We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful house in a wonderful garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Summer House

The Summer House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Summer House
Ranked #19 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful house in a wonderful garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

Kerikeri N.Z. The Summerhouse B and B. We stayed for two nights in Feb 2009 at this delightful location with its charming hosts and very comfortable rooms .The garden was quite magnificent and the rooms of a very high quality. Breakfast each day was a treat . We enjoyed our stay very much. Peter and Beryl Steppingley U.K.

Helpful?
Thank peterchilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed for two nights and found the Summer House really relaxing. Our suite was very clean and well appointed; the gardens are beautiful. Rod and Christine were perfect hosts and couldn't do enough for us. We would have no hesitation in going back there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

Rod and Christina were the ultimate B&B hosts. The Summer House was beautifully appointed and tidy. The garden was extensive and we appreciated the fresh fruit from the orchards on the breakfast table. The weather wasn't great (rain but not cold) but the recommended hikes and sight seeing were spot-on. The wireless internet access was easy to use. Rod was very knowledgable about the history and culture of the Bay of Islands and we enjoyed the reference books during our "inside" time. We felt very welcome and will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank US_expats_in_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks england
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

We were delighted to find our last stay was in Keri Keri. Our previous host told us that we had kept the best till last. Well the scenery was fantastic. However, all four of us were disappointed with The Summer House. Whilst the downstairs suite is delightful with its own terrace. If your unlucky to have am upstairs room, then you will have to share a television and tea and coffe making facilities on the landing with the other guests. The breakfasts are listed as gourmet - well a panini or scambled eggs on toast with tomatoes is not a gourmet breakfast, also the way the portions were served seem to be rationed. Nothing was replenished in the smallest of shower rooms. Lastly although I cannot fault the hosts, the experience was meant to be memorable, the made attitude towards us felt like we were an intrusion into their home. I suggest the owners of The Summer House who have been doing this for some years may have past their sell by date and may consider a change of carreer.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hirondelle09, Owner at The Summer House, responded to this review, 24 April 2009
Since every other TripAdvisor review has given us 5 in all categories and also the numerous Qualmark visitor feedback forms have always rated us 5, we doubt that our facilities and breakfasts could really have deteriorated to the extent claimed. We think that these particular guests, alone of the approximately 6000 we have welcomed into our home, may be better suited to other types of accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

We stayed in many nice places during our three weeks in New Zealand but the Summer House stands out as our favorite. Our friends stayed in the downstairs suite while we were upstairs in a large bedroom with private bath. Our mattress was excellent and the bathroom and shower were outstanding. The house was immaculate and beautifully decorated with a south seas theme. The house sits on a two and one half acre former citrus orchard which Rod and Christine Brown have landscaped beautifully. Rod and Christine were incredibly helpful during our stay. Christine's breakfasts are to die for and Rod was an endless fountain of information regarding Bay of Islands attractions, history and ecology. They recommended restaurants, booked tours for us, and gave us great advice on attractions to see on our return trip to Auckland via the west coast. We could not have had better hosts or improved on the Summer House.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishdoc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

Audley Travel had booked us into The Summer House in Kerikeri and it was our first NZ experience. We flew into Kerikeri from Auckland, having arrived at Auckland via Sydney and Hong Kong after a week in Xian, so we were exhausted! It was a joy to arrive at The Summer House where we had been booked into the Pavilion. This is a large room with a modern, well fitted out bathroom and it is exceptionally comfortable accommodation. There are french windows out onto a deck with steps down to the garden. Being keen gardeners ourselves, this was a real treat for us and Rod was happy to spend time taking us round and showing us all the plants and explaining the background to the garden which was part of a citrus orchard. They still have their own citrus trees and their fruit is used to make juice for the wonderful breakfasts Christine produces every day. There is a daily change of breakfast menu and all of it was wonderful - in fact, it was really hard to choose because there is such a range of home made goodies as well as a very generous and tasty cooked breakfast and masses of fresh fruit.
The room was extremely comfortable and our hosts were generous with their time and their advice as to places to have dinner or to visit. We had a very good meal at the quirky and charming Cafe Cinema and at The Keri Landing in the Stone Store basin where, on a warm day, it's lovely to sit looking at the water.

  • Liked — Location, garden, food, friendly welcome
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJHDevonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

The Summer House was the best place we stayed on a three week trip to New Zealand. We spent 2 nights. The inkeepers (Rod and Christine) are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Their garden is amazing. Our room was spacious and overlooked the back garden. Christine's breakfasts are excellent. We would certainly return if we are ever in the Kerikeri area again.

  • Liked — Garden
  • Disliked — No issues
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
0.9 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.1 km away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
1.3 km away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 26 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.6 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
0.8 km away
Kerikeri Park Motel
Kerikeri Park Motel
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer House

Property: The Summer House
Address: 424 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Summer House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic hectare of sub-tropical gardens and citrus orchard, The Summer House offers boutique bed and breakfast accommodation in a tranquil setting yet only 1.5 km from Kerikeri Village. Rod and Christine have a wide knowledge of the history and geography of Kerikeri and the Bay of Islands and can help with your itinerary, book trips and recommend restaurants. Christine serves delicious breakfasts specialising in the fresh produce of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Summer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing