We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
46
8
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
8
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh codliving roomtwo nightsthe kitchenhomemade jamsthe ownerlaundry facilitieson arrivalhome madebed and breakfastb bsboat tourenjoyed our staywayneechoedunitharbourfront
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 59 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Echoes of the Ocean exceeded our expectations on every level. Linda and Wayne were perfect hosts and the B and B was spotless, modern, well equipped and comfortable. A great advantage of this B and B is all the property is available to the guests so you can walk across to the dock which is theirs and have your morning coffee or a drink underneath the stars or just sit in a chair or at the picnic table and watch the world go by. Linda made our reservations for the dinner theatre, made suggestions about where to eat and what to do and had a map with the attractions and locations available on check in. When we arrived, we just called and Linda arrived right away. In the evening, she gets everything set up for breakfast the next morning and her homemade jams are incredible. The highlight of our trip was going out in the boat with Wayne for most of one afternoon - our private tour guide. He is well experienced on the water and found us whales and icebergs and was a wealth of information. He even got us some iceberg ice so we could have a drink after our wonderful afternoon at sea and brought out their good crystal to make our "bucket list drink" extra special. We will return and hope to bring our family and stay again and enjoy the hospitality of Linda and Wayne and the comforts of Echoes of the Ocean!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice, quiet room. Breakfast was set up the night before so you can eat at your convenience. Fresh fruit, home baked bread and muffins, juice, cereal, milk available .Full kitchen if you wanted to cook. Not your usual B & B setup, but ok. Nice living room area. Central location in small community of Twillingate.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Long weekend in Newfoundland; July 12-14. Everything in town booked out. Called the Visitor Centre in Twillingate for recommendations on finding available accommodations in town. (Great service from the Visitor's Centre by the way). They called back with 2 properties that had remaining availability; Echoes on The Ocean was first on the list. We called, asked a ton of questions of the owner; we were told RIGHT ON THE BEACH and a DELUXE 2-BEDROOM SELF CONTAINED CABIN. Sounded great and would fit our needs for 2 nights.

When we arrived it was neither. POOR view of harbour; run-down old warehouse blocking view; not on the beach; across the street and 100 metres from water. Accommodations building was run down and not very inviting AND the scruffy looking guest with the dirty shirt, mullet and dog staying on site didn't add to our excitement. We tried to check in on 3 separate occasions during the day; owner was out in a boat. Disappointed with what we saw once on site, we did not stay. BEWARE if you are looking for that perfect house on the beach...check thoroughly prior to settling on this gem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, Owner at Echoes of the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We are sorry that we did not have the opportunity to check you into your accommodations for the one-night stay you had booked with us on July 12th. When you arrived to check in at 1 PM, we did indeed inform you that we were out in boat but that we would be there in half an hour to check you in; you were kind enough to tell us to take our time as you would do some sightseeing around town and come back later to check in. Nevertheless, we returned immediately to shore and were available to receive our guests for the rest of the day as per the instructions posted on the front entrance of the B&B.

At the time of booking the reservation, we advised you that we did not have any availability at our B&B but that we did have a two bedroom Cottage available for the evening. You inquired as to whether or not there was a view of the water and we responded that there is a direct view of the ocean from the front deck of the Cottage. Your assumption that this property was located on the beach was indeed just your "assumption" as we do not have any such accommodation to offer. Also, the man and dog which you described as being on the property was certainly not a description of any of our guests for the evening.

When you did not return to check in, we left a message at 9:45 PM on the number you had called us on earlier, inquiring as to when we could expect you. We are sorry that you decided not to stay with us and that you did not call to advise us accordingly, as we had at least four other calls that day from people who were unable to find accommodations. Also, we are certain you would have enjoyed your night in our spacious Cottage and may have even taken the opportunity to relax around the fire with some of our other guests that evening on our 120 x 80 foot dock located across the street from other accommodations. Again, we are sure that you would have been satisfied with your accommodations if we had been allowed the privilege to have a conversation with you and shown you what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our three night stay at Echos of the Ocean was wonderful. Linda and Wayne were great hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed their company. When Linda found out that I love rhubarb jam she made sure that she had homemade rhubarb jam for me. The partridgeberry and bake apple jam we wonderful as well. If we were to return to Twillingate we would definitely return to Echos of the Ocean. They are great people and run a great B and B. We were sad to leave.
Don't forget to book early as Twillingate is a popular place to view the many icebergs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoJoWro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The room was neat, clean, and relatively new. There was considerable attention to detail. Our host, Linda, gave us a great introduction to Twillingate. We were within easy walking distance of boat tours, a convenience store and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews