We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing in the mountains”
other travellers have booked this property
Pondview
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pondview
View of the pond and mountains Snow on the mountain top
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Pondview
View of the pond and mountains
Snow on the mountain top
The living room with leather club furniture and 42 inch flat screen SAT TV
Kitchen
one of two bedrooms each with two double beds
One of two full bathrooms
Hill Top
Night time
Fire pit on the porch
Sunset
Looking through the windows of Pondview
Looking across the pond
Mountain View
Tent is available for events
Hanging out by the fire
Snow at the Cabins
Summer at the Cabins
Rose River Farm Rainbow
Native Brookie
Blue Gill in the pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Syria, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
readhd59
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the mountains”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Cabins at Rose River Farm are really a wonderful place to get away from it all. We stayed at the Hill Top Cabin. The weather was wonderful; the scenery was beautiful as usual in April. The cabins are still very comfortable and the amenities are still top notch. There are several vineyards nearby and on our visit, we had vouchers for tastings provided by the proprietors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islander4...
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and serene place to stay for a few days in August. While the weather back home was hot and humid, the weather here was wonderful! The location and scenery were perfect; watching the meteor showers during our stay was definitely a highlight! The cabin (Mountain View) was spotless, the staff very friendly & helpful and the fishing was good, too. The scenery in the fall must be spectacular, we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakl1
Winder, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Virginia Travels”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We planned a Virginia Vacation with our daughter and son-in-law. For most of the vacation time we stayed at Rose River Farm at the pond view yurt. The yurt was nicely furnished and had amazing views! Each afternoon Earl (with his fun and gracious personality) would deliver fire wood. At night we sat around the fire pit and star gazed.

During the day we would venture out to different attractions; Williamsburg, Charlottesville, Laray Caverns, different wineries, Old Culpepper, and Front Royal. We could not have asked for a more enjoyable place to stay.

Douglas, the owner was always helpful to answer our questions and make sure things were taken care of.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The mattress - Just because I am a pillow top gal :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn S
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Yurt was clean, modern, and spacious. The jar of fresh coffee beans and grinder was a wonderful treat. My son and I had fun at the fishing point right outside the cabin, as well as the larger pond across the road. The night sky far from light pollution was spectacular, and we enjoyed hiking the nearby trails into Shenandoah National Park during the day. We had a wonderful, trouble-free stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique escape from Washington DC”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed at Rose River Farm for a weekend and truly liked it. Tucked away in the Shenandoah mountains, the cabins were a unique place, clean and comfortable, just what I needed to escape from the stress of Washington DC. And it was less than 2 hours drive from the city. The round dome of the cabin adds a special charm to the dwelling. The host was very friendly.

PS. When you are in the cabin, remember to close your door quickly behind you at night as there are mosquitoes in the country in the summer (no mosquitoes inside the cabin),

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Momto2tra...
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice country getaway”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed two nights at the pond view cabin as a "parents getaway" and enjoyed ourselves. We were originally worried about not having enough to do, but we took winery tours, toured Montpelier, and had dinner at nice restaurants, as well as just enjoyed the peaceful setting. Sitting out under the stars by the fire pit was very relaxing.

A few things to know before you go- we got absolutely zero cell service within 10-15 minutes of the cabin, and there is no phone in the cabin. We were warned about this ahead of time and it is nice to unplug, but since we have two small children who were with family that made me nervous. They do offer Wifi for $4.00 a day. I did feel as though for $275 a night, they could throw in free wifi.

This is also not a place that offers much in the way of personal service. We did not see another person the whole time we were there. There is no check in/check out, just a lock box with the keys. There is no maid service, and guests are required to clean up after themselves before leaving. Again, all of this was stated ahead of time, so nothing was a surprise. This is meant to be a rustic getaway.

If you want a very peaceful, unplugged and quiet place to recharge, this is perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig E
1 review
“Trout Filled Stream and a Stay in a Beautiful Yurt”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I booked a day fishing at Rose River Farm and a stay on the same night at the Pond View yurt to celebrate my son's graduation from Gunsmithing school.

The fishing was excellent especially for the first weekend of June and we landed 26 trout between us including a stream bred wild brown.

To cap it all off the yurt was a very pleasant place to dine and sleep after a great day. I felt that the central design and round skylight made the building exceptionally pleasant and cheerful.

Great place in Virginia's western piedmont!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere and adventure
Liked least: Checkout time 10 am instead of 11 or a bit later, lol.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing