We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Express Inn(Newport News)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
324
109
27
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
109
27
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspagan riversmithfield hamwindsor castle parkchocolate covered strawberriesbalcony overlookingelectric fireplacecrab cakeslodge roomsbottle of champagnejetted tubquaint townlight houselarge bathroomwaffleswater viewwalk in showerlighthouse suite
Filter
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 483 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here last Spring,and apparently I failed to write a review,as we are making plans to visit again soon. We had a King room with a balcony overlooking the marina. The room was very clean & quiet, beautiful view,nice TV refirg & microzap. We had great breakfasts both mornings, nice lunches with huge sandwiches. We loved the park across the street as the walkway goes over the marsh,and the walkways around the park give you a great outdoors exercise experience. The town has a number of neat shops nearby,and Main Street Restaurant has a wide variety of choices that were very reasonable in price. If you want a quiet getaway,with a serene vista overlooking the river and the marsh,get a room here with a balcony. This is a wonderful family run hotel,and with the on site restaurant,you never need get back in your transportation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Better late than never! Thanks for the great review and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Found Smithfield Station because of a Groupon. My husband and I love anything on the water and were really looking forward to our visit. Most of the reviewers stayed in the new building and were very pleased, unfortunately the new hotel was not available for our stay so we stayed in the original building, which is called the restaurant building. It was nice and quaint with great and friendly staff. The rooms are very ordinary and on par with an older Motel 6. Rooms were clean and standard size. The major wonder was that most rooms had a lovely outside balcony overlooking the water. We visited in the Fall and were not able to take full advantge of the balcony.

Friday night dinner was nice, the atmosphere was friendly and there seemed to be a lot of locals. We were oririnally seted in the front area off the reception desk, but asked to move because there was quite a draft from the front door. They quickly moved us to the lounge, which was much warmer and friendlier.

On Saturday morning, we had the free continental breakfast, which was what one would expect, food was plentiful, and restocked as needed. A couple of nits were lack of cream cheese for bagels, lack of jelly for toast, and the big problem was the coffee. It's been a long time since I've had such bad coffee. It's what used to be available in the US before Starbucks arrived. On the upside, the restaurant is bright and airy and a lovely place to sit and relax.

Had breakfast buffet on Sunday and it was good, but notices on the wall said their brunch is award winning, and couldn't see why that would be. Also, had the same bad coffee. I am not a coffee snob, but my days begin with a good cup of coffee, and the coffee was so bad, that I almost drove down the street to a coffee shop.

On the upside... there is a great park acros the street that is well marked and well maintained. A must see and do experience. The historic town of Smithfield is a lovely place to roam around.

All in all.... I would visit again when it is warmer to take full advantage of the waterfront experience. and I would bring my own coffee. Since everyone raved about the new building, I would definitely opt for it, because the restaurant building is just ordinary and not worth a 3 1/2 drive from DC.

Room Tip: Don't go unless you can get into the new building, and go when the weather is warm so you can take advantage of the balconies and walk-around area.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mai2centsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thanks for showing the positives and the areas that could use improvement. You will be happy to know that the rooms that you stayed in are scheduled for remodel this winter and by spring should be every bit as nice as our new Lodge rooms. Intersting comment on our coffee as we normally here praise about it ... we will look in to it and see what may have changed! My family and I value your feedback, and we use constructive criticism to improve the guest experience because our goal is that every guest is nothing less than delighted. On behalf of my family and our dedicated staff, thank you again for your visit and your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Smithfield Station soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Like many others, we discovered this tucked away place through a "Groupon" offer, and met our son and his family for a fall weekend together. We were fortunate to stay in the "Poolside Cottage" with ample room to play on the floor with young grandsons, snack on pizza and enjoy a cozy evening by the fire. The scenic view - river, wetlands, boats & sunset was wonderful, strolling the village, walking the parkway, both relaxing & fun.
Our negative comment regards the extremely poor service and food quality in their restaurant - in their defense, it was a busy Friday evening. It was a mistake. Morning breakfast was fine. It would be wise to check whether there are large groups dining. They get the attention. Families do not.

Room Tip: Request to stay in a cottage on the boardwalk - This was a neat place to be, removed from restaurant or shop bustle, able to enjoy the boats and the view without being part of the crowd.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

I am glad you were able to take advantage of one of our deals and get the upgrade to the cottage! These cottages are very unique to Smithfield and we think they are one of the neat things that set us apart. Great customer service can make or break a meal and I am sorry that you did not feel yours was up to par. Unfortunately, that does happen from time to time despite our best efforts. My family appreciates all your comments as we have a great passion about what we do here. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent two nights at the Smithfield Station Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was absolutely beautiful with a nice view of the river. It was very spacious with new, nice furniture and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom also was great, again very spacious with an over sized jacuzzi tub, tile floors, double sinks and a large, separate shower. There was also a small fridge. We had a special package deal that included champagne and strawberries which were ready in our room even though we checked in early. The town was very historical and worth taking a walk through. We also enjoyed spending a morning walking the trails at the Windsor Castle Park across the street. Smithfield is well situated to lots of other attractions. We spent one afternoon in Norfolk visiting a museum, a battleship and having dinner. Our first night we ate at the restaurant at the Smithfield Station and had a very good meal. The complimentary full breakfast buffet was also served there and they offered many choices. It was a great two days and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank placespeoplethings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

We'd take you back in a heartbeat too! Love to have happy guests! Tell all your friends and we will make it a party! Hope to see you again soon! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Could not have had a better experience than this past weekend. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is just superb and the room we stayed in was top notch! I can't wait to return. From the moment we walked thru the door until the moment we checked out we felt comfortable and relaxed. It's perfectly located to Main Street in Smithfield -- a wonderful 20 minute walk around Windsor Castle Park (with Windsor Castle being directly across the street!) and you find yourself around some excellent shops.

The hotel is very clean, very comfortable and fresh. The room was excellent, the only surprising thing was the smell of disinfectant when you first walked into the room (that was only because they use very quality cleaner -- NOT because it super needs it) but it was not a negative point by any means. The fireplace and the great spa-tube gave the weekend and extra touch of romance. As an added bonus we had DirectTV with HBO in our room making a impromptu movie night easy as pie.

If you are on the fence -- hop off that wall and get over to Smithfield Station as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Room 3305 was just perfect -- high cathedral ceiling and a semi-private balcony that overlooks the marina.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheYarnCabinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you for the kind words! This is what makes our jobs so worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews