We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$50
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Sands Seafront Studios(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$111
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$91
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$65
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,201 results
Traveller rating
229
436
303
136
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
436
303
136
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstreaty groundsshuttle busbuffet dinnerpool areasea viewbeautiful locationbit datedtennis courtsthe ground floorbaypaihiadeckwaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,201 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We are not sure whether we have the right to review as we checked in and stayed in the hotel for one hour (we were booked for three nights by our trip organisers) before checking out and finding another hotel (luckily) as we were so disappointed. This was not done lightly as we had pre-paid for our stay. We are just ordinary folk - really not that fussy just looking for a comfortable room with some modern fixings! Firstly, on entering the room we realised there was no air-conditioning only a fan on the ceiling. The wooden room was as we would imagine a 1950's holiday camp chalet to be. Very basic. We realised there was an ant infestation (apparently Paihia has this problem) and had to run round trying to get rid of them to no avail as they just kept appearing out of every out or every crack around the kitchen area. The bathroom sink doubled as a kitchenette sink and was not actually in the bathroom. We tried to sit on the patio with a peek at the harbour view only to be greeted by extremely noisy and rude people sitting on their patio drinking and swearing very loudly. When we went to clear our baggage there were also a group of young men out there with a ghetto blaster!! We were incredibly disappointed as this was to be our 'magic' last three days in NZ after a months travel. This is a very worn out hotel though it does occupy what should be a beautiful site. The receptionist we booked out with was very polite. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UK2Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. I am sorry but I find it hard to believe that any of rooms including the one which you briefly stayed in can be compared to a post war holiday camp chalet in Great Britain. Due to the hotels location on a reserve in a sub-tropical environment along with this summer being a lot hotter than usual we have experienced a higher than usual number of ants and insects than usual. Each report of such events are passed onto our pest control contractors and are then acted upon. We as a hotel are always wanting to make a guests stay as pleasant as possible. Ways of doing this include dealing with any other guests who would be impacting other guests stays. We regrettably were unable to assist on this occasions due to fact that you chose this forum to alert us to this issue which may have also been effecting other guests. You also gave us no time to try and make up for the perceived short comings of your stay and instead left for an alternative accommodation provider with no explanation why and then felt that this forum was the best one to pass on your feedback to a larger audience. Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We stayed here in the superior sea view room for 2 nights. The rooms overlooked the pools and the bay. The stunning sunrise and pristine waters had a soothing effect on us. The staff very courteous and helpful. Here i need to mention Sagar at the reception, He helped with some good food suggestions and parasailing activities.

Room Tip: rooms starting with 700 series are pool side facing
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank radhadyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Sagar went out of his way to make you stay a special one. I hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

The best thing about the hotel is the swimming area for kids. Unfortunately they didn't design the pools with any understanding of children. Its all rocks and very climbable but they have notices everywhere saying no climbing.
The Wifi was non existent and when I enquired I was told there was 4 ADSL lines in and when it got busy it slowed the service down. We were unable to use wifi at all when we were there. The family room we had didn't have airconditioning. The room was uncomfortably hot and fans had to be put on the entire time.
Given the cost, the buffet food was ordinary. It looked good but wasn't really cooked well and was average..The hotel feels like its struggling a little and cutting corners somewhat
The Staff were always helpful and friendly though..When we were there they were setting up for a concert which we weren't warned about. The sound checks were particularly annoying while you were trying to relax by the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haunui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel pool was designed in the 90's prior to the strict onset of health and safety laws which protects not only our guests but the hotel also. The information provided by our staff is correct about the wifi connection. Regrettably we do not have fibre connection due to our location and when we have high demand on our wifi network speeds to reduce substantially. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. I am sorry to hear that the experiences you had with our Food & Beverage Department were not up to our normal high standards. I shall pass on those specific points mentioned in your review. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour. Our room overlooked the grounds and we had a stunning view of the bay. Our room on the second floor was good. All our meals were delicious. The hotel is set in a lovely location, but it is not close to town. So you either have a very long walk or take a shuttle to town.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We spent 2 nights here with our tour and were extremely disappointed. The hotel has obviously not been updated in decades. While the location is excellent and views are wonderful, everything else is sorely lacking. The rooms are very small and barely at the level of a Comfort Inn in the US. Paint was peeling from the bathroom door, the grout in the bathroom floor and tub had mildew, and there was only the mirror above the bathroom sink - no other mirrors in the room. We had ants crawling over the dresser in our room. While the private balcony was pleasant, it did not have any screens or a screen door, so we felt very uncomfortable opening the patio door overnight because we didn't know what creatures (including people) might enter while we were sleeping. There was no air conditioning in the room, only a ceiling fan. The restaurant was absolutely horrible - I have not had such poor quality food anywhere else in decades. They only offered a buffet on Friday night, and the selection, quality and temperature of the food was all sub-par. Additionally, the waitstaff was minimal and very inattentive, not removing used plates or cutlery during the meal, and not checking to see if we needed more drinks. I would not recommend this resort for anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the experiences you had with our Housekeeping Department were not up to our normal high standards. Due to the high humidity in the area we are located along with the low rate of bleach in our cleaning chemicals we are stugling with the look of our grout and silicone in our bathrooms. We are currently working on solution to this issue. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. I am sorry to hear that the experiences you had with our Food & Beverage Department were not up to our normal high standards. The hotel also offers an all day bar menu and a la carte menu in the evenings also. I shall pass on those specific points mentioned in your review. Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews