We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to the Sol”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“First time to the Sol”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Sol Cayo Coco review (30th Jan – 13th Feb)

This was our fourth visit to Cuba, but the first to Cayo Coco and what we found was just what we expected.
Cuba is a country of contrasts and the Sol Cayo Coco hotel was just that, with both good and bad points (none of which was serious).
It is therefore very disappointing to read such scathing reviews as one or two that clearly are written by less experienced travelers. If people believe that they are being served raw meat dishes, the solution is in their own hands; ask for it to be cooked longer !
Our party of four people, all over 70, suffered NO ill effects all the time we were there simply by choosing and eating sensibly as we have done all the world over in our travels.
Eating a large meal , eating fruit and drinking alcohol, and then sitting in the sun is surely a recipe for an upset stomach and possible diarrhea.

We would like to set out the points that we felt were good at the Sol:
Our room shower was one of the best we have had with lots of hot water.
The air-conditioning worked well and was quiet.
The bar service was always fast and friendly, with or without a tip !
There were plenty of pool-side loungers
The entertainment shows in the evenings were generally very good.
The waitresses that we had in the buffet restaurant were very friendly and helpful
On the food side, the availability of nice cheese was a plus for us.

On the more negative side we would criticize the following:
None of the tomatoes in the restaurants was ripe which was a shame.
Despite not opening the buffet restaurant on time at lunchtimes, some of the cooking stations were not manned and those that were, appeared not to be ready and took time to get food cooked properly.
There was a shortage of both beach towels and clean room towels all the time we were there, though the manager assured us that this problem would be addressed.
A distinct lack of coat hangers in the room; six is not really enough.
A noticeable lack of toilet rolls in the toilets near to the pool (take plenty of tissues)

Our room was kept very clean and was just as we had requested, on the middle floor and at a quiet end overlooking the football pitch. Yes the towel changing was irregular, but when we asked for clean ones after a couple of days, we got them. And for the first time in Cuba, our maid left us a nice note on the day of our departure (see photo)

We had traveled with Thomas Cook to Sol and I have to mention their representative, Hector. He was without a doubt one of the most helpful Rep’s we have found and had a great knowledge of his own country which he willing shared with us.
Indeed it was him who explained all the bites that seemed to affect only the ladies. Despite what has been written previously the bites are not caused so much by mosquitoes but by very small sand flies and there is little that seems to deter them.

As said at the beginning of this review, the Sol is not perfect, but they try hard within the limits of what is available in Cuba, the staff are lovely and work very hard, and we thought it better than some of the other Cayo Coco hotels that we visited briefly.
Do not be put off by the very few negative reviews !

Room Tip: Rooms on the middle floor, numbers in the 13xx are quiet and have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,875
    1,409
    565
    243
    153
See reviews for
1,293
1,742
136
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel last May and it was wonderful, the rooms were a bit tired but all the staff were lovely and kind. The beaches were out of this world. We went with our 21 yr old and our 6 year old so all ages covered. They both had a wonderful time. The food was good the cocktails were even better. The boat trip to the mangroves was brilliant and very much reccomended. We saw lots of wildlife. The entertainment was very good and my little boy loved his evening walks to see all the crabs! I would def go back at some point just got alot of other places I want to see. Please contact me if you have any questions but I am sure you wont regret going here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona56700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Great time at the hotel. We were here for rest and enjoy sun and sands. We discovered people and an excellent service.
We had a problem with the safe. The staff changed our room without any question. The hotel is human dimension, for Cuba the food is good and the service enjoyable. There is no pression but there is always some body to serve you if you need any thing. And with big smile.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Just returned from our two week holiday for the third consecutive year at the Sol Cayo Coco. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute as in previous years. All the staff are so happy and friendly, they make you really welcome and this continues until you get on the transfer coach to return home. The Animation Team work hard making sure everyone enjoys their days and evenings, special thanks to Esther, Toqui, and Del Boy. The shows put on by the dance troupe, along with the animation team, in the evening are really entertaining the choreography is amazing.
We enjoy our meals, there is always a choice. The restaurant and bar staff really look after you.
Our room, with a lovely view, was cleaned everyday by very pleasant maids. The gardners work hard keeping the gardens neat and tidy.
Can't leave out the Reception Staff and Customer Services, we haven't ever met one that isn't ready to help if needed with a smile. The Manager is very approachable and can very often be seen walking around making sure everything runs smoothly.
So once again thank you to all at the Sol for yet another great holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendsOnHoliday4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

hey guys just wanna say i had a great holiday for the second year running at this hotel and would recommend this to anyone who is looking to unwind and relax.

I would also lie to state please do not listen to the comments from the people in manchester who have returned two days ago they are talking complete rubbish. the food is great because the beef is a little red this is cuba expect to eat how they do if your stomach cant handle this then dont go on holiday or stick to somewhere boring where you can get your fish and chips lie spain !!!

i would like to finish this and say happy to send any photo's of this hotel as took hundreds for the second year running such an amazing place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chucky251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wootton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

just arrived home today 14/2/12 after been on holidays for 2 weeks at the sol cayo coco, had to say some of the comments here are very harsh indeed we had a great time met some great ppl lindsay,sandra,scott,gary,mark and vicky had a great time had no issues with the food or the cleaniness all staff are excellent food was not repetive at all,each day there was something to eat enough choices for everyone .we went to havanna for 3 days with thomas cook had a extradionary experience well worth going there amazing pictures and went to the tropicanna show.my only negative were please dont think you are going somewhere were you can shop as there is nothing around at all,the little shop in the hotel sold minnimal stuff,ie cigars,lotions, and some t shirts and shorts.if you want a chilling experience with no stress please go there,remember it is cuba it is a communist,socialism country dont excpet the red lion or the royal oak round the corner

Room Tip: chosse rooms starting with a 2 lot of quests who had there rooms starting with 1 were not as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybeanWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week stay at Sol Cayo Coco a couple of days ago. We were looking for a smaller and quiet hotel to just lay back and relax at. We found it at Sol!
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our maide Isairi was so sweet. She left us fresh flowers and cute little notes. Nothing ever went missing. The maides will leave you a 1500ml bottle of water in your room everyday. If you want an extra bottle, just ask your maide in the morning. We never had a problem getting an extra bottle to take to the beach. We tipped our maide with small gifts, soap, axe spray, facewash, kids stickers, toothbrushes, candy. Everyday we saw gardeners watering and triming the gardens and maides cleaning the lobby.


The food in the buffet was better than we were expecting. My husband was in heaven with all the fresh fish, Chorizo, and the stir fry station. I highly recommend the fresh guava, served with every meal. It was so yummy! My favourite meal was breakfast. Pankcakes are more like crepes and are delicious with jam. Lots of baked sweets, cereal, yogurt, and fruit. The ice cream is very good! The servers are all so friendly and really try hard to remember what drinks you like. The ala carte restaurants were something else. The caribbean one, on the beach, wasn't too bad. The atmosphere was very romantic and the food not bad. The Don Diego, beside the buffet was no good. Keep in mind your not paying extra to eat here so don't be rude. My husband and I had a good laugh at the horrible food and then headed over to the buffet to fill up after. We never did try the food from the grill at the pool.

Entertainment appeared to be good. My husband and I didn't go for the entertainment. We went to lay on the beach and enjoy the weather! During the evenings in the lobby they had singers come in, bands and dancers. Lots of people seemed to like to watch and were having a good time. There is an amphlitheatre outside. We watched part of a show for about 3 minutes. The dancers are amazing and the theatre was full. So it probably is a good show, just not our thing.

The beaches are amazing! The main beach infront of the hotel was rough most days. We did get one calm day and the water was just amazing! Early morning however, there isn't much beach because the tide is up so high. The secret beach, which is a public beach, is gorgeous in the morning. The tide is up high but there is still plenty of beach. The ocean was calm most days. You can walk out in the water forever! Its the perfect beach for babies or small kids. Just watch for the odd jellyfish. In the afternoon the secret beach isn't very nice. The tide has gone way out, the lagoon drains into the ocean and leaves a dirty looking trail. Also a slight sewer smell is present. Not sure why. Morning is your best bet at this beach. We did notice a fair bit of garbage on this beach. You cant blame the hotel staff for this, its the lazy tourists and locals who leave the garbage. So don't be a lazy slob!

We only had a few complaints: One is the fact that there are 2 horses running free through the resort grounds. Watch for big piles of horse crap! And watch your little kids. One morning the horses were spooked out of the bush and ran towards the beach, a couple of women screamed and had to run out of the way of the horses. Kind of dangerous. Our second complaint: make sure you bring lots of cash with you. Cuba doesn't use debit and if your credit card is American affiliated, they won't take it either. We booked our trip to Cuba through WestJet Vacations, with our WestJet MasterCard. We tried to book a tour through WestJet Tours with our WestJet MasterCard and learned it is American affiliated. So it was of no use to us. Luckily we did have enough cash with us. OH, and keep in mind it will cost you $26 UCU to leave the country. So be sure to leave yourself enough money for this. Another issue: The airconditioner in our room leaked from the second we arrived. The bellboy noticed it and sent maintenance up right away. He tinkered with it a bit but we awoke in the night to loud dripping. Almost every morning we woke up to a huge puddle on the floor. We had someone come two more times to fix it and finally with two days left, it was fixed. Also, the beds are absolutely horrible! Its like sleeping on a cardboard box. We never slept through the night and woke up every morning with sore backs. I would have to say that this was the worst part of the trip. Also, they run on 220 so your electronics and hairdryers from Canada will not work. If you need to charge your cell phone or camera battery, they will let you charge it at the front desk where they have a couple of 110 plugins. We left our cell phones there overnight and picked them up in the morning. Internet access is a pain. You can buy a card for $6 UCU wich will give you 1 hour of internet use. you can use the one hour all at once or use it for a few minutes anytime. There are only 2 computers and both are usually being used. If you get lucky and get one, the internet is so painfully slow that your going to waste most of your time waiting for sites to load.

The highlight of our trip was a Catamaran Tour. We stopped at two different spots to snorkel. One of which was the site of an old ship wreck. Then we stopped for lunch, served on the catamaran. which was lobster, shrimp, chicken, rice and veggies. My husband loved it! I'm pregnant so seeing the shrimp heads on the shrimp kind of turned my stomach. After lunch we went to Pilar Beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cuba. It was amazing! Crystal clear water for miles, no seaweed and the odd star fish. Watch for Jellyfish though. There are lots at this beach. We didn't get stung and didn't see anyone get stung. But they were everywhere unfortunately. Even so, we highly recommend going to this beach.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel. Our room was in a perfect location, it looked accross to the soccer field and ocean. Room 1339. It was far enough away from the lobby and pool area that it was quiet during the day and night. However, the walls are paperthin and if you end up with a loud neighbor or someone who loves sleeping with the tv on, your going to hear everything. Its not just tv's you'll hear either. I was woken up at 3am by neighbors having a roll in the hay! So keep this in mind!! We would definitely go back to this resort again, but we would like to try a different country next time.

Room Tip: If your looking for a quiet room, try the rooms accross from the tennis courts and soccer field. Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kabryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
10.4 km away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
10.8 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,121 reviews
30.3 km away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,188 reviews
8.2 km away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.7 km away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing