We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, nice staff, good value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, nice staff, good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Very nice staff, always leave a note saying welcome back. Decent food with 10 minutes, and 2 good choices right across the street. Clean and comfortable, stay here every time I come to Roanoke/Salem.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GvnDeb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    118
    40
    13
    4
See reviews for
150
100
31
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Only Hampton I have visited with a spiral staircase. Really sweet lady at breakfast bar and friendly front desk folks. If you have someone in Lewis Gale hospital this is a great place to stay. You can walk between buildings easily and can get food to prepare across the street at leotard.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank careyhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I was torn between giving this hotel an average or a very good overall rating because it really was a nice, clean, comfortable stay. The reason I can really only give it an average though, is that the room itself was dated. While the bathroom was very clean and SUPER spacious (it even had a jetted tub separate from the large walk-in shower), the countertops were plain laminate, instead of the nice granite tops and more upscale furnishings at most Hampton Inn locations. If they just did a quick face-lift of a few of the furnishings/paint/carpet, it would make a WORLD of difference because, otherwise, the place is really nice.

I appreciated that the room had a sitting area with a dining room table, microwave, and fridge. I was able to sit comfortably at the table and eat the Chinese food I had delivered from across the street (since it was raining and I didn't want to go out in the wet/cold) and worked on my computer. Free wi-fi is expected at Hampton Inn's and I was pleased to have no issue with the connection.

I had a perfectly fine stay, felt safe, and had a great night's sleep followed by a wonderful free breakfast of waffles, warm oatmeal and muffins, so no complaints here! I would just be overrating this hotel if I made it sound like it was luxurious in any way. It was just average but has potential to be really outstanding. But, in that area, it probably doesn't make sense to put so much of an investment into nicer accommodations because there is nothing else around that even comes close to the quality of this average Hampton Inn. I can appreciate that they probably put their funds more directly into paying their staff than spending a lot on more expensive granite countertops in the bathrooms and such. That said, it would take things to a whole new level if they did a few renovations.

All in all, you will have a perfectly good stay at this hotel, a great night's sleep, and have a hot shower in the morning. Add on the free breakfast, free wi-fi, and free parking, and you can't beat it and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a nice hotel in Salem. However, if you are able to stay about 20 minutes away, the Hotel Roanoke Conference Center is absolutely out of this world!!! I wrote a review and posted pics of it as well.

Attached are pictures from my room-- enjoy! I hope you found this review helpful!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiesdreamtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haw River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I've stayed here multiple times and this is my goto hotel in the Roanoke area. It is a little bit farther out in Salem but still easily accessible to downtown Roanoke. Beautiful lobby, good service and a nice, clean comfortable room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaCapsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Well a Hampton Inn is usually very consistent on room standards and quality across all of there properties throughout the US and this one is no different.
Upon checking in the evening Guest Service Associate was very cold and was just going through the very basics. My check in was extremely unwelcoming and cold. The Breakfast Hostess moved very slow which I didn't mind at all because she was so nice and enjoyable. A great attitude and a smile goes a long ways! The breakfast itself was substandard and was laid out very ackwardly and cannot be properly accessed when just a few people are at the breakfast bar let alone a crowd of several people. Regardless the property is clean and had good internet connectivity, but their breakfast was just not enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeLAKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed in two room suite on the 6th floor and I would describe the hotel as average at best. The room was clean but out dated, when I turned the heat on it had a "burnt" smell to it. My smoke detector agreed as it was set off by this scent... very strange. There are many annoyances to this hotel. My room was mistakenly given to another man with my same last name. An understandable mistake but this would set the tone for a litany of other nuances. The parking at the hotel can be problematic at times; you will need to drive around the back toward the hospital. This will give you access to the rear of the hotel which you can enter on the 4th floor. The continental breakfast was less to be desired; it consisted of a cheese omelet, the cheese being nacho cheese. Don't get me wrong... I nacho cheese is great, maybe not on my egg though. Even the elevator was a bit fickle; once you press the floor an additional press of the button to close the door is required.

It is not a terrible hotel and would likely go back just a few nuances to know about.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRJKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I checked in on 10/30 for a weeks stay, first room was in for 4 nights, room was great, nice, clean, no complaints, had to move for the 5th night due to someone booking the room for that night. Was moved next door, so was easy to open doors and move from one room to other. he 2nd room, was TIGHT, and whoever the Housekeeping person was DIDN"T CLEAN bathroom very well. Found black hair all over bathroom, from toilet, to shower, to the top of the haidryer and all over the bathroom. had the housekeeping supervisor come in to see, she was very sorry, tried cleaning the bathroom, but didn't get all the hair. Felt something more should have been done, Housekeeping supervisor said same thing but nothing was done. Over all experience was good, just will stay on another floor when I return....

Room Tip: Check bathroom well, make sure no hairs on toilet, hairdryer, door, floor etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissysBluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
7.1 km away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
7.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
6.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
6.3 km away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road

Property: Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing