We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twillingate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Echoes of the Ocean
Ranked #10 of 21 Twillingate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Echoes of the Ocean exceeded our expectations on every level. Linda and Wayne were perfect hosts and the B and B was spotless, modern, well equipped and comfortable. A great advantage of this B and B is all the property is available to the guests so you can walk across to the dock which is theirs and have your morning coffee or a drink underneath the stars or just sit in a chair or at the picnic table and watch the world go by. Linda made our reservations for the dinner theatre, made suggestions about where to eat and what to do and had a map with the attractions and locations available on check in. When we arrived, we just called and Linda arrived right away. In the evening, she gets everything set up for breakfast the next morning and her homemade jams are incredible. The highlight of our trip was going out in the boat with Wayne for most of one afternoon - our private tour guide. He is well experienced on the water and found us whales and icebergs and was a wealth of information. He even got us some iceberg ice so we could have a drink after our wonderful afternoon at sea and brought out their good crystal to make our "bucket list drink" extra special. We will return and hope to bring our family and stay again and enjoy the hospitality of Linda and Wayne and the comforts of Echoes of the Ocean!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Nice, quiet room. Breakfast was set up the night before so you can eat at your convenience. Fresh fruit, home baked bread and muffins, juice, cereal, milk available .Full kitchen if you wanted to cook. Not your usual B & B setup, but ok. Nice living room area. Central location in small community of Twillingate.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Long weekend in Newfoundland; July 12-14. Everything in town booked out. Called the Visitor Centre in Twillingate for recommendations on finding available accommodations in town. (Great service from the Visitor's Centre by the way). They called back with 2 properties that had remaining availability; Echoes on The Ocean was first on the list. We called, asked a ton of questions of the owner; we were told RIGHT ON THE BEACH and a DELUXE 2-BEDROOM SELF CONTAINED CABIN. Sounded great and would fit our needs for 2 nights.

When we arrived it was neither. POOR view of harbour; run-down old warehouse blocking view; not on the beach; across the street and 100 metres from water. Accommodations building was run down and not very inviting AND the scruffy looking guest with the dirty shirt, mullet and dog staying on site didn't add to our excitement. We tried to check in on 3 separate occasions during the day; owner was out in a boat. Disappointed with what we saw once on site, we did not stay. BEWARE if you are looking for that perfect house on the beach...check thoroughly prior to settling on this gem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, Owner at Echoes of the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are sorry that we did not have the opportunity to check you into your accommodations for the one-night stay you had booked with us on July 12th. When you arrived to check in at 1 PM, we did indeed inform you that we were out in boat but that we would be there in half an hour to check you in; you were kind enough to tell us to take our time as you would do some sightseeing around town and come back later to check in. Nevertheless, we returned immediately to shore and were available to receive our guests for the rest of the day as per the instructions posted on the front entrance of the B&B.

At the time of booking the reservation, we advised you that we did not have any availability at our B&B but that we did have a two bedroom Cottage available for the evening. You inquired as to whether or not there was a view of the water and we responded that there is a direct view of the ocean from the front deck of the Cottage. Your assumption that this property was located on the beach was indeed just your "assumption" as we do not have any such accommodation to offer. Also, the man and dog which you described as being on the property was certainly not a description of any of our guests for the evening.

When you did not return to check in, we left a message at 9:45 PM on the number you had called us on earlier, inquiring as to when we could expect you. We are sorry that you decided not to stay with us and that you did not call to advise us accordingly, as we had at least four other calls that day from people who were unable to find accommodations. Also, we are certain you would have enjoyed your night in our spacious Cottage and may have even taken the opportunity to relax around the fire with some of our other guests that evening on our 120 x 80 foot dock located across the street from other accommodations. Again, we are sure that you would have been satisfied with your accommodations if we had been allowed the privilege to have a conversation with you and shown you what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our three night stay at Echos of the Ocean was wonderful. Linda and Wayne were great hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed their company. When Linda found out that I love rhubarb jam she made sure that she had homemade rhubarb jam for me. The partridgeberry and bake apple jam we wonderful as well. If we were to return to Twillingate we would definitely return to Echos of the Ocean. They are great people and run a great B and B. We were sad to leave.
Don't forget to book early as Twillingate is a popular place to view the many icebergs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoJoWro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The room was neat, clean, and relatively new. There was considerable attention to detail. Our host, Linda, gave us a great introduction to Twillingate. We were within easy walking distance of boat tours, a convenience store and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Linda and Wayne were wonderful hosts, with lots of helpful suggestions of where to eat and where to see icebergs. They live in a separate house behind the B & B. Each unit has 2 bedrooms and share a living rm and kitchen. All spotlessly clean and new. Linda sets out breakfast the night before, you just need to turn on the coffee maker in the morning. There's fruit, cereal, homemade bread, muffins, jams etc.
We were thrilled to see the harbour full of icebergs, so Wayne took 2 muskoka chairs down to his dock (across the street from the B & B) so we could sit there and enjoy the view with a glass of wine!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was the third B&B we stayed at ever. We found it clean and the location was great. We were surprised to find that the host didn't live in the house but behind it. The house is split into two sides: Two bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen on either side of the house. The hallway has been blocked off. I'm assuming the other side was the same as ours but I didn't see it. I thought it was a pretty good set up. She said the breakfast would be set up that night and all we had to do was switch on the coffee in the morning. We left quite early and didn't want to wake up the other couple so we didn't have breakfast. Overall, it was a nice place. Like I said, we'd never stayed in B&Bs before and we had three different experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twillingate hotels
0.9 km away
Sunshine Inn - Twillingate & Beyond
1.5 km away
Whitsha Inn B&B
Whitsha Inn B&B
#8 of 21 in Twillingate
82 reviews
1.2 km away
Anchor Inn Hotel
Anchor Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Twillingate
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
North 99 Motel
North 99 Motel
#6 of 8 in Twillingate
3 reviews
0.6 km away
White On Wood
White On Wood
#3 of 8 in Twillingate
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echoes of the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echoes of the Ocean

Address: 1 C&D Hospital Lane, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Twillingate
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echoes of the Ocean provide a warm homelike atmosphere in clean, comfortable surroundings. On arrival guests are provided with a wealth of information on all that Twillingate has to offer, including walking, museums, boat tours, restaurants, nightly entertainment and much more. Located next to the beautiful Twillingate Harbour, guests can enjoy the sights and sounds of the ocean from our private dock or relax on our decks or large back garden. Each of our four spacious rooms have ensuite baths, queen beds plus added single bed in two of the rooms. Our smoke free establishment is child-friendly with a huge garden for play and/or relaxation. We have a discretionary pet policy and parking is provided for all types of vehicles. Guests who are travelling with family and friends can take advantage of our self-contained option with use of kitchen and sitting room. There are two full sized kitchens and sitting rooms where our guests can enjoy the comforts of a "Home Away from Home". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Echoes Of The Ocean Twillingate, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing