We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Getaway - even if you don't come in by boat.”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Like many others, we discovered this tucked away place through a "Groupon" offer, and met our son and his family for a fall weekend together. We were fortunate to stay in the "Poolside Cottage" with ample room to play on the floor with young grandsons, snack on pizza and enjoy a cozy evening by the fire. The scenic view - river, wetlands, boats & sunset was wonderful, strolling the village, walking the parkway, both relaxing & fun.
Our negative comment regards the extremely poor service and food quality in their restaurant - in their defense, it was a busy Friday evening. It was a mistake. Morning breakfast was fine. It would be wise to check whether there are large groups dining. They get the attention. Families do not.

Room Tip: Request to stay in a cottage on the boardwalk - This was a neat place to be, removed from restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

I am glad you were able to take advantage of one of our deals and get the upgrade to the cottage! These cottages are very unique to Smithfield and we think they are one of the neat things that set us apart. Great customer service can make or break a meal and I am sorry that you did not feel yours was up to par. Unfortunately, that does happen from time to time despite our best efforts. My family appreciates all your comments as we have a great passion about what we do here. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

We spent two nights at the Smithfield Station Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was absolutely beautiful with a nice view of the river. It was very spacious with new, nice furniture and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom also was great, again very spacious with an over sized jacuzzi tub, tile floors, double sinks and a large, separate shower. There was also a small fridge. We had a special package deal that included champagne and strawberries which were ready in our room even though we checked in early. The town was very historical and worth taking a walk through. We also enjoyed spending a morning walking the trails at the Windsor Castle Park across the street. Smithfield is well situated to lots of other attractions. We spent one afternoon in Norfolk visiting a museum, a battleship and having dinner. Our first night we ate at the restaurant at the Smithfield Station and had a very good meal. The complimentary full breakfast buffet was also served there and they offered many choices. It was a great two days and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank placespeoplethings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

We'd take you back in a heartbeat too! Love to have happy guests! Tell all your friends and we will make it a party! Hope to see you again soon! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Could not have had a better experience than this past weekend. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is just superb and the room we stayed in was top notch! I can't wait to return. From the moment we walked thru the door until the moment we checked out we felt comfortable and relaxed. It's perfectly located to Main Street in Smithfield -- a wonderful 20 minute walk around Windsor Castle Park (with Windsor Castle being directly across the street!) and you find yourself around some excellent shops.

The hotel is very clean, very comfortable and fresh. The room was excellent, the only surprising thing was the smell of disinfectant when you first walked into the room (that was only because they use very quality cleaner -- NOT because it super needs it) but it was not a negative point by any means. The fireplace and the great spa-tube gave the weekend and extra touch of romance. As an added bonus we had DirectTV with HBO in our room making a impromptu movie night easy as pie.

If you are on the fence -- hop off that wall and get over to Smithfield Station as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Room 3305 was just perfect -- high cathedral ceiling and a semi-private balcony that overlooks the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheYarnCabinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for the kind words! This is what makes our jobs so worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We always like to take a side trip after visiting our daughter and chose Smithfield on this trip. Enjoyed staying at Smithfield Station and having dinner there one night -- breakfast each day was included in the price of the room. Toured the museum, visited the shops in downtown. We also stopped by Darden Hams and although one of the owners had been out in the fields working, she was kind enough to open up the smokehouse and give us a tour.

Room Tip: We had a room on the water above the restaurant and had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

I am glad to see you found there is more to Smithfield than just our place! Dee Dee Darden is the owner of Dardens country store and does a phenomonal job of educating the people that venture to her farm in what they do. Definetley worth the drive if coming in to Smithfield. Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

SmithField Station provides an excellent location with a great restruant/pub environment.
Staff & Management go above and beyond expectations.
Accomodations are excellent, will return again.

Room Tip: Request the jacuzzi bath equipped room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

So glad you enjoyed yourselves! Plenty to see and do here in Smithfield! We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Our room was ready for check in ahead of schedule. We walked in to a spotless, large room with a beautiful view! The room had a very large bathroom and contained everything you may need for an overnight. There is a fireplace and a flat screen tv, mini fridge (perfect for chilling champagne) and a giant king bed with plush linens and and plenty of pillows. Our room had a private balcony with two chairs so we could enjoy the fantastic weather we had during our stay. We even slept with the balcony door open all night! We had dinner at the restaurant and had a delicious meal and excellent service even though the place was fully booked and very busy at the time. No detail was overlooked regarding our room or our dining experience. You would do well to make a reservation and enjoy the Station and the town of Smithfield!! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The third floor in the main building had a fabulous view of the Marina and river beyond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyloWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Hello MyloWells, We put a lot of thought and energy in to our rooms to make them the way you described! We are very passionate about what we do and your comments make our job worthwhile. Thanks for taking the time to share your great experience with others! If you ever need anything, just let us know and we will be happy to do our best to serve you! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Using a Groupon special, my wife and I recently spent 2 nights here. The room was large and had a balcony overlooking the attached marina and the Pagan River. We had great weather and really enjoyed the view. The room included a king size bed, large bathroom, and free wi-fi. The Groupon promotion also included a free enhanced continental breakfast, which was pretty good, and a $40 gift card for use in the restaurant. We had dinner the first night and enjoyed the food, which was solid although not gourmet, and the view. The one negative for us was the poor lighting in the room. All the bulbs were 60 watts I think. If you like to read or just want a decent amount of light, I recommend that you bring a couple of 100 watt bulbs to brighten things up. The room air conditioner was also a little noisy, but the in room units always seem to be.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexofOakton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Good afternoon AlexofOakton, interesting point you bring up here. You are correct in that all bulbs in the room are 60 watts. The thought here was to keep the lights dim and romantic. It has never occured to me that there would not be enough lights in the room to enjoy a good book by the frireplace. As I have said before, we are quite passionate about waht we do and are always open to suggestions from our guests. I am gald to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to a return trip!

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
32.6 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
645 reviews
27.3 km away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: $157 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing