We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
122
103
55
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
103
55
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffle house free popcorn homemade biscuits room was clean front desk staff waffles no reservation the entire staff parking lot new jersey off the highway bed and pillows an older hotel hard boiled eggs hot breakfast sausage gravy the breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 329 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2017

I have stayed at this property three times this year... September and October as a stopping point on to Virginia Tech football games... and this past week-end as a meeting place with our daughter and grand kids. Obviously I like it because it is clean and the staff is very friendly. It is located about three hundred yards off of I-81, which has 24/7 traffic, including a ton of tractor trailers. It is also beside rail tracks and next to busy Richmond Road. I've stayed on both sides and never noticed any of the outside sounds... and never had a traffic problem to get to downtown Staunton or back on the interstate.

The room is comfortable with cushioned chair and a desk chair. It has a fridge and micro with a serviceable closet. The bathroom is small but clean and serviceable.
And the bed is super comfy.

I'm not sure how they do it, but they have coffee good as Starbucks across the road.

There's a Waffle House you can walk to and the Frontier Museum is a quick drive around the corner.

I'll be back next season.

Room tip: Check the online rates, then see if you can beat it by calling the property direct
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

It is always a pleasure having you as our guest and we are delighted to have won your loyalty with our ideal location, friendly staff, and comfortable rooms. We are glad to know that you find our hotel to be quiet and notably clean. We are pleased to read that you plan to stay with us again next year and we hope your next stay will be even more pleasant than the last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

I am picky about cleanliness, and noticed dried droplets of who knows what on the bathroom floor. Bath sink, countertop, and light fixture seemed newish and light good. No active ventilation system in bathroom. Towels nice. Shower curtain flimsy and fluttered around during shower. Room tidy but very poor lighting. Bed surprisingly comfortable. Pillows smelled used and past due for replacement. Doors and hallway walls very scuffed. Breakfast ok. The prepackaged cooked oatmeal, must be microwaved and then placed out for serving... typical breakfast fare. Plastic cutlery too flimsy. Nice yogurt selection. Front desk ladies helpful. Parking lot could use a few more bright lights.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank S. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Thank you for being our guest and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We are glad to know that you found our beds to be comfortable and our staff to be friendly. As noted in other reviews, we have high standards for cleanliness and we are disappointed to hear that some aspects of your guest room fell short of our usual high marks. Please know that our bathrooms are centrally vented with a fan that runs quietly and continuously to remove excess moisture from each bathroom. We have taken your feedback regarding your stay to heart and sincerely hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we may replace this experience with a superior one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile


It served its purpose. It was clean enough, fitted sheets didn’t fit, and needs replacing. It is definitely in need of updating.
Should we need to stop in this area again, we will not be staying again.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GaryEm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us failed to exceed your expectations. We are mindful to take your feedback to shore up any deficiencies you encountered with the sheets and sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity in the future to replace this experience with a superior one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017

We stay at this property a few times a year, most recently in November, and it is always excellent. Sometimes we are just passing through on the road, and other times, we visit there to go biking and enjoy the area. The rooms are always clean and nice, and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is in a very convenient location right off of Interstate 81, and located in Staunton, which is a nice town to visit with great restaurants of all types, from the less expensive side to some more expensive dining options. So this hotel works nicely both for a quick stopover when you are driving someplace else, as well as a destination location to enjoy the shops and restaurants, history, and great natural beauty of the Staunton area.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tagless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

It is always a pleasure having you as our guest at Comfort Inn Staunton and we are delighted to learn that your most recent stay with us was another pleasant one! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel when you travel through our are we are grateful for your kind remarks on our consistent attention to cleanliness, friendly service, ideal location. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

Good location for the purpose of our trip. Room was comfortable. Breakfast was sufficient. The staff was also very pleasant. My only concern was the very small bathroom. It was nice but extremely small.
There are new roads going in nearby and that will be helpful for the hotel location.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

We are glad to know that our location was convenient for your needs and appreciate your choice to stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. We look forward to being of service again whenever your travels bring you to the Staunton area and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews