We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed 4 October 2017

What a beautiful, wild, remote location. The resort is absolutely great. The accommodation is quite excellent. Great views and very private outlooks. The restaurant and bar look out onto a pool area, which then overlooks the Seven Spirit Bay. You can look at the crocodiles swimming by in the bay whilst cooling off in the pool with a cold beer. The fishing was very good, we caught schnapper, a little bronze whaler shark and a host of other varieties. The helicopter ride over the surrounding area accentuated the remoteness of the area and gave an excellent view over the beaches (strictly for looking at, unless you want a close encounter with a big croc). The food and service was top notch.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gh0stguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

This resort has changed management several times, so only reviews in the last 2 years reflect the current situation.
It is owned by Outback Spirit and used exclusively for its tours across Arnhem Land.
Outback Spirit do an excellent job of managing their camps and this is probably the jewel.
Beautifully laid out and furnished.
The only unfortunate thing is that guest on the tours stay only 2 days.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Arrival delayed by cyclone Frances. Manager very helpful with covering cost of delay and organizing replacement Charter flight. Resort beautiful and comfortable staff friendly and helpful. The problems arose with lunch on arrival, a sandwich equal to one from a cheap lunch bar. Dinner that night was a small piece of fish well over cooked with very plain batter, a few ordinary chips and a small serve of salad. I get a much better fish and chips
for $11 at my local fish and chip shop. After complaining the lunches improved somewhat.
Breakfasts were bellow expectations, no fruit, no yogurt, and small selection of cereals and the eggs were cold and under cooked. The one dish OK was some sushi, all further fish was very over cooked, and one patron got bones and scales, and the fillets had blood meat left on. So much for 5*. I went to Arnhem Land Barramundi Lodge in 2016 where the food was so much better. If you like good food I suggest you go elsewhere

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Exclusive, luxurious, beautiful surroundings with excellent new cabins situated to make the most of the views, plenty of privacy, only a short walk through the bush to the dining and lounge areas. Agile wallabies on the lawns, plenty of bird life making the most of the swimming pool and the bush near our cabins. And lots of crocs to watch from our decks or the verandah near the bar and dining area. The food was excellent, staff friendly and nothing was trouble to them. The guides knowledgeable and entertaining. We would have liked to stay longer. The only drawback was now walking on the beaches.

Room Tip: All good, we liked our walk through the bush, especially the antics of the orange footed scrub fowls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This resort was our last accommodation after a 9 day trip from East to West Arnhem Land in the Northern Territory. It is now leased By Outback Spirit Tours and is used currently for guests of that company. In our case only 22 of us. The Cabins are brand new and 6 star. beautifully appointed, equipped and private.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was a problem. All of them had a deep love and Knowledge of the Raw Australian Outback
The food was diverse,fresh and beautifully presented. I wanted to stay for a month.Only sad thing is one cant swim in the ocean because of Crocs! have to use the pool.

Room Tip: There are only 12 Villas all private with water and bush views all have Air Con but we only used the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I have been to this place twice. Once in 2001 ( we were there on 9/11 when the telecoms link was down, we learned of the Trade Centre attack on a short wave radio and no-one believed us when we told them at breakfast the next day) and again in Oct 2005. On both occasions we were stunned by the beauty and isolation of the place. It was one of the original "luxury in the middle of nowhere" concepts. On both occasions, the food was excellent and the wine choices good. The atmosphere was informal but the staff were helpful and pleasant. We only had one issue. On our first visit - the place was taken over on our last night by a corporate event. They gave us a bottle of 1995 Moet as compensation. We were thinking of going back so we await updates on how things go. Someone should be able to make a go of Seven Spirit. It is such a unique location. PS - We did NOT go there in August 2013 - I could just not enter an earlier date!!

Room Tip: These all relate to previous visits just to point out what is could be like. We had a room very clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We heard that the resort had closed down so its great to see that it is still operating. We stayed there about 8 years ago, but we still talk about all the time, we had the best couple of days. Fishing was excellent, the guides really no the area, the wildlife was amazing saw huge croc about 4 metres long. The staff in the resort were just fantastic, nothing was to much trouble for them. The outdoor bathrooms are a real experience with lizards coming in for a drink while your in the shower. For we got our monies worth plus and we will be going back there in a few more years

Room Tip: All the bungalows are great but I would suggest that you ask for one closer to the resort as some ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelindaMarksPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge

Address: | Gurig National Park, Garig Gunak Barlu National Park, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Price Range: $213 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Spirit Bay is an iconic Northern Territory wilderness lodge and one of the very first luxury lodges in the outback. Built in 1990, the lodge is located on the western side of Port Essington in the Garig Gunak Barlu National Park on the Cobourg Peninsula. It is only accessible by boat from Black Point, or by air via the lodge’s private airstrip at Vashon Head. Acquired by Outback Spirit in 2015, Seven Spirit Bay has received a new lease of life thanks to a $3.5 million redevelopment completed in April 2016. The original guest accommodation, known as ‘habitats’, have been completely transformed into ultra-luxurious rooms featuring architecturally designed ensuite bathrooms, beautiful furniture and a front balcony. Other improvements at the lodge include a new waste water treatment plant, new power generation system and a fully refurbished main lodge building. In addition to the lodge redevelopment, Seven Spirit Bay now features a fleet of expedition boats to explore the pristine waters of Port Essington and the Garig Gunak Barlu National Park. At a glance • Iconic NT lodge acquired by Outback Spirit in 2015. • $3.5 million redevelopment completed in April 2016 • Superb main lodge building with ocean views and palm fringed swimming pool • 12 Luxurious ’Habitats’ featuring ensuite bathrooms • Exclusive to Outback Spirit guests • State-of-the-art fleet expedition boats • Commercial kitchen with in-house chef ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing