We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Spectacular Boat Tour

We really wanted to take this trip and it didn't disappoint. It was quite windy, but sunny and no... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Mary C
,
Pickering, Canada
Stunning!!!

We checked the weather as soon as we arrived off the ferry at port aux basque and a storm was... read more

Reviewed September 11, 2023
pdotnndd
,
Ontario
Read all 675 reviews
  
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
510
117
33
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
510
117
33
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat tour parking lot km walk top deck gravel path towering cliffs stunning scenery gros morne mobility issues natural beauty highlight of our trip easy hike dock fjord pond bon boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 675 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2023

Well worth every penny spent on the boat ride up the fiord. There were so many beauty waterfalls on the day we went that my eyes hurt :) The trail is great for hybrid or mountain bikes as well as strollers with sturdy wheels. Our tour guides were friendly and informative. Make sure to bring a sweater or a jacket cause the weather can turn on a dime and it dd for us. No worries, the and blew us dry before we docked again. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank CaperSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2023

What a wonderful experience. The views are beautiful. The narration was informative and fun but did not last the entire time. (I appreciated some time to soak everything in.) the little concert of live, traditional Newfoundland music at the end was a beautiful touch!

Give yourself more than the suggested hour to walk in so that you can enjoy the views. As mentioned in other reviews, the path is wide gravel with just a couple of hills.

Date of experience: June 2023
2  Thank CrystalJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 3, 2023 via mobile

The walk to the boat is lovely. Well graded gravel road. The boat ride was okay. They really pack you on the boats. If you are among the last to board you will have a problem finding a place to sit. We also had a large school group of young teenagers on our boat that raced up and claimed most of the topside seats but then left their stuff there and roamed the boat. Scenery is lovely but would have enjoyed it more if fewer people and if we didn’t have the school group

Date of experience: June 2023
1  Thank Pioneer809151
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 20, 2023 via mobile

There is a 1.5 km walk along a comfortable walking path to get to the boat. You will be completely exposed to the elements along the way so dress appropriately. There is ample space to sit when you get to the launch area with a small café, gift shop and washrooms available there. There is a short video explaining the natural phenomena but I found it difficult to watch because of the location of the screen. The ride itself was quite enjoyable and the narration was informative but not intrusive. Although overcast, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and are glad we went.

Date of experience: June 2023
1  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2023

The boat tour of Western Brook Pond is the crown jewel of Gros Morne National Park. Though not cheap, it is worth every penny.

Allow yourself an hour to hike to the boat tour and buy your tickets in advance, as it may sell out. Dress warm--it gets windy--and enjoy this scenic ride along a beautiful fiord.

Date of experience: June 2023
1  Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews