We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to enjoy the Wine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martinborough Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martinborough Mews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy the Wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed 3 nights and had a relaxing time
Location good and apartment very compfortable and well appointed.
Facilties provided excellent (but wish current modern apartments would get away from installing Spa Baths in lieu of a decent walk in shower.)
No internet - (Advised this had been stopped due to wireless account being ripped off by occupants down loading movies etc and no control on which unit did this - This is easilly solved like other places by installing subscription to an online service which the user is given password access to and charged back to Unit account for adding to Credit card total. They should try "Vistagate")
Also No Sky TV only Freeview which is very limited.
No room service with our package but that was fine with us
However with these exceptions very comfortable stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: All Apartments are separate with adjacent parking at the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offagain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BordeauxOnCologne, Owner at Martinborough Mews, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
You will be pleased to know we now offer Wireless Internet :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My Boyfriend and I planned a last minute trip to Martinborough recently, and rang Bordeaux on Cologne directly to see if they had any availability. We were greeted with a very happy & helpful Shannon, who was so lovely to deal with, and more than willing to help us getting our night away sorted.
The booking was done in a matter of minutes, and we were off to the house the next day.

Upon arriving we realised the photos did it aboslutely no justice, it was beautiful!!
A gorgeous 3 bedroom house, with a sleepout in the back! The Master Bedroom was lovely, and what an amazing bed! The place came stocked with all the little extra's... breakfast included, and a kitchen to work away in with EVERY pot, pan and cooking utensil you could need! Additionally it was free access to the great number of bikes available in the back shed to borrow, which allowed us to leasurely ride around the vineyards all day.

Upon arriving home, we noticed the fireplace with all fireword stacked next to it ready for our use, and a couple of boardgames available to sit infront of the fire & play on the cold winters day.
To top it off, the place came with a gorgeous 8 seater spa pool on the back patio, what a way to top of a day cycling in the Vineyards than to have a relaxing wine that had been purchased in our own private Spa on the patio!

I would highly recommend this place to stay, and couldn't fault a thing about it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessy_D04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Close to everything wonderfully set up, a perfect place to stay in Martinborough. Neighbours are close but you would never know as it feels private and the deck with table and chairs is great for an early morning coffee!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kombimorrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

I've got to be honest and say that my first impressions here weren't good. The self-contained suites are in 5 what looked to me like "Nissan Huts" on a hard stone setting a few streets back from the main drag in Martinborough There was a bit of confusion about our arrival but that was all resolved quite quickly and the folks that looked after us were very helpful.

Once you get over the appearance, you realise that each unit offers a large lounge/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom and it was well presented with a great TV system. There was a nice deck with a BBQ ready to go too and you park right alongside your unit.

The address is just a few minutes walk into town with a number of restaurants and the whole area is peppered with wineries. We hired bikes downtown and spent a great day cruising from one to another. We also had an amazing gourmet mean at a local winery that night - they even collected us and dropped us back.

We weren't bothered by noise from the other units although there was a house full of very noisy young ladies just over the wall - hen party, I think.

For me, the real improvement would be wi-fi and air conditioning - it got pretty hot - but apart from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

Stayed in apartment five for two nights in November 2010. Lovely presentation, but quite expensive compared to other accommodation available locally. The apartments are located in a residential street and we had issues with significant noise from neighbours who were having a party. The noise started about 4pm on Saturday afternoon and got increasingly noisy with loud music until at around 9.30pm we called the local Council noise control team. They made three visits over three hours and were unable to get the neighbours to turn down the stereo. The music was still being played very loud at 3am in the morning making it difficult to sleep. The noise control team commented that noise from the neighbouring property is a 'frequent' occurance at weekends, so be aware of this and if you value getting to sleep at night, suggest you look elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

Almost like being at home. Very modern and stylish and with all the amenities plus more than you would expect from a self contained apartment. The bbq on the deck in the evening was a great way to unwind from an afternoon visiting the local vineyards and the excellent bars and restaurants in the village centre are a short 5 minute stroll away. Peaceful and restful - we absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Stayed here for my birthday and thought it was great! Really nice house with good furnishings and a great spa pool outside - some of my friends were too cold to go outside tho.

Nice big TV and sound system, good kitchen and nice little touches everywhere. Well thought out.

Would stay again for sure - good to share with friends and I liked the cats.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelina90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Martinborough hotels
0.3 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.7 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.3 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.8 km away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinborough Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinborough Mews

Property: Martinborough Mews
Address: 24 Cologne Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Bordeaux on Cologne)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Martinborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Martinborough Mews 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinborough Mews (formally Bordeaux on Cologne) is comprised of five self-contained one bedroom Cottages. We are nestled in between the Martinborough Square and Puruatanga Rd, also known as 'wine road'. This ideal location allows visitors to walk or cycle to most Martinborough destinations easily.The Cottages have been purpose-built in a residential area, making the location ideal. The exterior has been kept low key, but once inside you will appreciate the modern, functional design with attention to detail, and most importantly a high standard of cleanliness. It's all of the little extras and attention to detail that will ensure your stay at Martinborough Mews is like being at home, away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Martinborough Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing