We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facinating place”

Prime Berth Fishing Museum
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Twillingate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prime Berth Twillingate Fishery & Heritage Centre is a private interpretive fishing center and craft studio created by David Boyd as a tribute to his fisher forefathers.In honour of this tradition, and as a tribute to proud people so dear to his heart, David decided to call his heritage centre - "Prime Berth"- meaning literally -"the best spot!"
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Facinating place”
Reviewed 2 October 2016

My wife and I visited the museum during our tour of Newfoundland. It came highly recommended by host at our bed and breakfast, Captain's Legacy. We met Dave and did the tour. A lot of history here, very interesting. Highlight was the whale skeleton. It comes from a whale washed up on an Island which Dave found and got permission to take possession. The entire skeleton has been put together on his dock. It is family friendly and we would recommend visiting to get a lot of historical knowledge of area and the cod fishing industry. The owner is an active fisherman.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    36
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blind Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016

There are a lot of very interesting and educational displays here. After several weeks of travel in Nfld. we had seen a lot of presentations about the cod fishery and thought we had a pretty good handle on how it worked but it wasn't until we saw the displays at the Prime Berth that it all came together and the whole thing made sense.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“"Quirky"”
Reviewed 23 September 2016

An interesting visit. Walk around and you might see things that your grandparents used and many things that you won't recognize.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting items”
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Fascinating look at how the fishermen survived in the past. Good gift shop attached and books on local lore.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank eej1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Were so lucky to meet two fishermen and hear so much about the differences in the past and now.The museum is a true trip into the past and very interesting.My husband and i both enjoyed it very much and were glad we stopped!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prime Berth Fishing Museum also viewed

Twillingate, Newfoundland
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 

Been to Prime Berth Fishing Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing