We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
10
18
30
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
18
30
11
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 79 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Though this hotel is inexpensive, there are many reasons for it being so. I would give it zero if I could.
First, be aware parking can be taken both on the upside and downside and they are two different entrances. This was not pointed out to us and we ended up parking in the street. There is no management on site so no one to check matters with.
The stove did not work. Unable to use it.
There is no light in the kitchen so difficult anyhow.
Sitting at the small round table, you will bang your knees on the legs.
Toilet paper cheaper than cheap. You ended up using at least twice as much as usual as it is so thin.
No ABC channels on the TV that was pixilating. No TV guide.
Bathroom fan sounded like a jet engine and it turns on with the light. If anybody goes to the toilet at night, the fan is guaranteed to wake up the other person.
Hardly any water in the shower rose.
There were no batteries in the Air con. remote.
No bin in the bathroom.
The bathroom tap was constantly running.
Internet was painfully slow and kept dropping out.
There are no lights on set of stairs to access upstairs at night.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Dear G P,

Many thanks for your review of Ocean View Motel.

Your feedback was much appreciated and your comments have been taken on board and discussed within the team. There is a number listed on the reception door which can be contacted for any issues. If we had been made aware of these issues during your stay, we could have resolved them. Further to this, the motel hours are clearly displayed on all websites.

Thank you again,

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017

We stayed here for 6 days, mainly for the location. Apon arrival we had to contact the reception via phone to open safe to retrieve key. I get this as motel saves on reception staff, I feel they could have emailed/texted us before arrival. Motel is dated but quite clean, and serviced every day. Had an emergency and contacted the ah number, went straight to message bank with promise of call back..... NO call back. Once contacted reception by mobile phone (no inhouse phone) they rectified situation with no problem. Cleaning staff very friendly and helpful. Maintenance could be better and aging fittings are obvious.

Room Tip: all rooms are same standard
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robbo289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Dear robbo289,

Many thanks for your review of Ocean View Motel.

Your feedback was much appreciated and your comments have been taken on board and discussed with the team.

Thank you again.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

There have been a lot of negatives about this establishment. As a couple we stayed one Saturday night & for the price, the experience was quite reasonable. We booked a ground floor room with a small ocean view. Although the place is old, with paint peeling off the walls, there was milk in the fridge, no evidence of stray empty wine bottles & it was certainly free from cigarette smoke - in fact the room was very clean. There was tea/coffee, toaster, hair dryer, plates, utensils, wine & beer glasses, flat screen tv etc etc. The room cost $86.25 including GST.
My only complaint was the noise from an air conditioner, which went on most of the night. I suggest ear plugs are in order. One other important thing!!! you need to ring the number on your reservation document in order to access your room key, as has, been pointed out by other reviewers the office is often not attended. Information indicates that your room is serviced daily - as we were only there one night, I cannot vouch for this either way. Finally it is well positioned, near beach & a short walk to the North Beach shopping precinct.

Room Tip: Should try & get an upstairs room if possible...re view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank ToadPortBouvard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Dear ToadPortBouvard,

Many thanks for your review of Ocean View Motel.

Your feedback was much appreciated and we are glad to see you had a positive experience at the motel. Your comments have been taken on board and discussed with the team.

Thank you again.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

I have stayed here a number of times. It has deteriorated each time. I will not be returning. People wonder why we are turning to Airbnb? Over priced. No wi-fi. Convoluted access to key collection, no milk in fridge, no staff on site and some lack of cleanliness. There was an empty wine bottle next to the fridge, a hair tie on the bathroom floor and the toilet brush was filthy.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Dear Jeff R,

Many thanks for your review of Ocean View Motel.

Your feedback was much appreciated and your comments have been taken on board and discussed within the team.

Thank you again,

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

This was the top ranked accommodation for the area but this was because it is the only one. Even then it should be more like 11th out of 1.
The reception was closed before 5pm and the phone number not clear as to how to get the number for the key safe.
The ensuite looks like it has been renovated, but most everything else in the room and out look like it is in need of some serious TLC.
The room was clean, but an empty wine bottle was beside the fridge and a hair tie on the bathroom floor.
We are left wondering WHY did we book here?
Not coming back!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stuart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Dear Stuart I,

Many thanks for your review of Ocean View Motel.

Your feedback was much appreciated and your comments have been taken on board and discussed within the team.

Thank you again,

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews