland
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 

Been to Prime Berth Fishing Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing