We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial House Motel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My friend and I were attending a wedding in Kerikeri and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Colonial. While Kerikeri is beautiful and the wedding was great, our stay was made even better by Alan and Andrea at the Colonial who simply couldn't do enough for us. They made us feel so welcome and were extremely helpful with booking excursions, recommending restaurants and directions etc.
The motel itself benefits from a superb location - 5 mins to the Stonehouse and some great hikes/walks (especially to Rainbow Falls), lovely cafe's nearby and then only 5/10 mins walk into town - what more could you ask for?!
Hot tub is lovely and relaxing and the pool is great too.

Thanks Alan and Andrea from the 2 Irish girls!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannemulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

We chose this motel as it was central to all the things we had planned, also because it offered a 2 bedroom cabin. The hosts were very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we new all the wonderful attractions in the Kerikeri area. This is one of the few motels that we would like to return to in the future. Thyank you for creating a lovely setting and making our stay special Andrea and Alan

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

After a busy December and early January we decided to head up to the North for a quick get away before the back to school rush started and aren't we glad we did... Colonial House Motel made our holiday a holiday... The comfort of this motel was beyond any motel we had ever stayed in and our lovely hosts Alan and Andrea went all out to allow us to be able to stay on an extra night... What a lovely relaxing holiday we had!! Thanks guys we will definitely be back...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you Ruth & Victor, very much appreciated - we cannot wait for your next visit and we wish you a great year ahead!

Take care, Alan & Andrea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We picked this motel as it close to where a family wedding was to be held.We all thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay.We were greeted with wine and homebaking which we very rarely have experienced anywhere else except overseas on a tropical island..This made us feel special.Thank you Andrea and Alan for making our stay such a pleasent and carefree break from the real world.The whole atmosphere of the complex was fantastic.We all highly recommend to other travellers to stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adele1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you Adele, we really do appreciate your comments.

We get to meet such lovely people - thank you so much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A family wedding is what brought us to stay for four nights at the Colonial House Motel. Upon arrival, we were greeted by our lovely hosts Andrea and Alan and found that they really made our stay exceptional being a party of 16 over the four nights we stayed. We loved the surroundings, the decks where we could sit to have a quiet drink and catch up or a gathering at one of the rooms for a barbee dinner. The young ones age 18 - 21 year olds appreciated the pool and spa due to the hot weather and cool evenings. Our rooms were very clean, and service every day and the beds were oh so comfortable. On a daily basis we were treated with homemade baked cookies, something which I really appreciated (especially the shortbeard). Therefore i have and will continue to let friends and family know that this is the place to stay while in Kerikeri. Thank you so much Andrea and Alan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you so much Steve and Karen!
You were really wonderful guests and we loved having you stay with us.
Maybe you would like to visit the beautiful Bay of Islands again and come and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

As a Sales Rep covering the North Island I see a Motel room or two with my job. Colonial House Motel is where I prefer to stay whenever I'm in Northland as the surroundings are simply idyllic. Sit on your own porch at sunset watching Fantails & Tui's swooping amongst the mix of native & tropical plants. The new pillows are IMHO amongst the best you'll find anywhere!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jangus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you Jangus_12 for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed for three nights and were a little dissapointed at the standard for what we paid per night. The room was adequate enough, with the beds being clean and comfortable but the shower stall and kitchen could have been a little cleaner. Sky TV was fine as long as you were prepared to pay for some channels. Overall just pretty average.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1811027Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial06, Owner at Colonial House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Hi 1811027Gary, thank you so much for your comments, they were most helpful and constructive.
No, we are not your average motel – we are not the normal concrete block, tarmac and utilitarian furniture motel. We have wooden cabins set in lush subtropical gardens, extremely quiet and relaxing (you awake to birdsong), gravel driveways and not one piece of “conference / office” furniture to be seen!
We strive for cleanliness everywhere; we will endeavour and make every effort to do better.
Again we are not your average motel – we have a SKY decoder in each unit which offers our guests 50+ Channels of TV (including 6 Sports Channels, Disney, Discovery, History, National Geographic, Animal Planet, Heartland, Cartoon Network, UKTV, plus at least 36 other channels (the exact number varies by month)). Our guests cannot purchase any channels. We pay a premium amount each month for this SKY Guest Select package plus the SKY Sport package for each unit. How many other motels offer their guests this level of comfort, tranquility and facilities at 3 Star Plus prices? Not average!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
0.5 km away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
15.9 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.8 km away
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
491 reviews
1.2 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
1 km away
Kerikeri Court Motel
Kerikeri Court Motel
#8 of 16 in Kerikeri
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Motel

Address: 178 Kerikeri Road | Cnr Peacock Garden Drive, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Kerikeri
Price Range: $120 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free unlimited WiFi. Netflix and 50+Digital channels. Super new quiet cottages & cabins with comfortable beds and own sundecks in subtropical gardens. Saltwater pool and lovely hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonial House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing