We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Stunning!!!

We checked the weather as soon as we arrived off the ferry at port aux basque and a storm was... read more

Reviewed September 11, 2023
pdotnndd
,
Ontario
Experience of a lifetime

We booked with Out East Adventures in Rocky Harbour, NL. At $325 per person, I definitely had... read more

Reviewed September 5, 2023
586MichaelT586
,
Ancaster, Canada
Read all 674 reviews
  
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
509
117
33
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
509
117
33
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat tour parking lot km walk top deck gravel path towering cliffs stunning scenery gros morne mobility issues natural beauty highlight of our trip easy hike dock fjord pond bon boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 674 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Saddened and angry when I walked in on the new “trail”. It’s an access road -wide, gravelled, ditched, no shade, all boardwalks and bridges over lovely streams gone, trail side vegetation cut back a metre or more. If you really have your heart set on doing the boat tour - the gorge with its glaciated cliffs is spectacular - 1) try to go when there is not a crowd on the boat ( hard to avoid the crowds, but maybe try the earliest boat). 2) After the tour, or instead of it, walk the side loop to the shore of Western Brook itself ( start of Snug Harbour trail). This lovely narrow trail is still a taste of nature. 3) register your comments with Parks Canada, because there is more to come.

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank plantpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

I recently took your boat tour on July 13. The boat tour was great BUT you essentially destroyed the original walking trail by replacing it with a gravel road. Not sure how Park officials allowed the construction of that road but you, BonTours, & Parks Canada have caused irreparable damage to that portion of the park. SO SAD. What worries me now is how long before the walk (which I'll add was very unpleasant as all shade trees have been removed) will be replaced by shuttle buses. Need I remind you that you operate in a national park and should be mandated to act accordingly.

Date of experience: July 2018
4  Thank boneshoffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

If you visit and don’t do the boat tour, you’ll see nothing but some rock cliffs in the distance. Not boating is just a waste of your time after walking about 3km in from the parking lot.
We were lucky enough to experience a beautiful sunny July afternoon at Western Brook Pond and so were 50 other sardines who packed the 2 hr boat excursion.
Bon Tours averages about $50/ person so a full boat is $2500 gross revenue.
This isn’t about the traveler’s experience, it’s about making money.
The upper deck may only have seating a capacity for about 25 people so the other 25are left below elbowing at the bow and stern because these aren’t areas aren’t covered. Sitting below in the cabin looking through scratched and dirty glass doesn’t make for nice photos. Those boats should be capped at 30occupants maximum to ensure a comfortable, pleasant experience can be offered. The natural beauty of the location is fantastic but the boat tour sucked for the pricescharged and comfort level.

Date of experience: July 2018
4  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Western Brook Pond is effectively a freshwater fjord, produced by glaciation and cut off from the sea when the glacier retreated.

From the parking area there is a pleasant 1.5 km stroll through bog scenery to the boat departure building. The original boardwalk has been replaced by a wide raised path of “Grade B” stones as of 2018 making an easy walking surface which is wheelchair friendly.

The departure building has a little cafe and gift shop, reasonably priced, as well as “washroom” facilities.

The boat tour is about two hours long and takes you into spectacular fjord scenery, with cliffs that tower 2,000 feet from water level straight up. The guides give a running commentary on the various features - quite fascinating.

Simply - unmissable!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Livefats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

We were fortunate to have a picture perfect day for our excursion. We had booked our tour a couple weeks before and were glad we did as it was filled to capacity. Try and get a spot on the top of the boat if possible. Truly a majestic, almost untouched area. A must if you're visiting the park. The only negative is the walk to the boat. The 'hike' is actually a dusty gravel road. People walking with us said the trail been widened in recent years so it's no longer the hike it was.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank iafamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews