We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
27
25
17
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
25
17
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsown bathroomlong termersa double private roomperth cityworth a visitper nighthostelobbkitchenbeachutensils
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 88 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Ocean Beach Backpackers is located directly at the beach which is amazing but the rooms are not that good. I could see mildew on the ceiling, the window was extremely dirty and and it was raining inside the room. Besides the good location there was only one bonus: the nice staff. I arrived in the morning and it was raining heavily and the receptionist let me check in immediately although the check in normally starts at 1pm. That was very kind. No free wifi :-(

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dabsi0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017

The bed itself was really comfortable, with a fridge in the room and ensuite bathroom for a great price per night. Only thing I would say was that if you wanted to go to Fremantle and/or Perth frequently then it is 20-30 minutes either way.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
1  Thank a_y_harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

The best part of this hostel is the location, walking distance to the beach. Lots of bars and restaurants around too. 15 minute walk from the train station. The only thing is it felt most people were long termers so not really people who wanted to socialise. Good price though, good sized rooms and a clean environment .

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Terri1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile

This was a great choice while in Perth! I loved staying in Cottesloe, and the hostel is right by the beach. There is a great coffee shop, grocery store, and laundromat right nearby so it's a great location. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and even gave us a ride to the train station when we were leaving really early in he morning, saving us a 15 minute walk in the chilly morning air. We had a private room with ensure and it was great for the price.
We aren't young party animals and the hostel was still really great for us- good vibes and friendly people. The only complaint is that on our last day the bar next door had a super loud afternoon party. Our room backed onto it and it was as loud as if we were there (we pretty much were). The music was off by 10pm which was lucky, but the cigarette smoke from the bar wafted into our room which was unfortunate. Totally not the hostels fault though, and I'd definitely stay here again- it's just a heads up :) it was a Sunday afternoon, so maybe best to plan to be out if you're not up for the festivities.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Not the cheapest of hostels but cheap enough. Big dorms and private rooms, clean enough and kept in good shape. Burger night is not to be missed!
This place is perfect for a backpacking couple or solo traveler. The staff are dead friendly and encourage integration within the hostel. Every night was party night while I was there but there are chill out areas as well. The TV room is good for a flake out.
Right next to one of the most beautiful beaches and oceans in the world, watching the sunset is a definite must.
I wouldn't recommend this place if you're looking for somewhere quiet to rest but if you want new faces, a good time and a stinking hangover the next morning, you are most definitely in the right place.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuicyLucy2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews