We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

If you need a place for a 1 nighter by the airport this is the place - nothing to write home about - you get use to the noise of the planes as you're right by the airport - the room was okbut it was 58 degrees w/the AC blasting when we walked in. The bathroom door and closet door looked liked someone kept smacking into them w/a wheel chair - and rust all over the bathroom door trim. Got 2 bottles of water (from walgreens) and two packages of oreo cookies for being priority member. Only stayed as I got corporate rate and needed a place to stay on the way home from vacation. I would pick another place next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyLover56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to write this review. We are fortunate for being close to the Richmond International Airport, which makes it convenient for our guests who are flying out early. We apologize for any noise you might have heard from the airplanes above. Hope that you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    46
    28
    9
    15
See reviews for
34
23
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Holiday Inn express on September 9 and took advantage of the "park and fly" option while we were out of town for a week.

This hotel met our needs. It was clean and very close to the airport.

Our shuttle to the airport was running late, but we got to our gate in plenty of time. The staff was pleasant. We left too early for the full breakfast, but they had some pastries/bread, cereal, juice etc which was nice to grab on our way out the door. There were several shopping and dining options within a few miles of the hotel that we took advantage of before checking in. Upon check in, we were given bottled water and cookies, which was a nice touch.

We did request a wake up call, which we did not receive.

Our car was hit while it was parked for the week, and no note was left... but that isn't really the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreaminofvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you very much for the review. We are glad you were able to use the Park and Fly package we have created for our guests. It is very important that we provide our early traveling guests some options for breakfast before flying out. I apologize for any inconvenience with the wake up call, and will continue to improve on making sure that doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Central Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

First, I should say that our visit was by no means terrible. We found the front desk staff very friendly and welcoming during both check in and checkout. The hotel and hotel grounds were for the most part clean and well-maintained. It also very conveniently located to both Richmond International Airport, as well as interstates 95 & 64. For those, we give this hotel high marks. It was the other things we noticed that we feel made this only an average property. We gather from previous reviews that this hotel was renovated a few years back when it underwent a name change. Unfortunately, if that renovation included the bathroom in our room, then it is aging very quickly. The light fixture and mirror were already rusted and the bathtub and sink looked as if it had been caulked by someone with their eyes closed. The stains around the toilet didn't help the bathroom's appearance either. The 'hot' breakfast items were more like room temperature and the hostess seemed more interested in getting her smoke breaks in than attending to the breakfast area. The floor of pool appeared to be missing some paint and was slimy in others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RotzAndFrotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you very much for the feedback you have given. It is essential for us to improve our service as well as the condition of our hotel rooms. We have addressed the condition of our bathrooms the past few months, and will continue making improvement in the future. I'm glad your check in and check out with our front desk staff went well, and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Pleased with our stay overall, and thanks to the hotel and staff for waiving the pet fee for competitors in the sportsman's show. We had a problem with our first room, apparently there were cats in it before us as my husband had a reaction worse than he's had in years, but they moved us without hesitation when requested. Nice layout, friendly staff, elevator is loud (room we moved to was right next door), but not so much we couldn't sleep. Would definitely recommend and stay there again next time we are in Richmond.

Room Tip: away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you for posting your comments about this hotel. Service is very important to us, and we are very glad our staff was able to help accommodate you with a room that would meet your needs. Hope you had a great time at the Sportsman's Show, and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I'm generally not a fan of Holiday Inns , but I have to admit to being pleasantly surprised by this one near Richmond Airport . Difficult to say what age this property is ..outside looks quite recent , but inside a few things hint at it being a good few years old. Room was a fair size with plenty sitting space and a refridgerator and microwave which I didn't expect . Reception and breakfast areas were uncluttered , clean , and attractive with a reasonably good complimentary breakfast . Location was convenient for returning the rental car at the airport ..only five minutes drive away. There is also a small indoor pool which looked o.k. I read an article somewhere that said Holiday Inn had belatedly started to get its act together , and based on my experience of this hotel , I would tend to agree.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calsidewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bipinptl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
I thank you for the comment you have posted about our Holiday Inn Express @ RIC Airport. I am also very excited that you have noticed the changes we are making to deliver personalized service to each guest that stays with the Holiday Inn brand. We welcome your comment and hope you will continue, so we can always be the brand that guest LOVE!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Clean hotel, reasonable price, good breakfast, friendly staff. And it has a pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw14111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bipinptl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
We always love reading comments like yours. My team and I thank you for your posting!!!
We look forward in serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This is a fine hotel. No issues with the hotel the staff was great and the rooms were very nice. Great breakfast, nice gym and even a pool!

Only issue was that we used the hotel as a Stay and Fly, thus took the hotel shuttle to the airport. you would think a hotel at the airport would only be a quick shuttle ride to the airport. NO. the shuttle is contracted out and serves all the hotels in the airport area. thus a 5 minutes ride was a 25 minutes ride stopping and waiting a bunch of other hotels! This was also an issue on the return as the shuttle was full and we had to wait 20 minutes for a second then only to visit all the hotels in the reverse!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bipinptl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
I apologize for the delay and inconvenience that you encountered. In order to provide the cheapest “Park-N-Fly” program, we have had to combine this service with the other hotels in the area as rising gas price affects us all. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to provide this service to you again. Thank you for your valuable comments as we are always trying to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandston hotels
1.2 km away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Address: 491 International Center Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1336 (Formerly Wingate Inn - Richmond - Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Richmond, VA near Richmond International Airport Come and relax with us at our prime Richmond, Virginia hotel near the Richmond International Airport. Our Richmond hotel is just one mile from the airport and offers easy access to major Richmond attractions and businesses alike. Your family will love staying at our comfortable Richmond hotel. Our hotel near the Richmond International Airport is located on Audubon Drive and offers convenient access to many Richmond attractions. The Edgar Allen Poe Museum, the Virginia State Capitol and the Science Museum of Virginia are within close proximity of our accommodations in Richmond, Virginia. Other nearby sights include the American Civil War Center and the Virginia Holocaust Museum. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient accommodations near the Richmond Airport. Our Richmond, VA hotel offers close proximity to area businesses such as Hewlett-Packard, Southern Graphics, Smurfit-Stone and Qimonda. In addition, we provide meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as business services with an available computer, fax machine, copier, printer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. While staying in Richmond, you can enjoy our amenities, which include a heated, indoor swimming pool, fitness center and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Richmond VA hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston
Holiday Inn Express Sandston
Sandston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sandston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing