We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Virginia Travels”
other travellers have booked this property
Pondview
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pondview
View of the pond and mountains Snow on the mountain top
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
Pondview
View of the pond and mountains
Snow on the mountain top
The living room with leather club furniture and 42 inch flat screen SAT TV
Kitchen
one of two bedrooms each with two double beds
One of two full bathrooms
Hill Top
Night time
Fire pit on the porch
Sunset
Looking through the windows of Pondview
Looking across the pond
Mountain View
Tent is available for events
Hanging out by the fire
Snow at the Cabins
Summer at the Cabins
Rose River Farm Rainbow
Native Brookie
Blue Gill in the pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Syria, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kakl1
Winder, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Virginia Travels”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We planned a Virginia Vacation with our daughter and son-in-law. For most of the vacation time we stayed at Rose River Farm at the pond view yurt. The yurt was nicely furnished and had amazing views! Each afternoon Earl (with his fun and gracious personality) would deliver fire wood. At night we sat around the fire pit and star gazed.

During the day we would venture out to different attractions; Williamsburg, Charlottesville, Laray Caverns, different wineries, Old Culpepper, and Front Royal. We could not have asked for a more enjoyable place to stay.

Douglas, the owner was always helpful to answer our questions and make sure things were taken care of.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The mattress - Just because I am a pillow top gal :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Yurt was clean, modern, and spacious. The jar of fresh coffee beans and grinder was a wonderful treat. My son and I had fun at the fishing point right outside the cabin, as well as the larger pond across the road. The night sky far from light pollution was spectacular, and we enjoyed hiking the nearby trails into Shenandoah National Park during the day. We had a wonderful, trouble-free stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique escape from Washington DC”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed at Rose River Farm for a weekend and truly liked it. Tucked away in the Shenandoah mountains, the cabins were a unique place, clean and comfortable, just what I needed to escape from the stress of Washington DC. And it was less than 2 hours drive from the city. The round dome of the cabin adds a special charm to the dwelling. The host was very friendly.

PS. When you are in the cabin, remember to close your door quickly behind you at night as there are mosquitoes in the country in the summer (no mosquitoes inside the cabin),

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Momto2tra...
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice country getaway”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed two nights at the pond view cabin as a "parents getaway" and enjoyed ourselves. We were originally worried about not having enough to do, but we took winery tours, toured Montpelier, and had dinner at nice restaurants, as well as just enjoyed the peaceful setting. Sitting out under the stars by the fire pit was very relaxing.

A few things to know before you go- we got absolutely zero cell service within 10-15 minutes of the cabin, and there is no phone in the cabin. We were warned about this ahead of time and it is nice to unplug, but since we have two small children who were with family that made me nervous. They do offer Wifi for $4.00 a day. I did feel as though for $275 a night, they could throw in free wifi.

This is also not a place that offers much in the way of personal service. We did not see another person the whole time we were there. There is no check in/check out, just a lock box with the keys. There is no maid service, and guests are required to clean up after themselves before leaving. Again, all of this was stated ahead of time, so nothing was a surprise. This is meant to be a rustic getaway.

If you want a very peaceful, unplugged and quiet place to recharge, this is perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig E
1 review
“Trout Filled Stream and a Stay in a Beautiful Yurt”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I booked a day fishing at Rose River Farm and a stay on the same night at the Pond View yurt to celebrate my son's graduation from Gunsmithing school.

The fishing was excellent especially for the first weekend of June and we landed 26 trout between us including a stream bred wild brown.

To cap it all off the yurt was a very pleasant place to dine and sleep after a great day. I felt that the central design and round skylight made the building exceptionally pleasant and cheerful.

Great place in Virginia's western piedmont!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere and adventure
Liked least: Checkout time 10 am instead of 11 or a bit later, lol.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solochick...
Northern VA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Girls Gone Off The Grid Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Myself and 3 of my girlfriends traveled here for a different kind of getaway and we all had a great time. As we were packing up to leave we all wished we had booked one more night. The cabin was great and the only issue is that one of the bathroom toilets did not appear to be cleaned upon our arrival. Quick fix, but still. We had the hilltop cabin and absolutely loved it. It was spacious enough that we were never on top of each other and it was very well equipped. Earl brought us wood for the fire pit each afternoon. What an awesome man he is. He even introduced us to another man when we told him we wished we could have some fresh fish. Dustin, another great guy, caught 3 trout for us on our last evening. It was more than enough for the four of us and there was some leftover for lunch the next day when we got home. Earl even cleaned the fish for us, eeuuu. LOL. We're not country girls! We have never taken this type of getaway but we believe we will make it an annual trip, but during the spring, summer or fall when it's a bit warmer. We never even turned on the tv until Sunday night when two of the ladies were going to have a panic attack if they missed The Walking Dead or some show to that effect. We ate all of our meals at the cabin with the exception of a birthday dinner about 10 miles away at The Inn at Madison. We went horseback riding and we took a 5 hour wine tour too. The cabin was a welcome break from the hustle of the DC metro area. Clean, crisp air and the starry night sky while sitting for hours at the firepit are what stands out the most for me. Thanks Mr. Dear for providing your cabin for us ladies. Earl is definitely a gem! Please tell him the girls said that!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2015
So glad you had a fun time. Sorry about the toilet. From time to time we have issues with iron in the water and it can stain the bowl. Our cleaning crew took care of the issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A family Christmas to remember”
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Taking time out from a high-stress unaccompanied assignment overseas, I met up with my family and brought them to the cabin for a week-long Christmas getaway. We left with beautiful photos and memories of time spent together at the cabin. My wife and children (19, 16, 11) enjoyed themselves. Too, my time fishing was highly rewarding.

The cabin was well set up. We baked gingerbread and kolache, roasted marshmallows, and made smores. We played various table top games on the magazine table in front of the couch. The iPod docking station was perfect for filling the cabin with holiday music.

I was amazed and very pleased by the beauty of the river, and appreciated all the efforts Mr. Dear has taken to make it so fish friendly. My daughter and I walked along the side of the river; I pointed out the trout in their various spots and regaled her with my antics trying to tempt them.

An unforeseen bonus was the quality and taste of the water that came out of the tap; we all noticed how good it tasted. We went so far as to fill our travel water bottles for the trip home to continue enjoying it.

Staying at the cabin proved to be a great time for the entire family, and provided us with many wonderful memories of the Christmas of 2014. I look forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole of the visit; ample space, hot water as needed, a gorgeous vista, proximity to the river.
Liked least: Sharing Internet connectivity among four persons was challenging; at first it worked fine for all of us to be on simultaneously, later we had to take turns.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing