We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“affordable elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful two nights at this historic railway hotel. Casual atmosphere in truly elegant surroundings. Staff is friendly and attentive, service is great, and the historic market area is just over the walkway above the RR lines. If you are a RR buff like my husband, the trains and nearby railway museums are an added benefit. A reasonably modest room rate makes this an experience not to be missed by those of us who generally resort to the chain hotels.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howlingbluewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear howlingbluewolf, thank you for your review of the hotel. We are proud of our railroad heritage and invite you and your husband to check out our Roanoke rail cam that's on the bridge of the hotel that looks out over the Norfolk and Southern tracks. We also have great packages that celebrate the rails and the museum all within walking distance of the hotel. I hope you can make it back to the hotel soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,379
    561
    154
    70
    26
See reviews for
448
716
74
703
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown Roanoke. Everything was wonderful and the staff was great! They gave us a room with the perfect view of the Mill Mountain star and downtown. We did the bed and breakfast special and enjoyed the buffet in the dining room. It was a wonderful short trip to celebrate our Anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalemLovetotravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Happy Anniversary and thank you for your review of the hotel! I am delighted you were able to spend your anniversary with us and the Bed and Breakfast package is a perfect way to celebrate. We wish you many more years of happiness and hope you can spend additional anniversaries with us in the future.

Best wishes,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

I was here for a conference and found the hotel very nice. The staff was great and the conference facilities were good. It is an interesting hotel with a bit of history. I typically like newer facilities but for a multi-day conference this was a good place to stay.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank StoneCircleHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff is also superb and the location is awesome. It is located in historic downtown Roanoke and is walking distance to many restaurants, bars and shops and a bustling farmer's market on the weekends. The hotel itself is 125 years old but has been restored to its original magnificent splendor with all the modern conveniences you could ever want. I highly recommend this location for business, pleasure or family travel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txgirlinbigd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear txgirlinbigd, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review. We are thrilled to read reviews as yours as we strive daily to provide the absolute best service and product to our guests and it's wonderful when we succeed in our endeavors. I will share your review with our staff and hope if you have the opportunity to visit Roanoke again, you will choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

What can I say. Convenient from downtown as well as easy to get to from the airport. The decor is not something you usually find in a large conference center but it made the weekend even more relaxing. Our meeting were held in our corporate facility near by but we did have our opening dinner at the Hotel the evening we all arrived. The buffet meal far exceeded my expectations. Also breakfast is not your typical hotel buffet - hot food and they kept it coming!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor - room 155. I was very clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyplanner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear crazyplanenr44, thank you for your review of the hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay an had a chance to dine in the historic Regency Room. I do hope if you are ever in our region again that you will stay with us!

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We held our event last weekend and what a great location. Nothing but praises for the staff and facility!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttroxel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Ttroxel 70, thank you for your review of the hotel and for hosting your event with us. We were honored to be the host site and hope we can help you in any way possible in the near future.

Thanks again,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Hotel Roanoke is the best place to stay in Roanoke and beyond. The staff is wonderfully attentive and courteous--everyone, from the young, hip valet parking guys to the maintenance man, will greet you personally and with a smile. The food is specatucular and the downstairs bar is very fun! The hotel is conveniently located to downtown--and has a covered walkway to ensure that you can get there rain or shine. Each room is eloguently equipped and different, so every time you stay you'll have a unique experience. Would love to see WIFI included in the price of the room, but alas, the more you pay for the room, the less chance you have of getting free WIFI!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Melissa L, thank you for your review of the hotel and the kind words. We strive daily to provide the absolute best product and customer service and are thrilled when we see this communicated in reviews of our property. I hope when you're in the area again you will choose to stay with us. Thank you again for your patronage.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
2.1 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
6.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
5.1 km away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing