We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:45 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A wonderfully restored 1945 theater

This is a must go place. The restoration takes you back in time to when going to the theater was a... read more

Reviewed November 20, 2018
davidmI9076ID
,
Prattville, Alabama
Fun

Don’t miss it! Comfy chairs around a table. Good wine and good food witty excellent movies. This... read more

Reviewed November 18, 2018
Martin B
,
Vashon, Washington
Read all 203 reviews
  
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
128
64
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
64
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sound system nachos first run movies dinner and a movie big screen comfortable seating state of the art surround sound box office sandwich sound quality onion rings table service movie theaters beef order food step back in time
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 203 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

I love this theater! The atmosphere is amazing. The food is well prepared, and it is just a comfortable place to relax and watch a movie.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank pamelaj643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

This is one of our regular haunts when we go out to catch a movie. It's an old theater that has been well cared for and offers tables and comfy chairs to enjoy a meal, snack, beer and wine while enjoying the movie. My wife and I really enjoy this place.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018

The commodore has a great screen, incredible sound, really comfortable seating, and decent food. Best place to watch movies in Hampton Roads.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Frederic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

From the ability to have dinner, to experiencing the Dolby sound system and the grandeur of a renovated theater of the past, the Commodore is a special place! Downtown Portsmouth is walkable and has nice shops and old homes and several museums. You could spend a day exploring. We enjoy first run films here and visit often.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank kf4daw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I go there often for dinner and a movie. I love the atmosphere. And being able to eat and talk with family and friends before the movie. Food is good and price okay. Well worth it.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank will382018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews