We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning tea”

Goanna Cafe and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Quindalup
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Australian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: NESTLED IN NATIVE AUSTRALIAN BUSHLAND, GOANNA IS QUIRKY, UNPRETENTIOUS AND RELAXED. OUR EVER CHANGING SEASONAL MENU IS DESIGNED TO SHOWCASE THE BEST AND FRESHEST LOCALLY SOURCED INGREDIENTS Creating fresh, interesting and honest dishes in a kitchen they could call their own had long been a dream for Duncan Timmons and Tim Meikle. They met while working in London Michelin star winning restaurant La Trompette. Their shared passion for all things culinary and search for adventure bought these two to the beautiful Southwest where Scottish (Duncan) and Kiwi (Tim) and their families proudly now call home. Duncan and Tim express their passion for simple, fresh and understated food through their creative seasonal menu. They work alongside a long list of local producers and suppliers to ensure that every menu item showcases the freshest and best quality, locally sourced ingredients.
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

A pit stop on drive around, my girlfriend had never been to goanna cafe before, so I had to show her as its one of my favs. The grounds are so beautiful, the crafts and artwork are amazing. And let's not forget the coffee and cake, though you can come for breakfast or lunch and it's fabulous too.

Thank Amie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goanna C, Public Relations Manager at Goanna Cafe and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Amie,
Thanks for introducing your girlfriend to Goanna, we hope she loved it as much as you do!
Thanks also for taking the time to write you review, it is much appreciated.
See you guys here again soon for a relaxed brekkie or lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by some friends so we took the drive up from Margaret River... About 25 minutes.. Through the local countryside into Yallingup.
The restaurant is nestled in the forest and is understated. Everything seemed calm and well managed.
The staff were efficient and within minutes we were seated and given cold water and menus.
We ordered the bhajis, the squid salad and the brisket burger. I have to say.. We enjoyed every mouthful of all those three dishes. Presented well.. They tasted as good as they looked.
This place is a bit of a hub for local artisans and artists and they sell lots of items and products in the shop.
Nice to see.
We will be back for sure. Beautiful location.. Great food. Well priced.
Lunch for two with soft drinks was $70.

Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goanna C, Public Relations Manager at Goanna Cafe and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi Dale,

Thanks for taking the time to review us!

We are happy to hear that you took the drive up from Margaret River to join us for lunch, it certainly is a lovely drive which adds to the 'in the bush' experience you have when you reach us...

We enjoy offering a relaxed table lunch service so the only thing you have to do is select from the menu and it sounds like you did a great job at that!
We are really happy that you enjoyed your meal with us and thanks for sharing your experience. We hope to see you here next time you are out and about enjoying the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

A nice location but lacked professionalism.
Hard to sit back and relax when big delivery trucks are pulling up in front of the verandah where we were sitting. Staff were pleasant but seemed a bit directionless.
Food was ok but way overpriced. I ordered the brisket burger which came with pilenta chips. The size of the burger was more like a slightly bigger slider, but the $28 price tag was hard to swallow. Others at our table ordered the special - potato and leek soup. Nearly cold and a tiny serve, not sure on the price of that one. Other dish ordered was prawn and lamb sausage thingy.....3 prawns and 2 slices sausage for $18.
Generally too pricey for average stuff when other big guns in the area are better value by far.
Not returning, sorry.

Thank Celeste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goanna C, Public Relations Manager at Goanna Cafe and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi Celeste,

Thanks for your review, all feedback is valuable to us!
We are sorry to hear that Goanna did not live up to your expectation and you did not love your experience. It is unfortunate that your visit was timed with a delivery truck being onsite, I am sure that you can understand that in order to serve our customers the freshest ingredients (which is our focus) we do require deliveries on a regular basis. We do as much as we can to ensure that this does not interrupt our busy service periods but we do not have much say on delivery times due to our remote location.

In regards to the prices of our menu items, these too are a reflection of the fresh, ingredients that we use. We are dedicated to serving only the highest quality, premium ingredients in all our dishes and of course sourcing quality does often come at price, one that we feel is worthwhile to ensure quality across our menu. Our portion size also refers to our focus on quality, we specifically design dishes where every mouthful is to be an savoured and enjoyed. Dishes such as the garlic prawn, lamb merguez is from our aptly named 'small plate' menu are designed to be a light lunch full of flavour or a starter, as is our daily soup specials. Perhaps this should have been clarified my our staff at the time when you placed your order. Our smoked beef brisket burger is a classic favourite on our menu and we are disappointed to hear that the burger and side of polenta chips did not satisfy your needs during your visit. In reference to the temperature of your soup, we can not apologise enough for this, it is a real short coming on our part and this has been passed on to the kitchen for review.

As a small business who focuses on supporting local producers and growers it is hard for us to compete on price with the 'big guns' of the region but we make sure that we more than make up for it in the quality and flavourful dishes we are known for. We are less than pleased that this is not what you felt you received on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Don't be fooled by the look of this humble little cafe in the bush above Dunsborough. At work in the kitchen are Michelin star restaurant trained owners/chefs, and their food is both innovative and delicious! It is a great local favourite of ours, and we always take our visitors there. The share platters currently on offer as part of their menu at lunch are great. I always love a place where the cuisine is not what I can create at home! Breakfast is also good here. The coffee is good. And their cakes -- worth giving in to the temptation! It's also licensed with a reasonable list of wines.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BabyboomerWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goanna C, Public Relations Manager at Goanna Cafe and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thanks for your great review!
Our kitchen team is excited about the dishes they create so it is great to hear that this reflects in our customers experience. We love creating fresh and interesting dishes and our share platter is a great way to share a variety of goodies we create from ingredients source from throughout the region.
We look forward to seeing you back here soon and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Took hubby for breakfast to celebrate his birthday today with family visiting from Perth, including 4 children. I had been for lunch last Thursday with friends and as usual had a wonderful meal.
Breakfast was almost as good, but there were a couple of disappointments.....
Firstly, the toast wasn't. Toasted that is. And so, after being topped by scrambled egg and mushrooms, it was reduced to a bit of a soggy mess.
But, the thing that astounded me the most were the chocolate milk-shakes I ordered for my grandchildren, mainly because they weren't milk-shakes at all, and at $6.50 each they were bloody expensive! It was literally some chocolate syrup-type "stuff" squirted on the inside of a fairly small glass and then milk poured inside, and I'm pretty sure it wasn't even full cream milk as it looked very watery! One of the grandkids didn't like it and, after a couple of sips, refused to drink it!
So my suggestions are, either buy a proper milk-shake machine, stop making them altogether, or be a little bit more reasonable in the price you're charging.
And toast the toast!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goanna C, Public Relations Manager at Goanna Cafe and Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Julia,

Thanks for your feedback. We are always so happy to hear the thoughts and experiences of our customers, especially our regular ones.

We are very disappointed to hear that on your most recent visit we were not quite on point as we have been previously.

In regards to the un-toasted toast situation. This a is a very unfortunate error which should never have occurred. Should an error in ordering, issue with our food quality or presentation ever occur we strongly encourage all our customers to bring the issue to our staffs attention as soon as it arrises. This then gives us the opportunity to resolve it the issue there and then so that you can still enjoy your dining experience. No matter how busy we are we take the upmost pride in presenting all our dishes to the highest standard, so to hear that you left unsatisfied is less than a pleasing result for us and we are very sorry!

In regards to the milkshakes that were ordered for your grandchildren. We believe that this may have been a misunderstanding that has taken place at the time of ordering. On our drinks menu for kids we offer a chocolate or strawberry milk option for $3.50 (no milkshake for kids) this is a 200ml bottle of flavoured milk, served as you received it. We designed the kids drink options to be a flavoured milk (opposed to a milkshake) as we had a lot of parents preferring the flavoured milk option with no ice-cream (as per a milkshake) for their children. We do however also offer a milkshake option on our general drinks menu which is indeed $6.50. This is a traditional style milkshake served in a large glass and consists of ice-cream, flavouring and milk. We only ever use full cream milk for all of our milk based drinks unless otherwise requested by the customer. On occasion we do have a request for a kids milkshake which we simply split the cost of an adults shake and serve in the smaller bottle (same as the kids flavoured milk). This sounds as though it is what you would have preferred to have ordered or believed that you would receive at the time. For this confusion we are very sorry but please rest assured that if you received the kids chocolate milks you would not have been charged $6.50 each for them.
Our staff only receive drink orders as per the point of sale prints them, so your order would have printed at the drink station as kids chocolate milks ($3.50) which is what was subsequently served. We are more than happy to investigate your order particulars and refund you accordingly if necessary.

This is the first time we have had this issue bought to our attention and something that we have since clarified with our front of house team. We are also concerned in regards to your comment that your grandchildren did not enjoy their drinks. In order to ensure the quality of the product that we serve we have since tasted samples of our flavoured milk products and have found them to be of a standard we are happy to continue to serve. This is not to say we are not disappointed to hear that one of your grandkids did not choose to finish theirs.

As we said earlier, we are always grateful to hear all feedback and are dedicated to putting any needed improvements in to action. You are a valued customer to us and your consistent support is much appreciated, we hope that next time you feel comfortable voicing any concerns so that we can ensure that you continue to love your visits to Goanna!

Kindest regards,

The Goanna Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goanna Cafe and Gallery also viewed

Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Cape Naturaliste, Dunsborough
 

Been to Goanna Cafe and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing