We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Express Inn(Newport News)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
326
110
27
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
326
110
27
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspagan riversmithfield hamwindsor castle parkchocolate covered strawberriesbalcony overlookingelectric fireplacecrab cakeslodge roomsbottle of champagnejetted tubquaint townlight houselarge bathroomwaffleswater viewwalk in showerlighthouse suite
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 486 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017

All I can say is that I'm mad at myself for not visiting this property until now ! If you like
to relax but still have plenty to do at your fingertips, than you will love the Smithfield
Station. We came the day after Thanksgiving so you could imagine we were ready for
a break from the stress that comes with the holidays. This resort is very laid back and
the Pack family as well as the rest of the staff are awesome!! We stayed in the Lodge
section of the property and had a balcony that looked out over the marina and the river. The room was huge and laying in bed with the gas logs flickering away was just
what we needed. After some rest it was off to a wine tasting downstairs then a great
dinner at the restaurant. Just a short walk into the town of Smithfield for shopping and
sightseeing was a plus! I could go on and on about how great this place is but you just
need to come see for yourself! Obviously, we would highly recommend staying here
and we will be returning very soon ourselves.

Room Tip: The Lodge section of the property is probably the nicest as far as the amenities.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

Very accommodating hotel and staff. Holiday retreat with wife and two teenage kids was wonderful. Pulled everyone out of their “plugged in” lives. Great family time.

Smithfield town closed because of holiday but definitely will return for Christmas to experience the old world, small town charm. A true tucked away gem.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie W, Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Ed,

Thank you for the opportunity to help your family "unplug". I am glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you and your family were able to enjoy the downtown area, which is always relaxing and has something for everyone.

I hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again; "unplugging" is always good.

Yours In Hospitality,

Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Had an overnight stay here for my sisters birthday. We really enjoyed it!

The check-process was easy and the women who checked us in was super friendly and helpful.

We opted for rooms with a water views (deluxe king balcony) and that was the best part. It was windy and cold when we visited so we didn’t spend too much time on the balcony but the views were so beautiful! Rooms was large and clean and it was nice to have a fireplace. Although, my sister and her husband did find a half bottle of consumed wine in their fridge. They initially thought it was gift from hotel for her birthday, whooops!

A continental breakfast came with the room rate and I have to say that was the only ok part. They had all the basics and the famous ham biscuits. I know they are known for their Sunday brunch so will have to come back to try that!

Short walk to the local brewery, other restaurants and shops (go to the Christmas Store!).

I would definitely come back!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

This was an AMAZING weekend get a way for my husband and myself. It was a spur of the moment decision that we will always treasure! From the moment we walked into the marina decorated lobby to check in to our checking out everyone and everything was perfect!!! We were on the second floor overlooking the marina with a wrap around balcony. We sat on the balcony to drink a glass of wine purchased from the onsite wine store. The sunset was so beautiful and the sunrise the next morning was worth waking up to! Next was the bountiful breakfast buffet... an omelet station with any filling you can imagine including crab and shrimp! Our room came with complimentary mimosas. It also included a waffle bar and an assortment of delicious typical breakfast offerings. Every single staff member we interacted with gave us the gold treatment! The room was comfortable with a very comfortable king size bed and our own private entrance to our own private balcony. This was a wonderful surprise gem that we have found and we will come back again and again!!! Thank you for making our weekend so amazingly wonderful in every respect!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cphtdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Wow! Thanks for the glowing review. This is just how we want people to feel when they stay with us. I do hope to see you again and would love to put a face with a review (is that we do these days?!?).

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
President and Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

The interior decor was very dated. Our "Water view" was limited and really of the marina/boats not a nice view as you would expect. Hated having to drag our luggage up two flights of stairs. There are no elevators and you enter through the restaurant which feels weird next to entering diners. The halls in the guest areas smelled like cheap cleaner and lots of dust was visible along the carpet edges. The bathroom was so small that only one person could fit in it. If you leave the door open when in the shower, you open the curtain and are facing a door! This was the worst - my hallway bathroom at home is larger. Bed was comfortable. Comforter was snagged and worn. Towels in the bathroom had stains. I left wishing I had paid more to go somewhere else.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie W, Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thank you for your candid observations concerning your stay with us. We do offer a variety of options for room choices, and make sure that the descriptions of the rooms that are viewed on line do notate that some of our rooms are stair access only. We value all feed back from our guest and use these to always make improvements. Your comments have been forwarded to the appropriate person, and will most certainly be considered. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again, and if stairs are an issue, please make us aware at the time the reservation is made and we can recommend other options.

Yours In Hospitality,

Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews