We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful (not scary) Hospitable (not a cult)!”
Review of Middle Grove Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purcellville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middle Grove Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Purcellville B&B and Inns
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful (not scary) Hospitable (not a cult)!”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Middle Grove Inn Bed and Breakfast is a restful experience. The Innkeepers were gracious and accommodating to us when we spent 5 days in the Matthew Studio. We were served lovely breakfasts, specially suited to our tastes. The bed was comfortable and the rooms very clean. The only disturbance were the creaky floors from above. The countryside to and from the Inn is beautiful, separate from annoying city traffic yet close to many historic places.
We particularly loved this couple's commitment to "married couples only". They were neither scary nor a cult. Those who think so should show courtesy for this couple's beliefs simply as they are asking of you. Their religion is evident, but neither "rigid" nor "extreme" nor shoved in your face. We were very comfortable in this environment and felt respected here.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and will visit again!

Room Tip: The Victoria Room is the Quietest The Marilyn Room the Prettiest The Susannah the Biggest The Mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We are a married couple and spent our recent anniversary weekend at this B&B for a getaway and a weekend of wine tasting. Though we are married and conforming to their "married couples only" policy, we still felt uncomfortable in this rigid environment of extreme religiosity. Also, we have small children and it is very hard for us to get away, thus we expect to be able to sleep in! on the rare occasion that we have a weekend away. Bob and Vicki are pretty strict about the breakfast schedule and when asked if we could come down at 10:00 we were made to feel that we were greatly inconveniencing them. The next morning they insisted that we be down to breakfast at 9:00. Breakfasts were fine, nothing special. The rooms were very nice and very clean but don't count on feeling relaxed at this B&B. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DCareacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Vickie, the innkeeper, is welcoming and graciously accommodated our dietary restrictions. The breakfasts were great.

The room was pleasant and very clean. Middle Grove Inn is out in the country, so we couldn't walk to anything, but the area is quiet, restful, and beautiful. The beds are great, so between the quiet and the beds, we slept very well.

The innkeepers must be experienced travelers because our room included a hair dryer, an iron, robes and flip flops to wear to their pool -- everything one would expect in a good hotel room except a TV. There are several common rooms, some with TVs in them, a library from which we could borrow books and a laptop, so we could easily get directions to various destinations, or check email.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Marilyn Room. It's the only one with a king size bed as well as a day bed. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My husband and I visited Vicki and Bob Moore's Middle Grove Inn for a 2 nite getaway for our second anniversary and a visit to some of the local wineries. The inn is lovely--very warm and inviting--only to be exceeded by the warmth and kindness of the host and hostess. A tour of the large home made evident to us the love and care that the Moore's have poured into the decor of each room. The location is lovely--I awoke to 3 deer frolicking on the expansive front lawn--as well as ideal for many types of activities especially if you enjoy winery-hopping, shopping and trying out some of the great local eateries. As for those who find the Moore's policies offensive, I say this: If you don't like it, stay elsewhere. Rather than making offensive, hurtful and untrue comments, simply click off the site and move on. For those of you considering a visit to Loudon County this charming inn is an excellent value that shouldn't be overlooked!

Room Tip: The Glorianna suite is just lovely...beautiful morning sun, comfy bed, quiet and very private....a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbmb3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

These people are scary. Almost a christian cult! Bibles everywhere, very hateful people. Be aware! Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Virginialover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purcellville
23.0 km away
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
Stone Manor Boutique Inn
#1 of 3 in Lovettsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.1 km away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.1 km away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
16.0 km away
Leesburg Colonial Inn
Leesburg Colonial Inn
#2 of 4 in Leesburg
2.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
17.0 km away
Days Inn Leesburg
Days Inn Leesburg
#7 of 7 in Leesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Grove Inn

Property: Middle Grove Inn
Address: 37175 Jeb Stuart Rd, Purcellville, VA 20132-5055
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Purcellville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Purcellville
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing