We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hosts, lovely B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab hosts, lovely B&B!”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Beautiful B&B, with great hosts who made us very welcome and provided us with loads of useful tips for things to see and do!! Room was lovely and well appointed, and the breakfast was superb. Wish we could have stayed longer....next time we will!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsFunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
141
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Couldn't agree more with everyone else's reviews - 88 Lodge has everything you could possibly want: peace, quiet, beautiful gardens, lovely pool, great rooms with excellent facilities, wonderful breakfasts - and superb hosts! Right from our first email contact, Geoff was incredibly helpful with suggestions of how to fit in all we wanted to do in the stupidly short amount of time we were there (we managed it!) - and he made all the bookings for us too.

We ate out the first night, at a very good Italian (again booked by Geoff), but on the other evenings, decided we'd just have cheese & biscuits on the terrace with a bottle of wine (we'd been out all day and had good lunches) - and Chris came along with some lovely home-grown tomatoes for us - the next day we got home-made chocs!

This was a lovely introduction to NZ and we'd love to go back for much longer, so we can explore the area at a more leisurely pace. Chris and Geoff, you have been warned!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Recommended. Quality B&B, great hosts, very clean and comfortable, fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

First of all, I must thank Chris & Geoff for our wonderful stay. I know this is an overdue review as this is our second stay at the 88 Lodge. It only seems right to share my experience with everyone so that you can disocver and experience the beautiful home of Chris & Geoff.
I will try to describe 88 Lodge as best as I can. But one has to be here to witness and experience the beauty as words cannot describe them all.
It is a beautful bed and breakfast located inside a beautiful well kept garden. Chris plants and look after the garden himself. There are plenty of tress and flowers and also Chris plants his own fruits and vegetables and they are 100% organic. In the early morning, you can smell the fresh clean air and sweet flowers. The only noise you will hear is the sound of the birds. For me this is pure JOY !!! Total peace and quite. Away from the busy city life. Believe me if you want to get away from the cars and noise of city life, this is the best place.
All rooms are beautifully decorated european style and each have their own ensuite bathroom. Coffee and tea making facility is also available in the room. In fact everything you find at a 5 star hotel you will also find at 88 Lodge. There is also a swimming pool for those who wants to laze by the pool.
Breakfast is the best. Everything is homemade and you can choose from continental breakfast to cook breakfast.
For those visiting Kerikeri for the first time, Geoff can organise and plan you entire vacation. Geoff will recommend places to visit. He wil also provide you well drawn maps so you will never be lost. Geoff will also recommend restaurants and is always available to assist you with anything you need.
The best things about staying at 88 Lodge is, you feel like you are right at home. Even though we are sharing their home, I never felt like I was intruding as Chris & Geoff are both wonderful host. I request a small surprise for my sister-in-law as they were celebrating their 25th wedding annivesary, Chris actually bake a beautiful chocolate cake so that we can celebrate together.
My husband and I live in Italy and we visit New Zealand annually. We love New Zealand and we will certainly 88 Lodge again and again. Thank you so much for making our stay beautiful

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyAmico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. We were in the area to play golf at Kauri Cliffs.

We stayed in the Majestic suite which is huge. The bathroom was what you might expect to find at a new ultra hp hotel. Everything was new with top-of-the-line fixtures.

Geoff and Chris are welcoming hosts and I wish we had planned a longer stay.

Chris does the cooking and cares for the garden. I'm not sure what Geoff does. Just kidding, Geoff is their for entertainment.

Not bad for a couple of "Moonrakers".

I definitely give it a thumbs up!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_ridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montebello, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Just returned from a golf vacation throughout New Zealand, where it is mandatory to play Kauri Cliffs. However, staying there is not feasible since it is about $1200 per nite. We looked for an alternative and found the 88 Lodge. After a couple of emails with Geoff, I booked the three room lodge for my golfing buddies and I. Wow, what a great experience. The 88 Lodge is very clean and quiet. We had a terrific and relaxing time. What a great introduction to NZ! Geoff and Chris were terrific hosts. They serve an outstanding breakfast and provided us with dinner options in Kerikeri. While playing Kauri Cliffs is a must for any golfer, staying there is not. Save yourself some major bucks and opt for the 88 Lodge. Thanks Geoff and Chris for a wonder stay and oustanding hospitality. We will be back!!!

Chris, John and Tom -- golf visitors from the US

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJSRJS1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Geoff and Chris could not have made our 3 day stay any better with their attention to detail and helpful information.
The accomodation is perfect and could not be bettered.
The food met our requirements and was always fresh and served beautifully to our own individual tastes.
All in all I cannot think of a better place to stay if you want peace and tranquility and yet be within easy reach of the tourist spots.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeclooney38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
5.0 km away
Colonial House Motel
Colonial House Motel
#5 of 16 in Kerikeri
130 reviews
5.7 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
453 reviews
19.0 km away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Swallows Ridge
Swallows Ridge
#2 of 26 in Kerikeri
259 reviews
4.6 km away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
198 reviews
13.3 km away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: 88 Koropewa Road, Kerikeri 0295, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from bustling Kerikeri 88 Lodge & its swimming pool are secluded within park-like subtropical gardens. With just 3 rooms (all en-suite), the lodge is warm, intimate and homely. Your room has a King sized bed and is fully equipped with everything you will need to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Breakfasts are a specialty of the house and made to your order from the freshest & most local produce. Free High Speed Internet & National telephone calls make keeping in touch so easy. 88 Lodge is perfectly located for the best of The Bay of Islands and all Northland. Geoff & Chris your hosts, pride themselves on ensuring you have the most memorable time in this wonderful part of New Zealand. Their hospitality is only matched by their local knowledge and free tour planning to ensure you make the very most of your time in this piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing