We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real wow factor, great city getaway or event venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed recently just 2 night in a lakeview and had a beautiful dinner on site. The only downside was it was a little quiet but that's impossible to predict and weather dependent. We also held our wedding here for 90 guests and I can't recommend them highly enough as an event venue. The food, wine, service and overall support were absolutely superb. Most guests stayed on site and it was the perfect choice for a luxury country wedding - including a fantastic breakfast. So overall I'd recommend Parehua for a weekend, or an event - the chef and front office team are great to work with and went above and beyond to ensure we were happy.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bedheadwlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Kia Ora

Sincere thanks for your warm review of our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here, particularly the food, wine and service experience which i'm glad was to your liking.

Thank you for recommending Peppers Parehua for a weekend or an event, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

We had a lovelyunit (part of a duplex): bedroom with fireplace, sitting area, kitchen, dining table, high ceilings, whirlpool tub, and deck with table and chairs (privacy screen from the neighbors). It was beautifully decorated and had everything you needed, and then some! It looked onto the "lake" (really a pleasant pond) and a very bucolic, restful scene. It was very quiet and relaxing, and clearly caters to those who want to kick back, relax, and hit the wineries.

We ate at the restaurant (3-course dinner), and the food was very good (excellent crab cakes and lamb). The place was basically empty when we were there (early), and our waitress was rather amateurish, but really very charming. When we asked for the bill, they wanted us just to pay in the morning on checkout. This wasn't possible for us as we had to leave early, and were taken aback when we noticed that the room charge had been added to our dinner bill even though we had paid the room in advance through a travel agent. This got straightened out with the manager and probably wouldn't have normally happened since the payment from the travel agent would usually clear by the time you checked out. We were too early for the breakfast

The manager also helped us out in a big way when we returned from dinner to find we had a flat tire. When we called the desk, he was at our room in a flash, and dug right in to fixing the flat. He didn't let my husband do the "dirty work" and got the job done in very short order. That was nice since it was our 25th Anniversary and messing with a flat had not been in our game plan!

We saw one review that mentions the rebranding to Peppers -- our bill did reflect this name change, but it was a great experience (we had nothing to compare it to previously), and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divegirlelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.
We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable 25th Anniversary. We are also thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food and that we were able to assist you with your flat tyre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

After being here a few hours, it felt like we'd been on holiday for days!
We also had the degustation meal, which was lovely...the food was perfect, and although I'm not adventurous when it comes to food, it was a great thing to do - at least once! It was nice to know all food / wine is locally sourced. Breakfast was also amazing.
Also arranged for a massage, which was done in the room.
Highlight was the oak barrel spa bath on the deck....bathroom was lovely also!
All this was in the midst of Toast Martinborough (yes a little slow at writing this review I know)
I'm writing this now as I am looking to make another booking.
I do know that it was recently sold, I think about in November 2011 - and I think it may rebrand to a Peppers - so I hope it doesn't lose what it has that makes is special.
The only comment I'd make is that the TV's are small (we took a DVD to watch) and there was no ipod dock (that I could get to work) but given the place, this is only a minor thing....and you probably should not be watching TV!

Room Tip: We had the secluded cottage, and I'd book this again (although, have not seen the other rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Kia Ora,

Sincere thanks for your warm review of our property and the secluded cottage which has its own cedar hot tub.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here and espicially enjoyed the degustation dinner and your breakfast.

We look forward to hosting you here at Peppers Parehua again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had stayed at Parehua 2 years and had a very enjoyable stay and enjoyed the great cooking of Kent Baddeley so we decided to visit again. Kent personally handled our reservation this time. I thought it was strange to be asked to book our meals two weeks before our visit but did not worry too much about it at the time.
When we arrived in early December 2011 Kent was no longer at Parehua. The two evening meals we ate there were awful. The restaurant was closed the other two evenings we stayed there.
The room we had was very good and we could not fault this.
In conclusion a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Im sorry to hear you felt your stay at Parehua was disappointing. You will be pleased to know we have introduced an a la carte menu and we are now open every night for dinner.

Your experience you had with us is not up to our usual standard and I apologise once again for the disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My family and I stayed here for the second time this year (we have been guests 2-3 times per year for the past 3 years). The hotel is now under new management and while the management were very professional and courteous, it is obvious there have been some changes that make me feel the 5 star rating is slipping. On arrival we checked in to our usual 2 bedroom villa. The first thing I noticed was the disappearance of the premium liqueurs and wines. The mini bar was not fully stocked, the tv was not working, there were only 2 bathroom towels for the main bathroom, there was a down light not working in the main bedroom. These were all minor issues however this should not happen with a 5 star establishment.

In the morning we arrived in the restaurant for breakfast. I have to say on previous visits the breakfast was simply superb. There was usually individual fruit bowls (not tinned as was the case this time) displayed along with a variety of juices and pastries. This time we found bowls of cereal and fruit sitting on the counter and nothing else. The menu was presented to us on a laminated sheet which was extremely tacky and the menu was nothing more than you would expect from a 3-4 star hotel. Previously choices varied by the day and you weren't told when ordering a flat white that you would be charged an additional price for that. Previously the daily menu contained some wonderful breakfast options that you wouldn't find in too many other places and a daily special eg (whitebait fritters). I did ask the question if our daily tarrif would be adjusted for the price of the coffee, however at the end of the stay we were advised we would not be charged for the coffee - thank you.

Overall we will return because my parents love the place so much however I do so hope that the standard doesn't continue to decline and the little things that make so much difference are returned.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erena_fenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Kia Ora

Thank you for your review on Peppers Parehua. You will be pleased to know that we have reintroduced the mini bar and wines into the cottages. Our breakfast fruit is fresh fruit and prepared every morning along with a variety of juices and pastries.

We do hope you will be able to return again soon with your parents and will notice that we have made some minor adjustments to make ones stay that much more special. We look forward to welcolming you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

After paying $850.00 for a 2 night package for my birthday my partner and I were looking forward to staying at Parehua.

Low lights:

Terrible Service by both front desk and breakfast staff
Food - extremely average if it was a cafe i would not return
No newspapers - never in this price bracket at a 5 star have i no had paper, even in most motels i have had a paper
EXPENSIVE EVERYTHING - hire a bike for half a day $40 drink one of the mini vodkas (size of a shot) $15.00 , can of red bull $8.00 no jokes ! disgraceful
Bed - very hard and is a king that is 2 singles put together and had an uncomfortable lump in the middle

I would not return here the only good thing is the lovely wineries and the fantastic service at Tirohana Estate

I have never complained about accommodation before.. check out my other reviews but this was just one big disapointment and i would rather stay at Brackenridge

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shrinkingherlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported in both our restaurant and front office, additional training has been implemented accordingly.

This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise once again for the disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

What a fabulous property to spend time in in the lovely Martinborough. Huge rooms with a excellent sense of privacy. I stayed with my family in the 2 bedroom villa which was extremely well appointed. Luxury without making you feel awkward and it does not cost nearly as much as it looks. Breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, General Manager at Peppers Parehua Martinborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Kia Ora,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards, Simon Tocker, General Manager, Peppers Parehua Martinborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
1.1 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
232 reviews
0.9 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
14.2 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
1.1 km away
Pinot Villas
Pinot Villas
#3 of 8 in Martinborough
163 reviews
3.0 km away
Brackenridge Country Retreat
Brackenridge Country Retreat
#4 of 8 in Martinborough
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Parehua Martinborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Parehua Martinborough

Address: 52 New York Street, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly Parehua Country Estate)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Martinborough
Price Range: $147 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Parehua Martinborough 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Parehua Martinborough you have the choice of designer accommodation including Winemakers Cottages, Secluded Cottages, Woodland Villas, plus Garden and Lakeside Cottages. All Peppers Parehua Martinborough accommodation is contemporarily designed and features full self-catering facilities, gas fireplaces, spa baths and in-room selections of gourmet treats and regional wines. Peppers Parehua Martinborough is an easy 10 minute walk from the Martinborough Wine Village and is the perfect retreat for unwinding and relaxing. If something more energetic is on the cards, guests can enjoy the all-weather tennis court and swimming pool. In the evening the Pavilion's bar is the place to be for pre-dinner drinks, followed by dinner in the restaurant. Our dinner menu showcases the finest local produce, with the picturesque trees and lawns of Peppers Parehua Martinborough providing a fitting backdrop. All children younger than 2 years can stay free of charge when using existing beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Parehua Martinborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parehua Country Estate Hotel Martinborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing