We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
North Augusta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel while traveling through the area on business/pleasure. Very nice and user friendly. Great access to places to eat and shopping if needed near by. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWayneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    285
    109
    35
    27
See reviews for
334
322
85
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Because a/c was NOT working we were force to check out at 2 am. Later we were charge $150 additional. They said we smoked in the room. Neither one of us smoke. I have called and they refuse to remove either charge.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexaaRoadrunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
For all of you reading this review thinking "Oh, that wasn't very nice of this hotel to charge the guest for smoking", let me explain what really happened:

I am very strict on our smoking policy. We do not permit anyone to smoke in the building, including the rooms. If a guest smokes in the room, we aren't able to rent that room the next day because of the work and time required to completely remove the smoke odor. Our guests simply do not want to smell smoke and we are adamant that anyone that does smoke will be charged a smoking fine.

Sometimes we detect a minor odor, sometimes we walk in to a room that has ashes, cigarette butts and such a strong odor that we have to shut the room down and completely deep clean it. That was the case with this particular guest. If I'm not sure they smoked, if maybe I'm only smelling an slight odor that came from the guests clothes, then I don't charge. But simply put, if it effects our ability to rent the room to another guest the next day, or even if a current guest near the smokers' room complains (sometimes resulting in a refund), then I'm going to charge! I personally inspect each room reported as having been smoked in and this particular guest absolutely either smoked...or allowed one of their guests to smoke.

When all of our guests register, we ask them to read and sign our smoking policy. This guest was fully made aware of our policy. Perhaps they didn't take it seriously, but we do. The good news is: If you stay with us, your room will not smell like smoke. We make sure of that!

I cannot comment on the broken air conditioner, because I didn't know anything about that. Nothing was reported during their stay and since reading this review, I've checked it and it is working fine. Slipping out in the middle of the night after heavily smoking in the room is a bit different than their story, but that is what really happened. Thanks for reading our side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stay here when I play with Roanoke Symphony, for days at a time. These folks bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable. It is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in (my job makes me travel a lot and I stay in lots of hotels.) The indoor pool is super relaxing and just the right size for short laps, and the breakfast is top notch as far as hotel breakfasts are concerned. The rooms are very spacious and decorated beautifully, and fully equipped with all the modern amenities to make you feel at home. The front desk staff were super friendly and the cleaning staff practically begged to clean my room every day, and always left it sparkling. The manager of this place must take great pride in their work, because the employees are so hospitable and seem to genuinely be concerned about the comfort and care of their customers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TurquoiseGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My gps had à hard time finding this ,
The hotel was laying near THE Mall of roanoke, and everything of services is therefor close. THE room was ok, and THE service too...ahorribel storm knocked out à lot of threes even on the parking lot,but THE personal secured THE situation quickly. Well done !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bergen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I am a resident of Roanoke; we stayed here during the recent wind storm which caused a week long power outage. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff is exceptional! Everyone was friendly and helpful - a special "shout out" to Julia in the breakfast room. She was so cordial and went out of her way to ensure everyone had what they needed. In a day of poor customer service, it was so refreshing to find a place where everyone was so great. I would recommend this hotel to any of my family or friends visiting the Roanoke area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenEyedLady518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Our first stay here was summer 2011. We were so pleased with the cleanilness of our pet room we returned this past June. A year has gone by and they still maintain a clean, odorless pet room! We are returning again in September. Can't say enough good things about the well maintained hotel - inside and out. Staff is very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blfd
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel has nice rooms, we had a suite with a wonderful recliner....that was the best piece of furniture.
The hotel breakfast is nice, too.
However, what makes this hotel some place I would visit again is the customer service! Hotel staff like Kristen who works the breakfast as well as the front desk manager were awesome!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dturtle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
5.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.1 km away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
6.3 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
4.8 km away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western and Travelocity.ca so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing