We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:45 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A wonderfully restored 1945 theater

This is a must go place. The restoration takes you back in time to when going to the theater was a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
davidmI9076ID
,
Prattville, Alabama
Fun

Don’t miss it! Comfy chairs around a table. Good wine and good food witty excellent movies. This... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Martin B
,
Vashon, Washington
Read all 203 reviews
  
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
128
64
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
64
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sound system nachos dinner and a movie first run movies big screen movie experience comfortable seating state of the art surround sound box office sandwich sound quality onion rings table service great place to see a movie movie theaters beef
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 203 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Would highly recommend spending an evening for dinner and movie at the Commodore Theater. The owner of this theater did a great job restoring it to its original design. We celebrated my birthday here and I’m glad we did. Felt like I was going back in time experiencing something my mom or dad would have experienced in their youth.

We came early in the day as recommended by other viewers to ensure ticket. Wouldn’t had to for this movie but I’m glad we did to ensure great seats and tickets.

We ate the barbecue nachos - they were just ok because the beef was somewhat greasy. However, desserts a must! We shared the granny’s apple pie and tiramisu - really good.

Staff was very friendly. Photos in lobby worth looking at to see history of restoration. Loved the area showing Mickey movie and what it would have looked like when originally opened.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Mylittlehobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

Comfy, tasty, inexpensive and a GREAT viewing experience. Parking can be problematic but we've been lucky finding spots on the street.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Rich015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

The commodore was great, but I wouldn’t suggest it for younger children. The food was good, and the popcorn was delicious. Great service.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

If you really want to do something different with a group of friends or on a date night, please go to the Commodore! This place is a throwback in time in such a classy way. The theater is beautiful and well maintained. This place, to me, puts the newer theater/dining establishments to shame. While not as fancy, you can still get decent food (not gourmet) at tables with small lamps and your chairs move! It’s a very cool set-up.
If you have kids, it is well worth taking them to a place like this to show them how classy things used to be.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Foodiein757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018

Fully restored historic landmark of 1920's art deco decor. Most pieces are original.
Order, dine and watch a movie on the real big screen 20' by 40' screen.
Vegetarian options on the menu. Adult beverages served as well as hot and cold desserts. Walls adorned with hand painted murals.
Chairs are soft and rotating.
Hints: Tickets are $10, but $9 if you pay in cash. Parking is easy around the corner by the church. Tesla car charger while you watch. Full THX Dolby sound.
Downside - tickets sold day of the show. Get there well before 6 p.m. Website has movies and times. Not the place for children under seven or nine.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews