We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go even in Winter!”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We decided to come for one night even if they rescheduled the Evening Market due to weather. We had a delicious seafood dinner downstairs, shopped at the wine shop, went to Main Street for some ham & peanuts to bring home to a friend. The room could use some updating, but we enjoyed the wharf view and watching the rain outside. Vending machine didn't work, but restaurant was nice to get us our drink. Corner balcony rooms looking out into the Pagan River & wharf are best. It was quiet even right above the very busy restaurant. We'll be back!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank LightTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2017

All I can say is that I'm mad at myself for not visiting this property until now ! If you like
to relax but still have plenty to do at your fingertips, than you will love the Smithfield
Station. We came the day after Thanksgiving so you could imagine we were ready for
a break from the stress that comes with the holidays. This resort is very laid back and
the Pack family as well as the rest of the staff are awesome!! We stayed in the Lodge
section of the property and had a balcony that looked out over the marina and the river. The room was huge and laying in bed with the gas logs flickering away was just
what we needed. After some rest it was off to a wine tasting downstairs then a great
dinner at the restaurant. Just a short walk into the town of Smithfield for shopping and
sightseeing was a plus! I could go on and on about how great this place is but you just
need to come see for yourself! Obviously, we would highly recommend staying here
and we will be returning very soon ourselves.

Room Tip: The Lodge section of the property is probably the nicest as far as the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Very accommodating hotel and staff. Holiday retreat with wife and two teenage kids was wonderful. Pulled everyone out of their “plugged in” lives. Great family time.

Smithfield town closed because of holiday but definitely will return for Christmas to experience the old world, small town charm. A true tucked away gem.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie W, Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ed,

Thank you for the opportunity to help your family "unplug". I am glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you and your family were able to enjoy the downtown area, which is always relaxing and has something for everyone.

I hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again; "unplugging" is always good.

Yours In Hospitality,

Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Had an overnight stay here for my sisters birthday. We really enjoyed it!

The check-process was easy and the women who checked us in was super friendly and helpful.

We opted for rooms with a water views (deluxe king balcony) and that was the best part. It was windy and cold when we visited so we didn’t spend too much time on the balcony but the views were so beautiful! Rooms was large and clean and it was nice to have a fireplace. Although, my sister and her husband did find a half bottle of consumed wine in their fridge. They initially thought it was gift from hotel for her birthday, whooops!

A continental breakfast came with the room rate and I have to say that was the only ok part. They had all the basics and the famous ham biscuits. I know they are known for their Sunday brunch so will have to come back to try that!

Short walk to the local brewery, other restaurants and shops (go to the Christmas Store!).

I would definitely come back!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

This was an AMAZING weekend get a way for my husband and myself. It was a spur of the moment decision that we will always treasure! From the moment we walked into the marina decorated lobby to check in to our checking out everyone and everything was perfect!!! We were on the second floor overlooking the marina with a wrap around balcony. We sat on the balcony to drink a glass of wine purchased from the onsite wine store. The sunset was so beautiful and the sunrise the next morning was worth waking up to! Next was the bountiful breakfast buffet... an omelet station with any filling you can imagine including crab and shrimp! Our room came with complimentary mimosas. It also included a waffle bar and an assortment of delicious typical breakfast offerings. Every single staff member we interacted with gave us the gold treatment! The room was comfortable with a very comfortable king size bed and our own private entrance to our own private balcony. This was a wonderful surprise gem that we have found and we will come back again and again!!! Thank you for making our weekend so amazingly wonderful in every respect!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cphtdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Wow! Thanks for the glowing review. This is just how we want people to feel when they stay with us. I do hope to see you again and would love to put a face with a review (is that we do these days?!?).

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
President and Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

The interior decor was very dated. Our "Water view" was limited and really of the marina/boats not a nice view as you would expect. Hated having to drag our luggage up two flights of stairs. There are no elevators and you enter through the restaurant which feels weird next to entering diners. The halls in the guest areas smelled like cheap cleaner and lots of dust was visible along the carpet edges. The bathroom was so small that only one person could fit in it. If you leave the door open when in the shower, you open the curtain and are facing a door! This was the worst - my hallway bathroom at home is larger. Bed was comfortable. Comforter was snagged and worn. Towels in the bathroom had stains. I left wishing I had paid more to go somewhere else.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie W, Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your candid observations concerning your stay with us. We do offer a variety of options for room choices, and make sure that the descriptions of the rooms that are viewed on line do notate that some of our rooms are stair access only. We value all feed back from our guest and use these to always make improvements. Your comments have been forwarded to the appropriate person, and will most certainly be considered. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again, and if stairs are an issue, please make us aware at the time the reservation is made and we can recommend other options.

Yours In Hospitality,

Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

It was hands down one of the worst hotel stays we've ever had in traveling together for over 15 years. Dated rooms, worn down furniture and carpet, musty smells permeated every surface. Double full beds, instead of typical queens, that were easily twenty years old. They folded up around you when you laid down and had a pitch towards the center causing you to strain you neck all night. The bedding was stained and looked like remnants collected from thrift shops, the bathroom was so incredibly small you could barely close the door once you entered. The base of the plastic shower was scratched up and felt awful while standing in it. The fixtures in the bathroom were stained and corroded. There were stains on the shower curtains and hair everywhere. Walls were thin and clear noises could be heard on both sides of us. The room next to us smoked all weekend and our room would fill with smoke so clear we actually had to leave the room for air twice. To say that the front desk was unaccommodating would be generous. The staff was snide, patronizing and absolutely unwilling to resolve any of these concerns. They seemed incapable of problem-solving or empathy. I was shocked at our experience given the reviews we had read before booking. It might have been different had we not stayed in the attic room, I'm not sure. But given the room we had, and the lack of any accommodation from the staff, I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoelessrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie W, General Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for the review. We take the comfort of our guests very seriously here at Smithfield Station and it has always been our desire that no one leaves here anything less than delighted. The issues that you have pointed out have been addressed by our team. I appreciate your willingness to share with the tripadvisor family and if your travels return you to Smithfield, we would love to have you back.

Yours in Hospitality,
Margie Walker
Manager
Smithfield Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
32.6 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
646 reviews
27.3 km away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Smithfield Inn Bed and Breakfast, Restaurant and Tavern
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: $157 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing