We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway Spot”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Getaway Spot”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at Smithfield Station for 2 nights using Groupon, what a great find. If you are looking for a great getaway spot - This is it. The staff was great, the restaurant and food was great, and the rooms were to die for. We went at the end of February 2012 and it just happened to be great weather but had it not been the rooms are so cozy we would have just lounged around inside our room all day which was the plan, anyway. We will definitely be going back soon, this is our new get away spot. Can' wait to go when the weather is warmer so that we can enjoy the balcony overlooking Pagan River.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PintSize105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
You are correct .... Smithfield is great in the summer! We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for the kind words!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    87
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
57
252
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our 3rd visit to Smithfield Station, it was excellent and we will return.
Extremely clean facility, well appointed, friendly staff, gracious owner, comfort food and
a Cheers environment in the pub. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Request a jacuzzi room if available, but all rooms are excellent. Love the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Welcome back! Thanks again for the great comments and we can't wait to see you for your 4th trip to Smithfield! Next time you stay, make sure you get signed up for our rewards program, ten nights earns you one free night! See you guys soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at Smithfield for 2 nights at the beginning of January using their Groupon deal. And we're very glad that we did. We had been looking to book a mountain cabin, but when we saw this special offer, it was def. the best choice.

Even though it was low season and just a couple of other people stayed at the Station we were still greeted/treated with the same service as if it was full on tourist season. They offered advice on things to do and where to go in the little town too.

We had a massive room with the biggest bed I've ever seen, and a super big bathroom with large shower and jacuzzi bath. We had a free bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. Everything was spotless and impressive. The room also had an ipod speaker dock - great for charging your iphone/ipod as well as listening to your own music.

The view from the room was lovely, and had it been that bit warmer, a lovely space to enjoy a spot of coffee on the deck. All these things combined really made you feel like you were in real luxury.

There was also a small closet area with a security safe, should you need it for a longer stay.

The bar offers a large selection of drinks and a special offer on something on the menu every night. It was $5 burger and fries night for us - very tasty and great value. There was a lovely atmosphere of what I assume to be locals (given it was off season) so things never seemed lonely or empty.

Breakfast was a nice selection and still a large spread even though there were nt many guests in the low season - they will cook eggs, bacon, waffles etc for you, and there are juices, pastries, cereals, toast etc to choose from too, with coffee and other hot drinks.

Because I am lazy and like to sleep in, I'd have liked breakfast to last a bit longer - but that is always the case with hotels and us because we like our lie ins - but the breakfast was worth getting up for - and also made you get up and ready to take in the sights of Smithfield (so its secretly a good thing, ha)

Our package also included a $40 gift card for the restaurant - with friendly staff, and the gift card a welcome invitiation to try the 'posher than the bar' :-) type food - with some local ingredients on offer too.

There are some boutique shops that are part of the complex which are cute to look in - but just for info - tourist gifts like hams etc can be had in the historic part of town if you need them.

Although it was of the few cold days in January (typical hah) - we still had lovely bright weather we made the views from our room and the walk around Windsor Castle park a pleasant and memorable time!

Our budgets would not have stretched to stay here in full season, so I'm very glad we got to sample a piece of Smithfield at a price we could afford. Thank you Smithfield station!

Room Tip: jacuzzi is good choice, and also a view over the marina is nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Really glad you guys had a chance to enjoy yourselves! Thanks for the kind words and we would love to have you back again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Of course we went in the "dead" of winter and this is a Marina so that could account for the empty rooms-the lodge where we stayed is beautiful and the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly-the furnishings throughout the lodge are amazing and our room was not only lovely but very comfortable
Dinner at the restaurant was very good and the wait staff very nice to deal with-breakfast the next morning was billed as a continental but went much farther-eggs,waffles,fruit,pastries,bagels etc a very nice experience
I would recomend this spot highly

Room Tip: They offer rooms in other building however I think the lodge is the newest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roderiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thanks guys! We are a bit slower in the winter, but would love for you to bring ALL of your friends! We will make sure to take care of you just as well. Hope to see you again soon!

Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This was our first stay at Smithfield Station but it absolutely will not be our last. The hotel, our room and the restaurant were spotless. The food was exceptional. Any question we had was met with a smile and a cheerful response. We felt like part of the family. What a delightful hotel. We have travelled a good portion of the USA, the Islands and Europe and in our expierence Smithfield Station ranks among the very best. . Smithfield Station is now at the top of our list.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
What a great review! Thank you so much! We try hard to keep our customers pleased so it is comments like yours that make this all worthwhile! I look forward to meeting you when you come back so please ask the desk for me!

Thanks again,
Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Disputanta, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We never felt more comfortable, had better food or service in one place. Very nice way to bring in the New Year. The package deal was well worth the price. I would love to do this again or try another package deal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hospitality is the name of the game at Smithfield Station and I am glad that you have spent a memorable holiday with us. If you like packaged deals check out our website as we have several on there that may suit you. See you again soon!

Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We took advantage of a Groupon special to stop at Smithfield Station on the way home from my niece's wedding in NC. If it hadn't been for Groupon, we'd never have known about charming Smithfield.

The "station" is located directly on the Pagan River so we booked a deluxe king room with jacuzzi and a balcony overlooking the marina. The decor was a lovely combination of traditional furnishings and modern open spaces, We enjoyed sharing coffee on our balcony each morning watching the water birds. The room was certainly large enough to qualify as a suite with a high ceiling over a seating area flanked by French doors and a fireplace... plus a kitchenette. The bathroom was huge.

Although there were not many people staying there on Sun. & Mon. in October, there was always someone helpful in the spacious lobby. The buffet breakfast (included in the deal) offered waffles, eggs, bacon, pastries, cereals, fruit, and juices. It was yummy & filled us up to start our days' exploring. The restaurants in town were closed on Monday because of Trick-or-Treat night when all of the businesses serve the little ones parading in their costumes. What a great community idea! We had snacks & drinks at the station's bar and enjoyed a delicious seafood dinner there the second evening.

The street leading down to the inn, lined with historic homes, was under construction, so we couldn't stroll by on the way to town. But the flagman positioned at the edge of the parking lot was so friendly, he let us drive up the hill by ourselves so we could slowly take in all of the colonial & Victorian architecture.

The town is full of great little shops & the museum is not to be missed. We had a terrific, relaxing stay at Smithfield Station before we headed for home in PA. What a delightful discovery!

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor overlooking the marina for a lovely morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hersheykissk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thanks for the kind words! We are very proud of our town and are happy that you were able to experience some of the best parts of it. The street is supposed to be finished by mid-April (Thank goodness!) so make plans to come back and check out the rest of us!

Randy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
32.6 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
570 reviews
33.9 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
244 reviews
18.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
32.7 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing