We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean place to lay your head.”
Review of The Sea Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sea Crest Inn
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean place to lay your head.”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Desiree the inn keepers daughter greeted us after our ferry was hours late and she was very pleasant and welcoming! Our room was clean and spacious. Our room was cleaned daily. It is close to Foxys which is good and bad... The music can be a bit loud at night if you're not out enjoying the scene that is Jost, but I'd say go enjoy it and you won't regret the late night. Our door did not close tightly so little bugs got in, I woke up with bug bites daily - keeping all lights and tv off helped. AC was cold, water was hot, rate was fair. I would go back. Jost is amazing and the Sea Crest Inn is well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBabe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed here in January 2010 - going back this January, so that says something!

We spent a week on Jost and still nver did and saw everything!

Sea Crest was a real find. We had Room 1 at the top floor on the end furthest from Foxy's. Great room, great views and bright because there are windows on the gable end as well as the terrace at the front.

Yes, a little noise from Foxy's, but to be frank, after 10pm the whole place is asleep! (We went to Ivan's one nightfor the BBQ and found it hard to get a taxi at 10:30 because we hadn't pre-booked and the drivers were all in bed!)

Most amazing was the really good bed. One of the most comfrtable I have slept in in any hotel!

Looking forward to the breakfast cafe thisyear - that was the only thing missing in Jost. Although the rooms have a kitchen area, we are not cooks on holiday and there is not much for breakfast on Jost.

Ivy was great at doing some washing for us - didn't even want to charge.

I have given the rooms a 4 for cleanliness just because it is the Caribean and there is sand and spiders and so on. So I doubt if any Caribean room and bathroom could get a 5! But as my mum (a doctor) would say: it is good, clean dirt - and that never harmed anyone

Room Tip: We liked Room 1 fo the extra windows and the top floor view - so we have asked for it again for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We had a nice 3 day stay at the Sea Crest Inn. The view of Great Harbor was excellent. The room was nice with a comfortable bed and a basic kitchen. The A/C worked excellent as it can get very hot in Great Harbor. If you plan on cooking in the room you may want to bring some groceries along to the island because there is not much there. Although my wife informs me that there was a grocery store that we did not go to.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loflyer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We loved the Sea Crest Inn. Our room was spacious, simple, affordable, and clean! The room was on the second level with balcony overlooking Great Harbor. The place is very quite/safe and the only noise you hear is an occasional music drifting in from Foxy's and sailing crowd unloading on the dock. The studio had a queen size bed, closet, dining table, small kitchen (fridge, microwave, stove top/oven, coffee maker--bring your coffee from US), trunk to lock up valuables (bring your own lock), spacious bathroom, and flat screen TV. Balcony also had a dining table and two chairs. We were staying there for about a week and we didn't request maid service, but they cleaned our room once in six days...not a big deal...When you make a reservation, hotel asks for a cashier bank check $450.00-500.00 to be mailed directly to them to ensure 'good faith.' We were a bit skeptical at first, but no need to worry...they're very honest. Paid remaining balance with our credit card...Oh there is no reception area, the inn keeper lives on the first floor. There are two tiny grocery stores on the island and there is a very nice small bakery. Grocery stores are pricey and the food selection is not great....nice selection of spirits! I would recommend buying groceries on the main island before coming to Jost or you can always grab breakfast/lunch/dinner in one of the restaurants on the island. What else....there is not one single ATM on Jost and the ones on Tortola are always out of cash or broken. The only reliable ATM is in Nanny Cay on Tortola and the airport in West End; it always worked for us. Another thing is power gets cut off quite a bit on the island and Sea Crest has no back up generator. The longest power outage for us was about three hours, but they usually last about 10-20 minutes and hotel gives you flash light and battery lamp just in case.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The Sea Crest Inn is a great little find in Jost van Dyke. We stayed in a very spacious room which was immaculate - very clean and comfortable. You will get a little bit of noise from Foxy's, but it's not bad. Great room at a great price! Make sure to eat at Alibaba's and Corsair's - these are GREAT restaurants. One of the best meals I had my entire time in the Virgin Islands was at Alibaba's. Be prepared to wait a little bit for your meal BUT you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed there for 5 nights in March 09. We usually sail to JVD and it's our favorite island. This time we decided to stay land-based. Sea Crest is right next door to Foxy's and you can hear music at night from Foxy's but not as loud as you may imagine, we enjoyed it, did not keep us up. Patsy (pot-SEE) greeted us and cleaned the room, she was great. No, it's not squeaky-clean nor brand sparkling new, but that's not what you'd expect at JVD anyhow. There is air conditioning, but we preferred to keep the windows open and enjoy the nice evening breeze. Our upstairs room had a nice private patio. Hearing the wild goats outside the windows was a plus!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millhouseNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Sea Crest Inn is a lovely little apartment house right on the water., next to infamous Foxy's...We have stayed there many times and this last time, Ivy, the owner had updated the rooms and it really showed.
Any of you who have been to JVD know that the island does not have any resorts like you find on other larger islands or in the states, and if that is your desire this is not the island for you...but if you want the true Carribbean experience among friendly islanders this is a great place and Sea Crest Inn is a large part of the reason it is our favorite stop in the Carribbean .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indianacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jost Van Dyke
8.7 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
397 reviews
8.8 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
374 reviews
10.0 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
1.0 km away
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages
8.2 km away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Crest Inn

Property: The Sea Crest Inn
Address: Great Harbor, VG1160, Jost Van Dyke
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jost Van Dyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Crest Inn is located on the beautiful island of Jost Van Dyke in the British Virgin Islands. Your room awaits! It is air conditioned, has cable on your flat screen TV, a fully equipped kitchenette, and a queen sized bed. Spectacular views of Great Harbour can be enjoyed from your private balcony. You will relax and rejuvenate at The Sea Crest Inn! ***ALL INCLUSIVE! For a limited time only, Mon 25 July - Mon 1 August, 7 nights! The Retreat for Rejuvenation at the Sea Crest Inn! Healthy low calorie, low fat meals served on the deck overlooking the bay... the deck which is just steps away from the sea! Time for guided introspection and goal-setting, a personal trainer, a masseuse, a life coach, a leisurely private art class, vision boarding, hiking, swimming... and more joy based activities! 7 Days of well deserved Rest and Rejuvenation! Inquire about our generous Educator Grants. Return to your normal with More Energy and More Strategic Plans for Action! Visit the 'Rejuvenation 2016' page at BestLifeCoaching.US*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Sea Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Hotel Jost Van Dyke
Sea Crest Jost Van Dyke
Jost Van Dyke Sea Crest
The Sea Crest Inn Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing