We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$128
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Express Inn(Newport News)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Key West Inn(Newport News)
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$50
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$65
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
326
110
27
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
326
110
27
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspagan riversmithfield hamwindsor castle parkchocolate covered strawberriesbalcony overlookingelectric fireplacecrab cakeslodge roomsbottle of champagnejetted tubquaint townlight houselarge bathroomwaffleswater viewwalk in showerlighthouse suite
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 486 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We never felt more comfortable, had better food or service in one place. Very nice way to bring in the New Year. The package deal was well worth the price. I would love to do this again or try another package deal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Hospitality is the name of the game at Smithfield Station and I am glad that you have spent a memorable holiday with us. If you like packaged deals check out our website as we have several on there that may suit you. See you again soon!

Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We took advantage of a Groupon special to stop at Smithfield Station on the way home from my niece's wedding in NC. If it hadn't been for Groupon, we'd never have known about charming Smithfield.

The "station" is located directly on the Pagan River so we booked a deluxe king room with jacuzzi and a balcony overlooking the marina. The decor was a lovely combination of traditional furnishings and modern open spaces, We enjoyed sharing coffee on our balcony each morning watching the water birds. The room was certainly large enough to qualify as a suite with a high ceiling over a seating area flanked by French doors and a fireplace... plus a kitchenette. The bathroom was huge.

Although there were not many people staying there on Sun. & Mon. in October, there was always someone helpful in the spacious lobby. The buffet breakfast (included in the deal) offered waffles, eggs, bacon, pastries, cereals, fruit, and juices. It was yummy & filled us up to start our days' exploring. The restaurants in town were closed on Monday because of Trick-or-Treat night when all of the businesses serve the little ones parading in their costumes. What a great community idea! We had snacks & drinks at the station's bar and enjoyed a delicious seafood dinner there the second evening.

The street leading down to the inn, lined with historic homes, was under construction, so we couldn't stroll by on the way to town. But the flagman positioned at the edge of the parking lot was so friendly, he let us drive up the hill by ourselves so we could slowly take in all of the colonial & Victorian architecture.

The town is full of great little shops & the museum is not to be missed. We had a terrific, relaxing stay at Smithfield Station before we headed for home in PA. What a delightful discovery!

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor overlooking the marina for a lovely morning view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hersheykissk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thanks for the kind words! We are very proud of our town and are happy that you were able to experience some of the best parts of it. The street is supposed to be finished by mid-April (Thank goodness!) so make plans to come back and check out the rest of us!

Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We returned to Smithfield Station on a Groupon and enjoyed it even more than on our first stay. We stayed in a beautiful room in the Lodge. King sized bed, electric fireplace, Directv, enormous bathroom, and river views. The hotel is quiet and the food in the restaurant is great. The seafood is outstanding. The atmosphere in the bar is jovial, with lots of locals and a fantastic bartender named Pat. Smithfield itself is a gem of a small town with friendly people and beautiful houses. It was a perfect break before the rush of the holidays. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms in the Lodge section. They are more updated then the rooms by the restaurant.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmaggie22963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

So glad you were able to take advantage of one of our special offers! It is always our wish that when folks leave here, they do so with good memories! Thanks for the glowing review and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I apologize for the lengthy review in advance, but I want to make sure to tell the whole story of our amazingly relaxing and quaint vacation! My fiance and I took a trip to Smithfield Station a few weeks ago on a Groupon purchase we made. I reserved one of the Lodge whirlpool rooms well in advance, as to assure for a more relaxing weekend. Unfortunately, when we checked in, we realized that our room was not in fact a whirlpool room and that they were sold out for the night. The front desk staff was extremely apologetic and offered a number of suggestions on how to fix the problem, including allowing us to switch to the Marina Cottage for our second night stay. We took her up on the offer and enjoyed our one night stay in the Lodge room, which by the way, is an amazing room in and of itself, with the electric fireplace, balcony overlooking the waterfront and marina, and an oversized bathroom with enormous tiled shower. If we had not originally booked a room with the whirpool, we would have been completely content with the Lodge room because it was beautifully decorated and larger than any standard hotel room.

When we woke up the next morning, we went to the front desk to discuss when we could swith rooms and that's when we were personally greeted by Ron, one of the owners. He personally took us to view the Marina Cottage to make sure it would be satisfactory and of course, it was! Ron told us the cottages were recently rennovated and had all new furnishings, which was a nice added touch. If you're set on a king sized bed, stick with the Lodge rooms, because the Marina cottage has a queen sized bed. However, personally, the bed size didn't matter to us and I think the cottages are a unique experience being right on the pier where the boats dock, plus they have all the amenities of the Lodge rooms and it seems like you're in your own private little vacation.

After being completely satisfied with our room change, we decided to take a walking tour into downtown Smithfield. There is a boardwalk directly across the street from the Station that takes you to a 4+ mile walking trail around Windsor Castle Outdoor Park. It's a great way to get in a little exercise before you start your day. And when you want to break for lunch, you can veer off the trail into the downtown area and visit some of the local restaurants or shops. We took our lunch break at Smithfield Bakery & Cafe, which was excellent. The wait was a little long since it's a small cafe and we went on a holiday weekend, but it was well worth it.

That afternoon we sat out on the pier in front of our cottage and mingled with some of the boaters that just docked. I came back in that evening and took a relaxing bath in the whirpool tub and read a book and then we prepared for dinner at the restaurant at the hotel. Being a girl that grew up on the Outer Banks, I'm somewhat of a seafood snob and I will have to admit that the Station restaurant was great. We had the bacon wrapped scallops for an appetizer and they were perfectly marinated. For my entree, I chose the Seafood Platter and it was equally as tasty, especially the crabcake (which had little filler and primarily crab, which is a big plus!). Ron even came by our table that evening to make sure we were enjoying our stay and we ended up chatting for 15 minutes or so.

Overall, besides the room mixup, the weekend was exactly what we wanted it to consist of - good food, relaxation and beautiful scenery. I have traveled quite a bit and love to go to foreign countries and exotic beaches. But what is nice about Smithfield Station is that it's a getaway that made us feel like we were miles away from home, when we were really just an hour or so away from home. The owners and staff at Smithfield Station exude the Southern hospitality that make you want to keep coming back! We're already looking for another Groupon to purchase to go back again!

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms are fantastic, newly rennovated and much larger than your standard hotel rooms. However, if you're looking for a unique experience right on the pier and away from the main hotel, I'd pick one of the cottages to vacation in.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you Marlo for such a great review! It truly is our desire that all our guests leave with the type of experience that you have had! The gentlemen you refer to, Ron, is my father and I am glad to hear that he handled things so well while I was gone lol! He has taught my brother and I an awful lot about customer service and again he proves it here. We hope to see you again soon. Oh, and checkout groupon getaways today and you just may find what you are looking for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2011

A group of us took a speed boat to the Smithfield Station and stayed in the cottages overlooking the marina. WHAT A GREAT TIME! We docked the boat right outside our cottage. It had a private balcony with chairs to sit &drink coffee in the mornings &coctails in the evenings. The restaurant had amazing seafood and a full bakery on site that provided a birthday apple pie for our captain.
Next day, we walked across the street into town over the rolling park bridges (beautiful 1 mile walk) and visited downtown smithfield. I had not been there in 20 years and I walked away in awe how great the little town is and the atmosphere. Highly recommend the Smithfield Station and boating if you have access.

Room Tip: we loved the cottages by the marina. If it was warmer, I would have loved to use the outdoor pool! If you want more traditional hotel setup /privacy, stay in the lodge above the restaurant.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

I am so happy you folks enjoyed yourselves! The way you utilized the cottages is exactly how they were intended as we love boating ourselves! We look forward to seeing you again and thanks for such a nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews