We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of Lee's Retreat”

Sailor's Creek Battlefield Historical State Park
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Rice
Attraction details
Reviewed June 17, 2018

We were directed here by an intern at Appomattox Courthouse NHS. It is a very nice state park with an outstanding museum and visitor center. Though the museum is small, it is comprehensive and well organized. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Surprisingly, there was no charge for either the park of the museum.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"field hospital"
in 6 reviews
"appomattox court house"
in 5 reviews
"confederate army"
in 4 reviews
"driving tour"
in 7 reviews
"major battle"
in 3 reviews
"both sides"
in 4 reviews
"civil war history"
in 5 reviews
"lee's retreat"
in 13 reviews
"visitor's center"
in 7 reviews
"union forces"
in 2 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"general lee"
in 2 reviews
"surrender"
in 8 reviews
"overton"
in 4 reviews
"petersburg"
in 9 reviews
"buffs"
in 5 reviews
"route"
in 4 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2018

I enjoyed traipsing through the house, visitor's center, and the graveyard. It stops you and makes you think about how people lived and died back in those days. Very interesting history.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Ncc17lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2018

Excellent easy walk through history. The battlefield tells the story of this important event in American history without commentary and judgment.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank jsn1312018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

One of the great rangers at Appomattox suggested we visit Sailor’s Creek since it was on our way to Richmond. We’re so glad we followed her suggestion and learned about this previously unknown to us piece of Civil War history. The museum helps untangle the sometimes confusing threads of what occurred here. Ranger Wilcox was friendly and super knowledgeable and gave us great tips for getting the most out of the driving tour.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank always_ambulatory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

If you are interested in Civil War history, this is a must see. A really wonderful little Civil War museum Much history in the area and the staff who work there make the history come alive. A big thanks to Staff member Jim for his insight and amazing knowledge of the Civil War history of the area. We had an ancestor who was in the Massachusetts 4th Calvary, and fought in the area (his picture is in the museum), and Jim knew the history of the unit in the area and helped us understand what my husband's gr grandfather must have endured during the war. We also got a wonderful tour of the Hillsman House... and a true feeling of what both sides of the war endured. Great visit!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mollysnene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sailor's Creek Battlefield Historical State Park also viewed

Been to Sailor's Creek Battlefield Historical State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing