We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, but . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at Smithfield Station in early May. It has a great location, convenient restaurant and a few shops. We were in the Lodge, all of the rooms face Pagan Creek and the attached marina. Unfortunately, the restaurant's kitchen exhaust fans provide the latest burger, steak or french fry aroma when you are out on the deck, which we were. Get a room farther away from the restaurant, would be my suggestion.
Also, the deck had 2 chairs, but no table to put any drinks or anything on. Same in the room, 2 nice chairs side by side, but no side tables. This was just inconvenient.
On the great side, the rooms were large, had refrigerators, HD TV, nice bathroom and shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A very nice continental breakfast plus. The cook served up scrambled eggs or omlets with bacon. Plus the usual. Oh and Smithfield ham rolls too.
I'd recommend it for a trip to Smithfield. Great little town. Very nice park across from the hotel. Easy access to the historic district when the sidewalk work is done. Otherwise you take your life into your hands walking in the street or dirt where the sidewalk should be.
We intended to kayak one day from the park across the street. They had a very nice launch, but the wind was blowing too much to attempt any kayaking.

Room Tip: Away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huckleberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks for the review Huckleberries! The placement of the exhaust fan is done purposefully to entice you to visit our restaurant! Only kidding, we actually didn't put balconies by the rooms closest to it for that very reason. Unless the wind is really blowing your way, you shouldn't be able to smell or hear them at all. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay! The sidewalks are almost done! Just 30 more days and WE will be happy this beautification project will be wrapped up! I look forward to welcoming you back to our charming town. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    80
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
53
233
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

As snowbirds heading home we detoured off the interstate for a night at the Smithfield Station. What a treat! The room was one of the most comfortable we've had in a long time. The small private balcony allowed us to enjoy an evening drink overlooking the harbour and marina. A stroll through the wooded park across the street was a great way to work out the kinks after a day on the road. For the less adventurous, the boardwalk overlooking the marina connects the hotel to their delightful restaurant allowing for an easy stroll. Breakfast in the restaurant was a delightful start to our next day. IThe town has some interesting shops and beautiful older homes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
This is exactly what Smithfield Station was built for - your enjoyment! We are lucky to have such a great town that supports all we do here... thanks for such a nice review and we can hardly wait to see you again.

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I've stayed here many times while visiting family while growing up and even as I got older and went off on my own. It's a great location with friendly staff. They often have breakfast up and ready from what I remember. It's been a while, but I'm looking forward to showing my boyfriend around this quaint little town. The room was pretty chilly last time but there was a great view over the water. It's normally nice and quiet. Always very clean.
There's a deck at the restaurant level where you can sit and view the scenery. Of course it has a marshy smell here and there, but you're staying on a waterway. How can you complain?

The lighthouse suites are impeccable, although there was a hugh storm during one visit and the rain leaked into the room. It's since been repaired.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thanks for the kind words! We look forward to your return!

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

A wonderfully clean and fresh room with a great view. Only two complaints: (1) when we arrived and for our first night, the air conditioner sounded like a jet engine every time it "took off". We complained in the morning and by 3:00 pm we had a brand new air conditioner installed. Great service! (2). The shower was nice except that there was a bath mat apparatus that covered the drain. It was actually in 2 pieces and kept separating when I stood on it. While we didn't complain about it, I would recommend replacing it or removing it all together.
The 3 desk clerks we dealt with were all very friendly and knowledgable. The woman who checked us in gave very detailed suggestions on what to do and see as well as how to get around town and a main street closed for reconstruction.
All in all, a very delightful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fgdiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
When an air conditioner goes bad, it really goes bad! I am sorry you had problems with it, but am happy to hear we resolved them quickly! Thanks for the great review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is my wife’s and my favorite weekend getaway spot. The hotel is always clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms have nice views of the Pagan River and are decorated much nicer than one would find at a chain hotel. Downtown Smithfield is a short walk up the hill from the hotel and has several shops and cafes to entertain and feed visitors. Directly across from Smithfield Station is a new walking path entrance to Windsor Castle Park. We took a long stroll through the park and were pleased with the quality of the trails. This hotel is a great get-away for a quiet romantic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Welcome back! Glad you guys left another great review on TA and enjoyed yourselves again. We are quite lucky to have such a beautiful park across the street from us and such a great town to be part of. Thanks again for the review and I will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

not what you expect from picture..sits on a busy road overlooking a marina with a lot of marsh behind it,,,,,,room was very nice and food at restaurant was good, just disappointed over location

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monka49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for us. We are very proud of our award winning hotel and restaurant and are glad that you enjoyed both! I apologize that you were disappointed with our location. Our location is ideal for everything that the town of Smithfield has to offer. We are directly on the Pagan River, across the street from Windsor Castle Park, and within walking distance of historic homes and shopping. Smithfield Station has been open for over 25 years and this is the first time we have ever had a complaint about our location.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
335 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in March after having bought a Groupon package. We stayed in the newer lodge section and had a beautiful and large room with a balcony overlooking the river and tiny marina. It was so peaceful waking up to the birds and seeing the water. Everything in the room seemed brand new, it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was also large, it was tiled, had a huge granite counter, a big tiled shower, and the towels were bright white and fluffy. To make all this better, our Groupon included a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, breakfast and a dinner at the restaurant which I will review separately. (We walked around the older end above the restaurant and peeked into a room which was being cleaned - it was also beautiful, but the bathroom was much smaller as noted in a previous review. The downside to the older part was that the halls smelled a bit musty so I was glad to be in the newer lodge.) The lodge had some extra public rooms, like what appeared to be a card or reading room overlooking the water, and had many books which probably could be borrowed. The furniture didn't look like your typical hotel furniture. Everything was so pretty. The receptionist (I think her name was Donna) was as nice as could be and so helpful with ideas of what to do in the area.

Smithfield was a cute little town, although the sidewalks to get there(5 minute walk) are all chopped up. We can see that they will be done in the near future. We were given the recommendation to get there via the park and that worked well.

The shops on the "boardwalk" are cute and fun to visit.

We had a great stay here and will return!

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with everyone. I am delighted you had such a nice trip and welcome you back for many more. If you ever need anything, please reach out to us and we will do our best to take care of your every demand.

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
38.4 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
29.1 km away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#13 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
32.6 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
27.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Property: Smithfield Station
Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing