We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catered diner was a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Seabourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Seabourne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
“Catered diner was a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

I reserved the entire dining room for a rehersal diner. I had to do it via e-mail and was surprised when the catering director kept in touch with me even though she was on vacation in Spain.

Between e-mails and phone calls we palnned a dinner and arranged for the room set-up.

I was very nervous but had no reason to be. The room was beautiful, the table was set with white linen, crysrtal and silver. There were even charges under the plates.

The food was delicious and the service excellent and the staff was warm and smiling. Theyf did not seem to mind serveral small children running around.

I was extremly pleased with everything!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CulebraWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    90
    35
    9
    13
See reviews for
77
200
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed 3 nights but wish we hadn't. The room was in poor condition; many things didn't work. Bird doo was not cleaned off the deck table. The bathroom floor wasn't clean. The breakfast was mediocre. The evening meal was OK but overpriced. The staff, except for the bartender, was helpful, particularly Carlos. The bar television blared constantly throughout the grounds. Inexplicably, the bar and dining room are closed 2 days a week. No internet service. Paying in excess of $200 a night for this run-down dump was outrageous.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuinnessWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

My boyfriend and I had an amazingly relaxing time! Our villa (#5) had the best view of the bay. The staff was more then helpful and friendly. We went to the Dingy Dock one night for drinks and had a great time. Don't go to culebra looking for a 5 star setting. The food at Club Seabourne was great ( a little pricey but good). You must rent a jeep to get around the island and get to the most beautiful beaches. Flamenco beach was great but was the most populated. Zoni beach was great once you got there. As for getting to culebra I highly reccomend the plane. It is a little nerve wracking but the ferry takes for ever and I did not enjoy stepping over puck as I was exiting. The plane takes 12mins total from the mainland and the ferry about 1 hour 20mins ( and it is $2.50 for a reason).
The biggest reason to go to Culebra is to relax and that is what we did and Club Seabourne did everything they could to aid us in our mission.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beach_bumMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

Overall, nice, but not perfect. The good: nice pool, good location, nice grounds. Breakfast in the AM is basic continental, but was fine for us. They picked us up promptly in Dewey upon arrival. It's a quiet enough place, assuming you don't get noisy neighbors (we didn't). There is a road nearby that has a bit of local traffic you'll hear, and some dogs and roosters in the neighborhood (but that's anywhere in Culebra). Restaurant is expensive, but my partner is still raving about the filet mignon there, so I'd say they did the job food-wise (service was just ok). The mojitos at the bar were amazing!!! The not so good: Staff was helpful and friendly when they could be found. There isn't an overabundance of staff, so you need to be patient sometimes or go looking for someone if you need something. Restaurant and bar are closed Monday and Tues. (we were there Sun. thru Wed. AM). We turned down the A/C one night and got wet as the unit dripped like mad. Had to get beach towels from the desk clerk to mop up. Satellite TV was sort of tough to figure out and the CD player in the room had a mind of it's own. Also, the mat in the living room area was most uncomfortable to walk on without shoes on. The bed was acceptable to me, but my partner wasn't too happy. It's a decent place - we felt some of these negative reviews were harsh compared to our experience, which was pleasant enough. Not sure we'd go back - Bahia Marina just up the road was about $40 cheaper per night and the rooms looked like they were better appointed. If you are staying in Culebra, we would highly recommend renting a jeep to get around the island so you can see everything on your own schedule. Just spend the $$ and do it!

  • Liked — Do splurge and try the restaurant. The filet was excellent the night we were there, and the mojitos were superbly made.
  • Disliked — Service was a lacking sometimes.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berks1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

My husband and I journeyed to Culebra for two nights January 7-8, 2009. We took the ferry from Fajardo over, which takes about one hour and 15 minutes for $2.25 each way.

Club Seaborne offers transportation from and to the ferry. Be sure to take the phone number with you to call for the pick-up.

Location: Club Seaborne lies about 2 miles or so outside of the center of town (Dewey). It is NOT in walking distance of any of the beaches, except one- which is NOT worth the 20 minute walk to.

Room: Try and get Cabana #5. It was the cabana we had and by far will guarantee you the BEST view. The other cabanas lie lower and will only provide you an obstructed view or look out on the resort itself.

Condition of the room: The room was clean and nicely decorated. If you are one of those people who is bothered by little things (which I am and my husband is not), you will find little things that need some attention…stains on the rug; a few cracked floor tiles; mold on the shower curtain and ceiling; and stained pool towels. The bed is comfortable and the room has a nice feel.

Pool: The pool and pool area is very nice. The pool bar does not open until 4pm, as does the restaurant.

Eating: BE CAREFUL- there are only a hand full of restaurants on the island- and it seems that they are more often closed than open. Club Seaborne offers a continental breakfast, which is free but sparse. Seaborne does not offer a sit down lunch. They do offer a $50 “lunch box”. So, lunch is something you need to do outside of the resort. Lunch starts at most places after 11:30am. Go to the Dingy Dock- good food and great atmosphere!

Transportation: We made the huge mistake of getting a cab into town from the resort on our first day. The driver charged us $15 for three people (my cousin came for the day). The ride was about five minutes long- and he had picked up another fare with us in the van. Needless to say we walked back to the resort, which is not a flat walk and the roads have no sidewalks. Be careful walking on the roads- locals zip along. Club Seaborne has bikes you can rent for $15 a day (in town they charge $17- so get them from the resort). My husband and I got the bikes and rode out to Zoni Beach. It took over an hour- but it is the beach you want to go to (you can see Culebrita and St. Thomas from Zoni Beach).

Go to Culebra to relax- as there is no nightlife. I loved Culebra, and will definitely return…it is an adventure. And I am sure we will stay at Club Seaborne.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

Our stay at Club Seabourne on the beautiful island of Culebra was a highlight of our trip to Puerto Rico. We got a great "pre-Christmas" rate directly from the hotel. (It included breakfast, 1 hr kayak, free drink.) Club Seabourne has a very relaxed charm that grows on you. Staff are helpful and things run smoothly. The restaurant serves excellent food. Take a deep breath and really relax. We loved it.

Pros: Comfortable, clean, nice views, professional staff, great food. This is a great place for experienced travelers looking to unwind.

Cons: We had a deluxe villa (#5) it was great. Saw #4, not as nice. if you expect a 4 star hotel and a lot of activities, you may be disappointed.

  • Liked — Well maintained, great food, professional staff, nice location.
  • Disliked — No beach.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

The place was beautiful, the staff was excellent and the food.... superb!!! The place to go if you want to relax and enjoy nature.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
22.1 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
25.3 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
85.2 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 km away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
36.6 km away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.7 km away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Seabourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Seabourne

Property: Club Seabourne
Address: Fulladoza Bay, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Seabourne 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a whole new side of the Caribbean at Club Seabourne, the region's only boutique hotel designed to cater to your every need. Get away from it all and immerse yourself in a unique experience that can only be described as Caribbean Chic: exclusive, sublime, exquisite. Nestled in the hillsides of Culebra Island, just a few miles from the easternmost tip of Puerto Rico, is Club Seabourne, an intimate mini-resort for those who value life's simple pleasures. Enjoy world-class amenities and services, casual dining, a host of activities, and access to the world's most famous beaches. Come and discover the colors and flavors of this idyllic location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Club Seabourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Seabourne Hotel Culebra
Seabourne Hotel Culebra
Seabourne Resort Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing