We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
40
63
11
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
63
11
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerto rico an extra bed snorkeling spot easy access water heater small kitchen carlos rosario beach chairs gail turtles property patio squid cabin privacy cot refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 135 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

We didn't go to Culebra to shop or go out bar hopping or even tô be around people. We went to be alone and enjoy peace and tranquility. We found that at Tamarindo Estates. It's not a modern upscale resort. It's simple yet ample it has all you need to seclude yourself and enjoy natural animal sounds. It has the best snorkeling as long as you bring dive shoes or booties. The managers were knowledgeable about where the best snorkeling was. If you want to see the island I recommend renting a Jeep . Most things aren't far away but the hills are steep so a Jeep will get you there. The staff at Tamarindo were available and friendly yet didn't hover over us. It was a very tranquil and peaceful week.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Damascenodebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2017

My husband and I stayed at Tamarindo Estates for the second time this March, 2017 and found Tamarindo as delightful as our first visit. The views from the beach apartments are truly astounding. The atmosphere is extremely relaxing and there are always knowledgeable and friendly employees close by to help with any questions one might have. Guests are also given three cell phone numbers to call if need be.
The distance from town is perfect, although the road getting there isn't but is still perfectly drivable even in a golf cart. Tamarindo is far enough away from the (relative) bustle and noise of town to be quiet and secure but closer than many of the more upscale accommodations on the island.
Tamarindo is not a luxury resort by any means. The apartments are simple and clean. Be sure to bring all of your own food, spices, beverages, ice, etc. The views and proximity to great snorkeling however, are FANTASTIC!
We will be back to Tamarindo Estates for visit number three!

Stayed: March 2017
Thank sarahjj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2017

First, Culebra is beautiful. Do yourself a favor and visit.

Tamarindo Estates should be THE destination for those who want to snorkel the island. It's not a "where's the room service" destination but rather a place where you'll be away from noise of the downtown area, from the crowded beach areas, and a few hundred yards from some of the most beautiful coral reefs the island has to offer.

The rooms are EXACTLY as advertised, kitchenette/cabin style which won't always feature the Keurig coffeepot you find in a generic hotel but our room featured an old-school expresso coffee pot which makes strong coffee, perfect for the island. The rooms ARE rustic, the views ARE incredible, the location IS private, and the reef IS spectacular. The coffee pot was key to our experience....... make our own coffee, make our own adventure: be it sit on the deck and take in the island breeze and fabulous view OR snorkel from the private beach where the stunning coral reef is just a few feet away OR snorkel with the stingrays and turtles at the public beach just down the road. Beyond that, it's a tiny island........ snorkeling sites, swimming sites, restaurants, bars, etc are just a short drive away.

The staff was incredible: friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Some of the staff live on-site and are easily approachable. Plus, they were happy...... they weren't generic hotel employees plodding through their day but were engaging and ready to help with anything from recommending a place to buy groceries..... to the best seafood to eat at the local restaurants.

It's true, if you are coming to the island to have someone who hates their job bring you a drink at the pool and call down to have dinner sent up to the room....... this is not your place. If you want to fashion your own vacation based around snorkeling the island, if you enjoy setting your own agenda not starting around "breakfast from 6:30 to 9 in the lobby," if you understand roosters and chickens are part of the Caribbean islands..... like the tiniest little gecko who appeared in the bathroom one morning, come to Tamarindo Estates.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2017

My wife and I spent a week here in February. We arrived early and were lucky enough that the manager happened to be in the office and since our room was ready let us check in early. The manager went over all the things we needed to know and answered all of our questions. My goal was to snorkel all over Culebra and the reef in front of the beach house was one of the best. The apartment was very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked, overall condition clean, clean, clean. Just the view from the place and the location was worth the price. Sure, you have a bad short section of roadway (we just slowed our golf cart and veered around) no biggie. Sure, you have noisy roosters (they are all over Culebra, even on the tarmac at the airport) no biggie. Sure, we had to dispose of our garbage, real no biggie. All in all Culebra and the Tamarindo Estates were as advertised and no road, no rooster or garbage duty will keep me from returning.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oh7016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Let me start by saying the if you are looking for a 5-star resort don’t read any further – find another place.

Because Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments is not a luxury place. It as actually the opposite – rather primitive.

And I don’t mind staying at primitive places. But the price has to match the standard. And in this case I don’t feel it does. It is to expensive compared to what you get.

Let’s start in the small bedroom. The bed is very small (smaller than a normal queen size bed in most hotels). It squeaks a lot – so you will wake up when your partner moves.

The air-condition is very noisy. So we had to turn it off and open the windows. Not a big problem – except for all the wild (and noisy) chickens and roosters right outside.

In the small living room (and kitchen) there is a futon – made of plastic leather. Not very comfortable material in this kind of heat.

The kitchen is very basic – and missing a lot of kitchen equipment. A basic kitchen knife, trivets, wine glass etc. would have been nice. We could have asked for it – and they would probably have got it for us. But I don’t feel it is my assignment to tell them what to put in the kitchen drawers and cabinets.

We were told that we could adjust the shower temperature. But in reality there were only two options – cold or burning hot.

There is a small beach house by the beach. It looks like it has been a great place in the past (when there also were a pool). But now it is as run down as all the other places.

I really hate to point out all the bad things. Because I feel it could be so much better. Tamarindo Estates has a great potential. It is a really nice place with amazing view (and a beautiful sunset).

But it seems like not enough is down to keep it up to standard. And I am afraid it is getting even worse in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Morten-Elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbwatch, Manager at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

This guest obviously did not do his homework by reading our web site before booking with us. We are very frank and honest about what we provide here at Tamarindo Estates. We never try to hide the fact that we offer basic, even rustic accommodations, even showing photos of the rooms and describing the size of beds, etc. We never claim to offer luxury accommodations.

What we do offer, in the way of luxury, is 60 acres of luxurious, undeveloped greenery on the ocean with spectacular views and stunning sunsets. We cater to the special kind of guest that is looking to get away from the norm of everyday living and enjoy a refreshing change of pace. We offer security, seclusion and a world-class snorkeling reef. We offer stunning views from guests' private patios, and we have, housed here on the property, caretakers that are on call at all times, to care for guests needs.

We find it odd that a guest would prefer to do without something rather than ask, and later write a review complaining that they did not want to ask. This is very odd, due to the fact that during the check-in process the guest is given three phone numbers, including the personal cell number of the property manager. And, the guests are urged to call for any reason, whether it is questions, needs, or problems, and told it is not an imposition on us for them to call; that it is our desire to make them happy. We also mention again, when we take them to the apartment, to please call us, whatever the need.

As for the shower temperature, we realize that a lot of people are not accustomed to the typical Puerto Rican water heater that is an instantaneous heater attached to the showerhead. We do give instructions on the use and how to regulate the temperature when we take guests to their apartments. Many savvy travelers are very familiar with these water heaters, and have no problem at all.

Yes, we do maintenance, yearly, monthly, and weekly. This climate and the conditions caused from being so close to the ocean make it necessary. Again, we are sorry this guest did not find the luxury he was looking for, but that is not easily found in this part of the world. We would like to offer the suggestion that in the future he does his homework before booking anywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews