We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience for the Whole Family!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cobourg Coastal Camp
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

What an extraordinary part of the country to visit and I hadn't even heard of it before we arranged our trip!! The location of this camp is just indescribable, Port Essington and the views of it from camp just blew me away, the whole area is teeming with life and nestled up on the cliff you can watch it all going on whilst being fed with absolutely delicious fare! We saw reef sharks, turtles, rays, crocs, dolphins, bandicoot and a plethora of fish whilst on the boat going over to Victoria Settlement. The camp itself is so well run, sleeping accommodation so comfortable and with sea views to boot! How about a toilet with the best view in Australia.....

We also had the opportunity to try our hand at fishing with Travis, this was the kids favourite part of the trip, going out on the boat and catching fish some of which were then dished up for tea - scrumptious!! Our daughter caught a Queen Fish that was absolutely huge, half her height, what a first catch to pocket!!

Camp hosts and the guides were so friendly and accommodating, the kids (aged 7 & 9) learned so much whilst we were there and we're grateful for the experience given to them as well as us.

We couldn't have asked for a better trip and would love to visit the area again one day in the future!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank carlafendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

One of those once in life-time kind of trip! An absolute must for the bucket list; it exceeded our expectations in so many ways.  Cobourg Peninsula, Garig Gunak Barlu National Park, had been on my must-see list for 3-4 years and Arnhem Land for much much longer - and this tour whetted my appetite to see more!
Stunning countryside from water-lily encrusted swamps and billabongs teaming with gorgeous birds - jabiru, brolga, egrets, herons, magpie geese, whistling and plumed ducks plus plus, to vast stretches of savannah with its mega grasses as well as forests and tropical scrub. The peninsula nestles in an extensive Marine Park where you might be luck enough to see turtles and if you're very very lucky dugongs. We saw salt-water crocs, a variety of sharks, fish species that would give a fisherman happy dreams, turtles, rays, and in the rocks mud crabs and cockles, coral and other exotica for we southerns. The whole of the peninusula is a Ramsar site where birds and wetlands are protected.
On the way to the Garig Gunak Barlu, we climbed Injalak Hill and Nourlangie rock to visit ancient rock art sites, visited art centres to watch traditional artist translate ancient stories onto bark, canvas, silk and wood.
And we ate fresh, delicious food sipping champers on the cliffs overlooking Port Essington, an enormous bay which opens onto the Arafura Sea. At sunset we watched
fish and ‘other’ wildlife swimming in the shallows 20-25 metres below the open air Sunset bar where we sipped cool drinks and ate yummy nibbles. Who could ask for
more?
My husband and I just loved the tour! Thanks Venture North and our wonderful guide.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed at the Cobourg Coastal Camp as part of a 5-day trip through Kakadu National Park and Arnhem Land, organised by Venture North. This was easily one of the most interesting and enjoyable holidays we have ever had. Our guide/driver/chef was outstanding and our hosts at the Camp were friendly and informative.

Along the way we visited billabongs teeming with wildlife, indigenous rock art sites, lookouts, swimming holes and wetland reserves. From the Camp itself, we travelled by boat across Port Essington to visit the 19th-century Victoria Settlement, and by 4WD to Smith Point, the second most northerly location in Australia.

The facilities at the Camp are all designed to have minimal impact on the environment but are still very comfortable, bordering on luxurious. The accommodation overlooks the beach and the view is gorgeous. However, swimming is out of the question (and even walking on the beach could be regarded as hazardous) because of the crocodiles (which are very much in evidence).

We had three leisurely evenings (and 3 fabulous sunsets!) at Cobourg Coastal Camp, with great food including freshly caught fish. As a destination to truly get away from it all (there is no mobile phone reception anyway) this is truly unbeatable.

Room Tip: The accommodation is in sturdy high-ceilinged tents on a wooden base with a cyclone-proof frame. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stayed at the Coburg Coastal Camp for 3 nights during our Venture North 5 day 4WD tour of Kakadu, Arnhem Land and Coburg Peninsula in May this year. What better way to end each day packed with visits to fascinating locations and terrific learning experiences with our marvellous guides Dave and Luke than to sit champers or wine in hand, on the cliff top overlooking Port Essington watching a beautiful sunset. As if this wasn't enough, the hospitality offered by Hugh, Heather, Ross and Clara was second to none. Our guide Dave, a restaurant chef in another life, cooked up delicious pre-dinner and dinner feasts each night.

The accommodation was comfortable with each “habitat” overlooking Port Essington and the dining area doubling as a quiet spot to relax or read one of the many books available. We would thoroughly recommend this location and the Venture North 5 day 4WD tour for an escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Recently back from our 3rd trip up here with Venture North and surprise, surprise we loved it!! If you want to escape the rat race, have no mobile phone coverage, no TV and just BE then I can not recommend a trip here enough. Thanks again VN

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This area of Australia is unique, offering wonderful scenery, culture and even a slice of European history, plus the best fishing you could wish for, estuary or deep sea.
This was the second time we have stayed here, and it only gets better. We flew in from Darwin on this occasion but previously took a most memorable and fun 4 day trip through Kakadu and Arnhemland, with unbelievable guides Hugh and David, whose knowledge was second to none.
The camp itself is set on a magnificent cliff top and is extremely comfortable, but it is the hospitality that makes the difference - great hosts and great fun. The meals are amazing with plenty of fresh seafood, served either at the table or on the cliff top savouring a perfect sunset.
If you are looking for a well planned adventure or a great fishing trip, this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

If I were returning to Australia and could only go one place, this would be it. There was not one thing that wasn't over the top. The scenery, the guides, the food, the nature. Even the 4WD trip was comfortable and fascinating. Wish I were back there now.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cobourg Coastal Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobourg Coastal Camp

Address: Cobourg Road, Garig Gunak Barlu National Park, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture North operates this exclusive safari-style camp on the red cliffs of the Cobourg Peninsula, overlooking the bay of Port Essington. This remote camp has most of the home comforts while still allowing guests to feel close to nature. Cobourg Coastal Camp is the perfect base to explore the Garig Gunak Barlu National Park as well as the NT’s only Marine Park. Wildlife, culture, history, fishing, pristine wilderness regions...it’s all here! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing