We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Excellent!

Wow, wow, wow! We were lucky to be there on a sunny day and the tour was amazing. Very informative... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
carolineg55
,
Coventry, United Kingdom
via mobile
Stunning views

We were fortunate to do take this fantastic boat tour on a sunny warm day. Stunning views of the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Rick M
,
kingston, Canada
Read all 678 reviews
  
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
513
117
33
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
513
117
33
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat tour parking lot km walk top deck gravel path towering cliffs stunning scenery gros morne mobility issues natural beauty highlight of our trip easy hike dock fjord pond bon boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 678 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Western Brook Pond is effectively a freshwater fjord, produced by glaciation and cut off from the sea when the glacier retreated.

From the parking area there is a pleasant 1.5 km stroll through bog scenery to the boat departure building. The original boardwalk has been replaced by a wide raised path of “Grade B” stones as of 2018 making an easy walking surface which is wheelchair friendly.

The departure building has a little cafe and gift shop, reasonably priced, as well as “washroom” facilities.

The boat tour is about two hours long and takes you into spectacular fjord scenery, with cliffs that tower 2,000 feet from water level straight up. The guides give a running commentary on the various features - quite fascinating.

Simply - unmissable!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Livefats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

We were fortunate to have a picture perfect day for our excursion. We had booked our tour a couple weeks before and were glad we did as it was filled to capacity. Try and get a spot on the top of the boat if possible. Truly a majestic, almost untouched area. A must if you're visiting the park. The only negative is the walk to the boat. The 'hike' is actually a dusty gravel road. People walking with us said the trail been widened in recent years so it's no longer the hike it was.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank iafamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Although my son’s favourite part of our trip was whale watching in Bay Bulls, my wife and I both thought the Western Brook Pond boat ride into the fiord was our favourite part of the trip. It was absolutely breath taking. It is a very popular excursion so booking your reservation ahead of time is highly recommended. Plan to hike anywhere between 40mins to an hour (depending on your fitness level) to get to the pond via a stone path. A good pair of walking/hiking shoes is also recommended.

The pond is so unique and beautiful. The staff are very friendly and provide an informative and entertaining trip. We sat at the back of the boat and got a beautiful unobstructed view heading out of the fiord. Friends of ours got to see a moose while on the boat, however we were not as lucky. It is a definite must see when visiting the west side of the province.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank CANTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

The moment we got onto the boat, the rain started falling. Wind drove the cloud onto the water, covering most part of pond entry. We thought this is going to be an disappointed trip.

By the end of it, I think we are really lucky. We got see the other face of the pond. Hardly describing it by words, it is not your ordinary pond.

FYI, it took us 6 hours from Twilligate to boat launch including a 4km hiking from parking lot to launch.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank N_20_W_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We did this boat ride on a nice warm day, so all the waterfalls and rock cuts that. The staff were telling us about we very visible..They were great story tellers .it is a 2 hour boat ride up the Fiord , biut ithe boat ride was so full of information and fun tips the time went way too quick..We were also entertained with the staff playing music ,singing ,participants playing the spoons etc .so much fun but also great infomation on lots of history around the two mountains .

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Debby059
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews