We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burtons Grill - CLOSED

Burtons Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Laskin Rd
Description: Burtons Grill is a full service restaurant featuring a variety of seasonal, traditional and regional favorites plus the best burger in Virginia Beach. Burtons offers lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch. We love kids and parents will love our healthy kids menu! We accomodate events of all occasions from families dining casually to business meetings and special occasions. Gluten-free and vegetarian menus available. Full service bar and lounge. Patio dining. Private room for up to 45 guests. Plenty of parking and only minutes from the beach.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Burtons has a great atmosphere. Which I'd descibe as "Casual fancy"
Food is pretty good. Service is great. Bar is nice.

Still getting used to good restaurants being tucked into strip malls here in Virginia Beach - but this is among the better ones.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    82
    32
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one of the best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This a fantastic place to take someone for Sunday morning breakfast or a special dinner the food was great and the servers were there when you needed anything with out being in the way.

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decent food, great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was sold as a romantic spot near the beach and we decided to try it out on our recent trip. The place was nice enough, dimly lit, nice furnishings. The food was mediocre, not anything to write home about. Our service was excellent and we had a wonderfully attentive hostess and server. We can say that we checked it out, but its not our favorite and we probably won't be back. If you're looking for some delicious food, check out Waterman's or Mahi Mah's on the Ocean Front. If you don't mind chain, The Melting Pot is a great standby, too.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank georgifisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High quality food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

From the outstanding cocktail recommendations to the attentive service from Jenny and delicious food and relaxing atmosphere, Burton's Grill was a superior experience! We will return often !

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaureenRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best in Virginia Beach, by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

The meal was absolutely delicious. I enjoyed the filet mignon and bronzed (cajun like seasoning) shrimp with a side of steamed broccoli and homecut french fries. The bread and butter was tasty as well. The butter contained some sort of seasoning that was tremendous.

I was skeptical, partly because the restaurant is located in a small strip mall. The restaurant was classy with dimmed lights and I enjoyed the experience. I hope to return in the future!

This was by far my best meal in 2011 and especially in the Virginia Beach/Norfolk area

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wrestlingfanfromtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing