We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to Cayo Coco, Cuba”
Review of IBEROSTAR Mojito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Mojito
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed 1 April 2012

March 16-23, 2012. This was our third visit to Cuba but the first to Cayo Coco. We chose Hotel La Laguna primarily because of the excellent reviews on this site. We were not disappointed. The Hotel staff were extremely welcoming even though we arrived quite late in the evening. Music in the lobby and fruit punch for everyone. We were able to get a meal in the restaurant despite the late hour. I will try to break this down.

Hotel - Lovely, open, pleasant, clean grounds with beautiful gardens. The buildings are 2-3 storeys and in keeping with Cuban architecture. The staff were extremely friendly, always helpful and showed remarkable (too much, in my opinion) restraint with the few but inevitable drunks who could not handle free booze. The rooms were very clean, freshly painted, simple but, comfortable. Some small issues with the sink not draining quickly enough and shower faucet not perfect, but none of them serious enough for us to complain. We were in block 19 on the third floor and loved the location .... close to the adult pool, far enough away from the main pool, the open stage and the disco. The music from those areas is enough to blast your eardrums. The buildings around the adult pool are the best choice (but NOT 18). The lagoon pods are not being used right now....possibly under renovation. Personally, we would not want to be there. Iberostar has bought the hotel and there are plans to renovate the whole resort.

Food: As in all of of Cuba the food is simple but tasty. Lots of fresh fruit (but rather tasteless juice) , fish (though we did not eat it much), beef, chicken, pork. Some vegetables were canned and were often badly overcooked. Breakfast was always very good with the chefs at the grill customizing your order. Wine...not great. Beer was fine. There was only one night when we had some difficulty finding something we liked. We went for the Cuban dinner and the Steak night a la cartes both at the Gallo Restaurant. The cuban meal was very good. The steak...my husband's was workable but mine...half was inedible, half was workable. The red wine that night was a Spanish wine and very good. If you are a fussy eater, Cuba is not for you.

Beach - Our initial reaction was not great as the beach was covered with seaweed and pretty narrow. It appears that the machine they use to clean the beach was broken and after a couple of days it was cleaned up and when the tide was out there was quite wide expanse of very fine beach. The winds were very strong and there were always whitecaps and rough seas. Personally, we used the beach mainly for our daily walks but not to spend time on. For us, It was too crowded and not enough shade. But the beach itself is beautiful.

Pool - 2 pools, the main one with the bar and pool hut which we did not frequent due to all the activity and music. We preferred the adult pool which was smaller, quiet and very pleasant. Pool/Beach towels available at the pool cabana.

Weather - in late March, absolutely perfect. Temps in the high 20s but the strong winds meant zero humidity and zero bugs. I think I saw one mosquito and no other critters. We shut off our AC and left the windows open all day - there were no screens. We only closed them if the lights were on. Ladies might take a shawl or sweater for the evenings.

Our overall experience was very good but we would like to see improvements in more fresh vegetables cooked properly and better security handling of the drunks. Yes, we would go back again. We met couples who had been coming back for 2 to 3 years. Is it a 4 star? More like 3.5+++++++

Room Tip: We found building 19, third floor, to be a great choice - up in the treetop breeze, very close to ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lizbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 3,676 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

the food was great, as for Cuba is known for bad food this place was my best food experience in cuba ,the resort was very clean,rooms very clean, beach nice great pools, entertainment was great,i would highly recommended this hotel to my friends, i stayed in 22 block ground floor which has 2 rooms on ground and 2 on second floor in 6 builds nice and quiet section,the staff mostly spoke english, i give this resort 4 stars

Room Tip: i would say blocks 19 and 20 where good sections,but 22 block was great for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Went to Varedero last year, this year chose Cayo Coco just to be different. My friend and I read all the previous reviews on this hotel and it helped make our decision. This is a great hotel. Our room was really nice, very clean. The hotel grounds are kept spotless. The staff is very friendly. The food was fine. I am a very picky eater but I always found something to eat. My thoughts are that the A LA Carte restaurants are not worth the stress of making reservations to go. They have nice ambiance for sure, but the food is no better there than at the buffets. The seafood restaurant was the best out of all of them. Cuban restaurant was really no good. We could not eat our dinner, but it did not upset us at all. We just headed over to the buffet. Beaches are beautiful, Acxel and Alex at the Swim up pool bar were amazing. So nice, very friendly and they made awesome drinks. When you get tired of rum drinks ask Acxel to make you his famous RUSSIAN drink....vodka, sugar, lime juice....delicious. Chicken and ham and cheese sandwiches with fries at the snack bar are good too. Entertainment was ok - but if you feel like dancing, take a trip to THE CAVE one night. Disco in a real cave - great music and worth the price. Its about a 15 minute bus ride and all drinks are included once you are there, and YES, there are bats in the cave but once the music starts you wont see them. :) We swam with the dolphins in Cayo Guillermo - great excursion and well worth the money. You are in the water for a long time with the dolphins, then we had lobster and shrimp at the beach and went to Pilar beach too all in the same day.
Would definitely go back, would recommend it for both families and for couples although there is not a lot of young people there, not a lot of action for young singles so I guess it depends on what you are looking for. Varadero was defilnitely more of a party place. I give La Laguna a 4.5 out of 5. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sgmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

March 31/12 Just returned from this resort and we had a great vacation with a few mishaps. We took our whole family, 3 grown children, 2 girls age 27 & 17, who shared a room and our son 20 who had his own room. When we arrived the staff were very helpful and did take us and our luggage to our building and were very helpful. The beach was awesome and the water absolutely beautiful, different entertainment each night, some fantastic and some not but mostly the animation team was great. We booked a half day trip to Moron for $100 canadian and waited two hours and our bus never showed up. When our sunwing rep showed up she refunded our payment with no explanation as to why. There were many french people there and they all seemed to constantly be smoking so when you went to a show there was always smoke from somewhere. The bartenders and waitstaff were excellent for the most part with great senses of humour. We went on a glass bottom boat ride with snorkelling for about $22 each and it was amazing. The kids also did a day trip to two towns close by with speed boat rides, cigar factory tours, bicycle taxi rides, shopping sugar cane tour, steam train ride etc and they enjoyed it.
While there my one daughter developed an allergic reaction in her eyes and we saw a wonderful doctor immediately. The nurse could not have been more compassionate and nurturing as well. She treated her and saw her again the next day and offered to see her anytime again while we were there for the one cost of $61.60 and that included medications, dressing and appointment.
There was also a problem with our daughters room since the air conditioning wasn't working so when we complained they fixed it but it broke the next day again. My husband went to the front desk and they moved the girls immediately to another room. The resort only seemed to be about 1/3 to 1/2 full while we were there.
There were also many families there with children of all ages. They offered a program each night for the children.
At times I found the music to be a little too loud and I was glad our building was far enough away that we didn't hear it....but maybe that was because the pina coladas were good.
There was a huge variety of foods to choose from. If you couldn't find something to eat there then you have a problem! Lovely fresh fruit every morning as well as made to order omlets, eggs, several meats, potatoes, rice, different meats, fish all cooked as you like as well as a large variety of delicious breads, baked goods a variety of foods to try if you're adventurous!
Free kayaking and sailing was also included with this all-inclusive package. This is a place you can have a quiet relaxing holiday or be as busy as you like.

Room Tip: try not be in building 15 it's too close to the stage and the pool Very Loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KitKat1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A friend and myself went to La Laguna to get away and relax. It was my first experience and her second. I gotta say, it is a great place to go!! We had a great time!!! The food was really good, the whole facility was really nice, part sections were closed due to renovations, but there was still a lot of things to see and do.
The staff is really friendly and always wanting to make your stay more comfortable. The one person you have to go see is Freddy, the bar tender in the cigar lounge. He was the absolute best bar tender, and all around employee. We spent most nights with him closing down the place. He makes the best bloody marys!!!!!!
The beach is so beautiful, I have never seen water so blue and clear, you gotta check it out! The only thing I would not suggest is booking a beach party they have at another resort. It was nothing special, pretty boring unless you are one of the younger visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our 3rd trip to Cuba, but 1st time to Cayo Coco. We always check trip advisor before we book anything. Therefore, we took a chance and booked this resort even though it wasnt a 5 star resort.
We knew at the very least, that the beach would be beautiful, the food wouldnt be great and that we would enjoy the Cuban people.
Unfortunately, our lower expectations weren't low enough! From the confusing check in (we received no help with our luggage or directions to our rooms what so ever)! The food was basically unedible most evenings in the buffet. No complaints at the ala cartes!
We experienced the worse service we have ever had....and yes we did tip most of the time. Didnt know you should carry a wad of cash around the pool and beach!!
We had some problems with our rooms (plumbing issues and mini fridge wouldnt work). We asked to relocate and we were told there was nothing available...shortly there after another couple we met at the pool had just relocated there rooms.
The exchane rate was poor and out Nolitour rep offered us a better exchange rate....not really! Our rep Luciano informed us to never leave your things unattended, dont use the bicycles and whatever we did dont rent the scooters. Actually he didnt really have too much positive things to say at all!!
I would like to acknowledge our maid (Yolanda) who did a fantastic job of cleaning our rooms and I think the animacation team and the entertainment staff did a very good job.
We took a day tour to Moron and basically had a great time other than the hour you spend in the centre of town.....non stop begging and harrassment!!
Just to back up this review....we had met another couple that was staying here for the 4th time.....they stated the resort had gone down hill and wouldnt be coming back. They said the Cigar lounge used to be there fav place at nites but not anymore, that the resort was looking old and tired and that the food and service wasnt what it once was!
Anyways, we all were sick at one time or another....met some people who felt they were coming down with a flu and I have been sick since we got home last Friday (March 23rd).
It's 5 star and Varadero for us ....no more lesser quality resorts!! I still cant believe the reviews on here.....maybe we didnt drink enough!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay clear of buildings 14 and 15 unless you like all nite disco music!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peytonspawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week beginning March 17, 2012. I'll try to offer an objective review of various aspects of the resort:
Rooms: We were in building 19, which we thought was a great location for a couple with no children. Right beside the adult pool on one side and regular pool on the other. Close to both the buffet and path to the beach as well. The rooms were basic but kept exceptionally clean. I've been to Cuba many times and the maid service was the best at this resort. Water was always hot but pressure in our room could have been slightly better. This wasn't really a problem though. The only real complaint I have was regarding the beds/pillows. I found them extremely uncomfortable and was actually getting pretty stiff by the end of the week.
Beach: As one other reviewer mentioned, I was disappointed with the Cayo Coco beach. This has nothing to do with the resort, but after being to both Veradero and Cayo Santa Maria, this beach did not compare, especially when the tide was in and the beach became very narrow. The water is very shallow and you can walk out forever though if that's important to you.There were always loungers to be found, even midday.
Pools: The adult pool was very relaxing. There were always activities at the regular pool - stretching, step classes, water aerobics, a contest in the afternoon. The music could be quite loud here but it was more quiet sitting at the side behind the speakers so no issue. Pool was always very clean. We also could always find loungers at the pool at any time of the day, even if you were looking for shade.
Food: Food was the usual for Cuba. Breakfast was good, with pancake and egg stations, boiled eggs, bacon, toast, cereal, fresh fruit and juices. We ate only one night at the Seafood a la carte and ordered the lobster dinner which was wonderful ($12 CUC). Otherwise, the buffet was good for dinners. There was always a fresh meat and fish grilling station, pasta station, fresh bread and different soup each night. I found the selection of 'other' items in the buffet as a whole a little lacking but could always find something.
Drinks: There were different offerings at different bars within the resort. The lobby bar seemed to have a good selection, as well as a blender. The snack bar was a little limited but good enough for grabbing something quick while eating lunch or watching the nightly show. The beach bar was about the same. The Cigar Lounge probably had the best selection, including some higher end brands and Freddy, the bartender, was extremely knowledgeable about anything stocked and a great mixologist. He will also recommend a bottle of wine for you should you wish to purchase a better bottle than what is offered at the resort (we did, both red and white were great and priced between $6-12 CUC. Well worth it if you're a wine drinker). This was really the place to be before and after dinner.
Staff: We found no issues with any of the staff. Some seemed a little overworked but there were certainly a few worth mentioning for going above and beyond to get to know us and make our stay exceptional. Freddy in the Cigar Lounge is one of the most worldly people I've met and it was a pleasure relaxing and talking to him each night. Juan Carlos in the breakfast and lunch buffet made a point of memorizing our names so he could greet us each morning and provided exceptional service, once even fighting a glass out of our hands so we wouldn't get up to get our own juice! Alfredo in the gym was also a great guy!

Overall, we had a great time at this resort, especially for the price we paid. Some of the security staff did 'hint' that they would like a tip or other items but otherwise the staff were extremely hard working and didn't expect anything in return. If anyone is heading here soon, Freddy in the Cigar Lounge needs a long handled star screwdriver as he does his own maintenance work on the bar and is looking to add a wine rack and make some exciting changes inside :) Please try to bring him one!

Feel free to message me if you have any specific questions I can answer.

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and up seemed to be better suited to adults without children as they were by the adult pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GwenAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
29.5 km away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,023 reviews
10.2 km away
Hotel Villa Cayo Coco
1.1 km away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,301 reviews
1 km away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,969 reviews
1.9 km away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Mojito

Address: Ave de Los Hoteles, 69400, Cuba (Formerly Hotel La Laguna)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $172 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Mojito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
352 Standard Rooms ( 36 of them are Superior Rooms). 1 buffet (divided into two sections: Lotus and Los Portales), 2 a la carte restaurants with 3 menus (italian, international and gourmet), a snack bar, a grill, a disco, a cigar lounge, 7 bars. It also have an anfitheatre, a mini club, 3 sweet water swimming pools (main, only adults and only children), 3 tennis courts, a gym, a massage saloon and a nautical sports center. Among other services there are: Conference room, wi fi Internet service, shops, beauty parlor , Money exchange, rent- a- car, tourism desk and medical service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Mojito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Krystal Laguna Resort
Nh Krystal Laguna Hotel
Krystal Laguna Cuba
Nh Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Villas Resort
Nh Krystal Cuba
Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Cuba
Krystal Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing