We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Stunning!!!

We checked the weather as soon as we arrived off the ferry at port aux basque and a storm was... read more

Reviewed September 11, 2023
pdotnndd
,
Ontario
Experience of a lifetime

We booked with Out East Adventures in Rocky Harbour, NL. At $325 per person, I definitely had... read more

Reviewed September 5, 2023
586MichaelT586
,
Ancaster, Canada
Read all 673 reviews
  
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
509
117
33
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
509
117
33
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat tour parking lot km walk top deck gravel path towering cliffs stunning scenery gros morne mobility issues natural beauty highlight of our trip easy hike dock fjord pond bon boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 673 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2018

This is a must-do. Stunning scenery, with excellent commentary about the geology, pond, local history, and wildlife. Note that there is a 3 km walk on a relatively flat gravel path in order to get to the boat launch. We are fast walkers and did it in about 30 minutes but if you are slower, give yourself an hour. Also, it would be very difficult for someone with a walker or wheelchair to navigate the gravel path, we think.

There is a canteen as well as washrooms when you arrive at the dock area.

Note that we reserved our tickets on line and when we went to pick them up at the office in the Oceanview Hotel on the morning of our trip like it says to do on the website, the lady would not give them to us. We also heard her the night before refusing to give tickets to another person. I'm unclear why the ticketing process needs to be so complicated - we picked up our tickets at the dock 15 minutes before our departure time so why we couldn't have gotten them at the office before we left makes no sense to me.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank sjkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

The walk to the dock too about 30mins and along the was we saw some Pitcher Plant which is the Newfoundland flower. This turned out to be one of the best boat tour I have ever had. Amazing scenery of this spectacular land lock fjord. Still can't believe there is a waterfall named Pissing Mare. I would go back again.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank latinaangeljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

It was beautiful... the hike to the boat is long if you are not a walking person, but the views along the way are worth the walk. It wakes about 45 mins on a well done walking path. Spectacular sites and Carter was a fun tour guide..

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

We took a boat tour with Bon Tours to visit the fjords. The best $60 I've spent! The staff was helpful, well-informed and entertaining. On our return voyage the staff took our instruments and a microphone and entertain us with traditional music. Great for kids - the staff includes them in the narration of the tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 749fayeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

This former fjord is now a lake. Take the boat tour to check out the beautiful sights and waterfalls and to send the back country hikers off in style. The people are friendly and entertaining. Music was played on the way back and the kids invited to help make a racket. Highly enjoyable. The hike into the lake is about 30-45 minutes.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank TravelingJindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews