We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff are awesome!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Staff are awesome!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Read the reviews and you will not be surprised. The staff at this resort are outstanding with their smiles, friendliness and willing to help. Some of the best we have ever had. At the end of the day at the beach or pool, a smile will be brought to your face, to see what the maid created in the towel art. A nice touch. For some reason, my camera in my pool bag, would clear the code on our room key. Watch out for the locks on the patio doors, as a number of people got locked out on their patios. Views from the rooms of either pool or beach were both lovely. However, the work crews both on the resort and on the resort they are building next door, start at 7 am and work till 1 a.m. with horns blaring right to the end. With your doors closed and air conditioning on, not too bad, but still annoying. Not sure how the resort will handle all the people when all the buildings are complete. We rented the scooters for a half day and went to Pillar Beach. A fun way to break up the week. As there are only hotels, very little traffic, and only 1 road, it was a good place to rent. Bring your passport and drivers licence to reserve. Note: not enough helmets so my husband got a hardhat. Good thing, with 2 on the bike, speed was not an issue. They also charged you for gas you used, upon your return. Labels on the buffet would help. Many items were not replenished on the buffet after 8, so go early for best choices. Keep the toilet paper filled in the lobby bar and people will be happy. With the tide in and out, the beach was a different walk every day. Bring water shoes. Enjoy and have fun!

Room Tip: Buildings 1-3, are closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ctctiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear guests:

Thank you so much for your pretty comments! It's so nice of you to mention all our staff! They are always happy to know about our guests after their visit and we send your messages along!

Your comments are very appreciated to help us improve our standards and quality. We make sure to revise every department frequently to insure that we always give you the best service and offers you deserve.

About the lobby bar bathrooms, comment duly noted! We received just yesterday more labels for the food in the buffet and will make sure there is always plenty until closing time!

Thank you once again for all your comments and generosity! We hope to see you again soon at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,552
    1,731
    694
    222
    100
See reviews for
1,865
1,951
154
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,899)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I would just like to state that my camera lens was dirty and the dark spots you may see should not be there :) This review is going to be be very factual since my opinion and my expectations may be very different from yours. You have already seen many pic of the hotel , rooms and grounds, all new so very clean . The beach being the most discussed point , you can see in my pic the beach of the hotel , to the left and to the right of the hotel and decide if this works for you .
Side note: The twin beds versus the king beds , comment from the staff , you pay for the oceanview but not the bed . Not many king beds .
Ocean view is only possible at this time from a 3rd floor room. Trees are to hight from first and second floor .
One bar at the beach and no service to the chairs . Closes at 4h30
Shows on time , professionnal dancers .
Tuesday and thursday a la carte restaurants are closed .
Entertainment in the lobby bar everynight .
If you have allergies or are in need of kleenex , hotel does not have any .
We always had beach chairs or pool chairs ( group of ten ) no matter what time of the day we showed up .
Need to call room service 5 nights out of seven to get the mini bar restocked with water bottle and beer.
Electricity 220 .. 110 for rasors . ( IPAD plug is international that work's in the 220 )

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gogojazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear guests:

First of all, thank you so much for the pictures! They are so beautiful and help our future clients have a glimpse of our hotel from another point of view! They are great!

We appreciate your comments as they help us improve our standards and quality day after day. We make sure to revise every department frequently to insure that we always give our customers the best service and offers they rightly deserve.

Thank you for pointing out important points. Electricity is 220V not only here, but in all Cayo Coco and Cayo Guillermo. Please make sure you bring adaptors not to damage your flat irons dear ladies! The minibar is restocked daily with 1 bottle of water, 2 soft drinks and 2 beers upon use. There are Kleenex in the room, as unfortunately we ran out for a couple of days during your stay. We are now fully restocked! And as for the type of beds in the rooms, we have an equal number of rooms with 1 bed than we do with 2. We always try to respect our requests as best we can, that is one of our most important mission, but unfortunately, availability is sometimes scarce due to high levels of reservations.

I hope this will answer some of your concerns, thank you again for your informative comments.

We hope to see you again soon at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hearst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Hi everyone, I needed to write this review since what I read on here is very diverse. I would recommend the Memories Flaminco to everyone, the staff was incredible, the resort very clean and new. The room very spacious. We had a full list of activities we were able to do. Our representant was there to meet us and explain the availability. Entertainement was awesome, theres a show every night for the guests, the dancers are amazing and very talented. All I have to say is that I would go back there in a Hearbeat.......... I miss all of them already........

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear guests!

Wow, thank you so much for your support! We are very happy and proud that we were part of your amazing vacation!!

We make sure to revise every comment we receive in order to insure that we always give you the best services and product you deserve!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We went to Memories Flamenco in April with our 4 year old daughter. The Kids Club facility is great and the women who work there are wonderful with kids. The only problem was the kid's pools have absolutely no seats or shade, so the families are forced to the "adult" pool and even there we had almost no luck finding seats let alone a shaded spot. The resort is very family friendly and the entertainment was fantastic (albeit quite late at night). The food was surprisingly good for Cuba and the resort was very clean. We had a very difficult time with the fact that toilet paper was surprisingly hard to come by, but otherwise the housekeeping services were spectacular - Yakelin went out of her way every day to create a work of art for our daughter using towels, blankets and our own belongings. The beach is completely unapproachable for little kids - way too rocky and the pier that they've built scared the daylights out of her.

Go on the Moron Plus day trip! Wonderful day for a great price and lots of excitement for little tots - crocodile farm, horse drawn carriage ride in Moron, and a wonderful boat tour of the Mangroves where we saw giant termite nests and beautiful foliage. Plus the best authentic Cuban lunch I've ever tried.

Overall I was disappointed because there was no shade at the pool and the beach was unusable to us - but the staff is absolutely wonderful with children and the resort is easy to navigate with little kids because it's small and everything is easy to walk to. Plus they give kids a real bed not a rickety cot like we've gotten at other resorts.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have shade in late afternoon and allow you to hear the entertainment from the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amo5648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear guests:

We appreciate every comment we receive in order to improve our standards and quality. With your comments, we make sure to revise every department frequently to insure that we always give our customers the best service and offerts they rightly deserve. Rest assured that your comments about the shade at the kid's pool has been taken into consideration by our Quality Control department. Thank you for mentioning it to us.

We hope to see you again soon at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun (and shade)! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just vacationed at Memories Flamenco from April 7 -14 with my husband and another couple. I will keep this short, if you would like additional info I will be happy to provide.

Keep in mind that the resort is not completed. Only three out of the ten units are ready to receive guests. We both stayed at garden view rooms, no complaints, everything is new and clean. The a/c worked great. The highlight was the nightly entertainment, the dancers and the shows they put on are amazing as well as the musicians. The two pools are huge, never had a problem with getting chairs. No complaints about the food, there was plenty to eat with a wide variety. Three a la cartes are open, we especially enjoyed the Steak House, ended up eating their twice. The beach, you do need beach sandals if you want to walk along the beach, there are plenty of rocks. There is a dock that leads you directly into the water to avoid the rocks. The water could not have been clearer. Please (Torontonians) do not use the dock for fishing it is a beach dock not a fishing dock. We were disappointed that the beach bar closes at 4:00 p.m. and more disappointed that they ran out of rum more than once. There is a Disco that opens at 11:00 p.m. could be a lot of fun if children were not allowed. Although they could use more staff (service was slow) the staff that was there were really great, they made our vacation that much more enjoyable.

Overall I would rate the resort a 4 star with the potential of being a 5. They have not yet started to build the Fitness Center, and they desperately need to find a bartender that knows how to make a good Pina Colada.

Room Tip: Building two would be your best bet where view is concerned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank electric4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear clients:

Your comments are important to us! We use and revise them every day to make sure to always improve our standards and quality. Every department is frequently revised to insure that you are always satisfied. For your general information, our gym and spa should be ready by the end of this year. We will keep you posted for sure!

Thank you again for taking the time to post your impressions of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband, myself, daughter, son-in-law and grandaughter stayed at the resort the 2nd week of April. Although we arrived before 11:00 a.m. the whole first day was wasted. We didn't get our room until 4:00 and the front desk staff were not helpful in keeping us informed. A bit of understanding or an apology for the situation would have gone a long way. We are not unreasonable people. Then when we arrived at the towel shack to pick up our towels, they had none left. The response "maybe tomorrow". Although this is a small thing, it prevented us from using the pool or beach until the next day. When we asked the front desk if there was any solution to this, they were completely indifferent. Clearly, the front desk staff need to be better trained to handle complaints or issues.
The lack of palapas or adequate shade areas around the pool was quite distressing - my daughter who burns easily had to spend some days in her room to get out of the sun.
The last day upon leaving, my son-in-law was asked to pay $3.59 for a broken coffee cup in their room.
The lack of toilet paper in the public washrooms, especially the lobby bar which had no toilet paper in any of the stalls for one evening and all the next day - another sign of inadequate management. In and of themselves these would not be enough to ruin a trip, but collectively they caused us to feel that this hotel is not doing enough to treat guests as a 5 star should. We've been to other 4 and 5 stars and so we have a perspective on what the standard services and amenities should be.
The room was smallish but fairly nice - we don't spend much time there anyway, so it's not a big deal to us.
The food in the buffets was very good, with a nice variety and good quality, but we agree with other reviewers that it was not kept warm enough. The snack bar was also very good, and service there was always prompt and friendly. In all, the service in the bars, a la cartes and buffets was very good - no complaints there.
Where this resort really shines is in the entertainment - the bands in the lobby bar were excellent and the shows were also very good. They had a special show for children every day which I thought was a nice touch.
The beach is a bit rough as others have described but it had a natural quality with lots of vegetation that I liked.
We love Cuba and understand that they have a difficult time of it there - the staff on the resort work long, hard hours and don't get paid well. In spite of that, they always attempt to be friendly and helpful. We tip generously because we know it makes a big difference in their standard of living. We can live with some inconveniences there, because we know we are very lucky in comparison. But a resort should not advertise themselves to be a 5 star when they so clearly are not - it set up expectations that they could not meet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DouglasandEliza... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear guests:

We appreciate every comment we receive in order to improve our standards and quality. With your comments, we make sure to revise every department frequently to insure that we always give our customers the best service and offerts they rightly deserve.

All your comments are duly revised by the Quality Control department. Follow-up on your comments actually do mention that there were no beach towels available in that afternoon of your arrival due to an external problem. We now make sure to revise the quantities. As you may know, check-in in all international hotels is at 16:00, but we always try our best to give the rooms as early as we can when it is possible. We apologize if the information at front desk was not clear enough.

Thank you once again for your comments, we hope to see you again at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the resort April
First of all......The buffet, Food is cold and not labelled properly. The A La »Cartes were average. Creole was good, but very small portions, the asian was good and the steak house was soso as they need to learn to cook there steaks properly.
The beach is terrible. I knew before we went there were problems with the beach, but was not expecting it to be that bad. Even when you go to your left or right like some people say. The beach is still not that nice. Apparently they are going to be working on cleaning it up and breaking all the coral and rock.
The pool is another disaster. There is no shade around the pool, and not enough chairs. The pool that has the bar has mostly kids swimming in it. I thought the pool bar was for adults only but apparently not. Also the pools are not very deep.
Rooms are nice and clean.
Also there is nothing to do around the resort. Only one shop.
Most of the shows at night are great. The piano bar is nice and relaxing.
In a few years this resort will be something once everything is up and running to its full potenial, but right now I would not recomment this resort. The staff is amazing except for the front desk. They need to work on there people skills.
This resort as it is now is definetly not a 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear guests,

We appreciate every comment we recieve in order to improve our standards and quality. With your comments, we make sure to revise every departement frequently to insure that we always give our customers the best service and offerts they rightly deserve.

All your comments are duly revised by our Quality Control department. Food temperature has been already adressed and you are right when you say that our beach will be renovated in the future months. Thank you for your comment about the quietness as it brings to mind to mention that Cayo Coco and Cayo Guillermo are two small islands and the only buildings on these cayos are the all inclusive hotels. This is a destination to relax and not like a big city like Varadero. Nice of you to mention it.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to see you again at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
2.5 km away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
3.0 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
8.6 km away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort
8.7 km away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
7.9 km away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#4 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memories Flamenco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

Property: Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Address: Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Memories Flamenco Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil oasis of Cayo Coco and find refuge at the stunning Memories Flamenco Resort, exclusive to Sunwing. Resting on a glorious beach that kisses dazzling turquoise waters, this brand new 5-star all inclusive resort is the ideal getaway for families and couples. Stay in this all-suite hotel’s elegant, bright, and spacious rooms that open up to breathtaking views of the tropical gardens or the sea. Dining options are plenty at the many fabulous restaurants serving up a feast of delicious international cuisines. The snack bar will make sure your appetite is kept in check 24 hours a day, while the lively bars will quench your thirst and keep you refreshed day and night. Enjoy an array of fun land and water sports, group activities and live entertainment at this beautiful resort. Water enthusiasts will revel in Cayo Coco’s barrier reef, the second largest in the world, perfect for snorkelling and marine adventures. Shoppers can delight in some shopping at the charming handicraft market, while children can enjoy supervised activities in the Kids Club. The romantic and intimate atmosphere is perfect for romantic getaways, weddings, and honeymoons. Venture off the resort to discover a medley of fun activities and sites by exploring the beautiful lagoons and natural attractions of this picturesque island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Memories Flamenco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing