We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Manning, SC
Level Contributor
270 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but some flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is a beautiful and majestic place. A wonderful place for a wedding, reception, conference or other event. However, from the hotel side of things, there were problems for me.

Pros - Nice rooms with nice furniture. Well functioning AC. Nice catering staff and valets.

Cons - Must pay for internet in your room (wifi or wired). Lack of cleanliness. Lack of courtesy at front desk. "free" internet in the lobby requires a password which means you have to stand in line again to get it. Parking is $7 for self-park or $12 for valet.

Let me explain the lack of cleanliness. When I went to take my shower this morning, I realized there was a damp, used washcloth hanging on the shower rod curtain. I was the only one in the room and I had not used it so it was either the prior resident or a maid. Either way, that is just gross. Since they do not have plastic wrapped plastic cups and use glass water glasses in the room, it made me really worried whether those glasses had been washed! As I was checking out, I told the lady at the front desk and she just said "oh, I will be sure to tell housekeeping." I was shocked, not an apology or an offer of free parking or darn near anything but just a statement she would let housekeeping know. I said "Ma'am, a used washcloth on the shower curtain is just nasty." She said that yes it was and she would put in a report right away. I walked off stunned at their lack of concern.

The night before, while travelling to Roanoke, I stayed in a room that was less than $50. It had free parking, free high speed internet, and an actual clean room. Here, I paid roughly 3 times that, had a parking fee, an internet fee and a room with someone's used washcloth hanging from my shower curtain rod. Where would you stay next time?

The rating is higher than it would have been since the valet people were very nice and so was the catering staff. The food at the banquet was not that good but the catering staff was working hard. Also, the sheer beauty of the facility counts for something but like the saying that beauty is only skin deep, beneath the beautiful exterior is not a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaxvilleBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Paxvilleboy, thank you for your review of the hotel and I apologize personally for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. It is completely unacceptable by our standards for the issue you encountered. We strive daily to present the absolute best in customer service and hospitality product and fell woefully short during your stay. I am sharing you review with our staff as this is not an acceptable experience for our guests.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    593
    160
    72
    29
See reviews for
479
759
79
775
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

A quick one night stay on the way to Charlotte. I used points -requested a gold upgrade to execute floor and was accommodated even though hotel was at capacity. The hotel is beautiful. The room was really comfortable and really well appointed. We had dinner in the pub and the service was excellent - it was old and beautiful. I had a great salad and husband had wings and chips. Breakfast in the executive lounge was perfect. Very fresh cut fruit and good fresh pastries. There were a few other options. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baltimorefamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Baltimorefamily4, thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad you chose us for your accommodations in Roanoke and do hope that if you are ever in our area again you will again choose to stay at our facility.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Love the hotel, room was clean, bed was super comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night recently when passing through town. Free airport shuttle! I got a single room on the 4th floor (460 maybe?...if any staff reads this) with a king bed. The hotel is really nice walking in the door! The have a really nice bar area and a very sweet bar tender. Had the breakfast buffet the next morning and it was great with plenty of options, eggs made to order with the chef standing by ( only about 6 diners). Price was a bit high, but I would pay it again due to the selection.

The room was very nice! Plenty of space for just me, big bed and actually an assortment of pillows to choose from. Everything was clean and well-kept. Really, the ONLY issue I had with the stay and the reason I rated it only 3 stars is due to the room temperature! I set the thermostat to 70 degrees about 4 hours before bed and the room stayed very comfortable. I went to sleep at about 10pm and awoke, sweating at about 1230am. When I checked the thermostat it registered 85 degrees! I then turned the thermostat down to 68 degrees and struggled back to sleep. When I awoke at 6 am, it was 62 degrees in the room! That's quite a temperature swing! Outside temps were probably 70 degrees for the high and down around 55 for the low. For some reason though that thermostat couldn't keep up and made for a poor night's rest. If I were going back to the area, I'd probably research to see if an other option existed. The price was fine for me (very good government rate) and everything else was close to exceptional, but good rest is most important and I didn't get it.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear jboomer, thank you for your review of the hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced due to the thermostat and thank you for giving the room number of your stay. We will look into this issue immediately. We do appreciate your patronage and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

It wasn't nice enough to justify the price. The furniture and curtains in my room were worn and not on par with other double tree properties I have stayed at. The water pressure fluctuated so did the temperature while taking a shower. Room cleanliness was average. I found a disgusting old golf glove tucked in the wardrobe. I left it for someone else to find. I could here the people in the room next door through the wall on the bathroom. This was first time I've stayed in a room in this price range and not had a refrigerator and microwave. Paying $7 a day to self park in their own lot is rediculous. The breakfast was great! Next time I'm in town ill try another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcardenrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear marcardenrichardson, thank you for your review of the hotel. We are disappointed to read your review and apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. We strive daily to provide the absolute best possible service and product to our guests and did not meet those expectations during your stay. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future as we are better than what you experienced.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our daughter lives in downtown Roanoke and we flew in for a visit, deciding to stay close by, choosing this historic spot. Was it going to be one of those "restored beauties past it's prime"?We were delighted to discover that it has retained the authenticity and flavor of its past while adding the best of today's amenities and technology, resulting in a truly exceptional property. The rooms are beautifully appointed, as well as all of the public spaces; everything is spotless, and the staff do a remarkable job of making you feel as though you are their only guest. I can't say enough about how hard they work. And they may be the most sincere and hospitable hotel group I've ever encountered. Thanks to you all!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLRoadMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear DLRoadMaster, thank you for your review of the hotel. We love reading reviews such as yours as they exemplify the level of service and standards we strive to present to our guests everyday. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you can get back to visit your daughter again soon! Downtown Roanoke has been making some amazing strides the past couple of years and there is so much to do and see.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We had stayed in a Doubletree the night before in Asheville but hasn't booked anything for Roanoke and this was recommended by someone in Starbucks. The room was excellent, very nicely decorated. We went into the downtown area for dinner which was easily accessed by a bridge. Every thing was really lovely. It is a huge hotel with conference facilities so I would imagine it could get very busy at times. My only gripe is (and this for other hotels too) is why isn't there free wifi in the rooms. There is in the lobby so at least you can access but even the cheaper motorway motels have free wifi so why not other more expensive hotels. Gripe over and I still think the hotel was great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear CD323, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope if you're in the area again, you'll choose us for your accommodations. We understand your issue and it is a topic that we are currently addressing, but in the meantime, WIFI access is available in the lobby and in public areas complimentary.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.1 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
5.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
9.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.7 km away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing