We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Srummiest Italian Ever !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Italians - CLOSED

The Italians
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Italian owned and operated, the chef is from the Emilia Romagna region, where the Parmesan cheese, balsamic vinegar, Parma (prosciutto) ham and fresh pasta was invented. Specialized in North Italian cuisine with seafood, steaks, pasta, chicken, pork and vegetarian dishes. Everything is cooked fresh from scratch a' la' carte. Pizza available too. Fully licenced and BYOW. Gluten and dairy free options available
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Srummiest Italian Ever !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Italians is just delicious, great atmoshpere, very reasonably priced and great hosts. Thanks for a great night

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FairyKnox08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    90
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

A great little Italian restaurant. Loads of friendly, enthusiastic Italian energy and enthusiasm. Fabulous pasta. Helpful wait staff will assist you with your menu choices. You may have to book as it's only a small restaurant, and locals frequent this place and often book birthdays etc.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Perpetual_Student_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, shame about the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have been here a couple of times before and the food is always fantastic, SO tasty but sadly the service lets it down. It wasn't a very busy night but we hardly saw our server. After she cleared our plates from the main course we didn't see her again and had to track her down when we wanted to pay, no offer of desserts or coffee (which we would have had) so lost sales there. That said, I will return because the food is always amazing. Pleeeese improve your service and you will be unbeatable.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC MEAL. I WOULD RETURN AND HIGHLY RECOMMEND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Please do not be put off my the slightly unkept frontage to this restaurant as it disguises a real treasurer. We got a warm friendly welcome, the service was excellent as was the delicious food. The menu was very varied and extensive and fairly priced. I cannot praise it highly enough.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinWanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meals we ate in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Although we had a little trouble finding the place and parking across the street, the little inconveniences were overcome by the food, service and watching the chef Cesar do his magic in the kitchen. The whir of the pasta machine only meant another serving of fresh homemade pasta was headed to final destiny. Throughout NZ we tried the green lipped mussels everywhere and everywhere had their own spin on the meal. By far the best we had was at the Italians. Garlic and fresh red sauce made it the most home cooked we tasted.
Try the specialty breads with your meal and also the mussels to sop up the remaining sauce. After we finished that we wondered why we ordered dinner as we were pretty full at that point. But the Saltimboca, the Caccciatore, and the fresh fish was ordered anyway. That is over a two day meal as after the first night we immediately reserved for the following night. The one thing we regret is not having the seafood pizza complete with the green lipped mussels onboard.
Don't let the appearance of the place from the street stop you from entering as you would regret not sampling this fine food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TBB726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Italians also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing