We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithfield Station
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Express Inn(Newport News)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Key West Inn(Newport News)
US$50
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
323
105
25
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
105
25
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspagan riversmithfield hamwindsor castle parkchocolate covered strawberriesbalcony overlookingelectric fireplacecrab cakeslodge roomsbottle of champagnejetted tubquaint townlight houselarge bathroomwater viewwalk in showerwaffleslighthouse suite
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 475 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Could not have had a better experience than this past weekend. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is just superb and the room we stayed in was top notch! I can't wait to return. From the moment we walked thru the door until the moment we checked out we felt comfortable and relaxed. It's perfectly located to Main Street in Smithfield -- a wonderful 20 minute walk around Windsor Castle Park (with Windsor Castle being directly across the street!) and you find yourself around some excellent shops.

The hotel is very clean, very comfortable and fresh. The room was excellent, the only surprising thing was the smell of disinfectant when you first walked into the room (that was only because they use very quality cleaner -- NOT because it super needs it) but it was not a negative point by any means. The fireplace and the great spa-tube gave the weekend and extra touch of romance. As an added bonus we had DirectTV with HBO in our room making a impromptu movie night easy as pie.

If you are on the fence -- hop off that wall and get over to Smithfield Station as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Room 3305 was just perfect -- high cathedral ceiling and a semi-private balcony that overlooks the marina.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheYarnCabinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you for the kind words! This is what makes our jobs so worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We always like to take a side trip after visiting our daughter and chose Smithfield on this trip. Enjoyed staying at Smithfield Station and having dinner there one night -- breakfast each day was included in the price of the room. Toured the museum, visited the shops in downtown. We also stopped by Darden Hams and although one of the owners had been out in the fields working, she was kind enough to open up the smokehouse and give us a tour.

Room Tip: We had a room on the water above the restaurant and had no complaints.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

I am glad to see you found there is more to Smithfield than just our place! Dee Dee Darden is the owner of Dardens country store and does a phenomonal job of educating the people that venture to her farm in what they do. Definetley worth the drive if coming in to Smithfield. Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2011

SmithField Station provides an excellent location with a great restruant/pub environment.
Staff & Management go above and beyond expectations.
Accomodations are excellent, will return again.

Room Tip: Request the jacuzzi bath equipped room
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

So glad you enjoyed yourselves! Plenty to see and do here in Smithfield! We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Our room was ready for check in ahead of schedule. We walked in to a spotless, large room with a beautiful view! The room had a very large bathroom and contained everything you may need for an overnight. There is a fireplace and a flat screen tv, mini fridge (perfect for chilling champagne) and a giant king bed with plush linens and and plenty of pillows. Our room had a private balcony with two chairs so we could enjoy the fantastic weather we had during our stay. We even slept with the balcony door open all night! We had dinner at the restaurant and had a delicious meal and excellent service even though the place was fully booked and very busy at the time. No detail was overlooked regarding our room or our dining experience. You would do well to make a reservation and enjoy the Station and the town of Smithfield!! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The third floor in the main building had a fabulous view of the Marina and river beyond!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyloWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Hello MyloWells, We put a lot of thought and energy in to our rooms to make them the way you described! We are very passionate about what we do and your comments make our job worthwhile. Thanks for taking the time to share your great experience with others! If you ever need anything, just let us know and we will be happy to do our best to serve you! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Using a Groupon special, my wife and I recently spent 2 nights here. The room was large and had a balcony overlooking the attached marina and the Pagan River. We had great weather and really enjoyed the view. The room included a king size bed, large bathroom, and free wi-fi. The Groupon promotion also included a free enhanced continental breakfast, which was pretty good, and a $40 gift card for use in the restaurant. We had dinner the first night and enjoyed the food, which was solid although not gourmet, and the view. The one negative for us was the poor lighting in the room. All the bulbs were 60 watts I think. If you like to read or just want a decent amount of light, I recommend that you bring a couple of 100 watt bulbs to brighten things up. The room air conditioner was also a little noisy, but the in room units always seem to be.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexofOakton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Good afternoon AlexofOakton, interesting point you bring up here. You are correct in that all bulbs in the room are 60 watts. The thought here was to keep the lights dim and romantic. It has never occured to me that there would not be enough lights in the room to enjoy a good book by the frireplace. As I have said before, we are quite passionate about waht we do and are always open to suggestions from our guests. I am gald to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to a return trip!

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews