We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to relax!”
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Sterling, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to relax!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I was blown away how absolutely polite, courteous and friendly the staff were. The rooms was immaculate and clean. The bed had a down comforter and some of the most comfortable sheets I ever slept in (and I have stayed at 5 star hotels). The kitchenette and kitchen are fully stocked with things you may need to cook with ...I absolutely loved it and think it is just a treasure. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Fantastic review of the Ocean Key Resort, thank you for choosing VSA Resorts as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    103
    49
    18
    16
See reviews for
206
120
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We only live 30 minutes from the beach and initially wanted to stay at the Hilton. We brought our 5 year old and it would be impossible for my wife and I to have a king bed and but a roll away in the room, even on the club level. We booked at Ocean Key due to the reviews on TripAdvisor. We called the hotel and the front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The small suite was perfect for us. Our daughter slept on the pull out couch in the front room and we were in our king bed in the back. Rooms are separated by a kitchenette and bath room. It added the privacy we wanted.

The indoor pool in small and would probably be crowded in the summer. It was too cold for us to hit the beach and did get a little cozy in the afternoon. Hot tub was at a perfect temperature. We attended the managers reception and was very nice. The location is nice with a new park on the beach that was made for handicapped kids, but our daughter loved it.

The only drawback was the parking. It is rather tight, but we never had a problem. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaiserphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to fulfill your family vacation needs. We appreciate your kind words about the location and the units at the Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My family and I had a great time staying at the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach. Cristina at the front desk was exceptionally helpful in recommending a great restaurant giving us local directions, weather and always had a smile to greet the guests. She took care of any needs or questions and always with a pleasant smile on her face. The kids at the pool enjoyed it when she came in to calm them down because she was, in their words "a lot nicer than anyone else!". Having people at the front desk who are helpful courteous and eager to go out of their way separates places like Ocean Key from other resorts I have stayed in. Lorenzo in guest services was also very helpful and anytime we needed anything he was there in a flash! I give the Ocean Key Resort five stars for a state of the art room that was very clean and people with a great attitude like Cristina, we will be sure to come back!

Room Tip: Ask Cristina Collins at the front desk for any local information she is very helpful and friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
I appreciate your review of the Ocean Key Resort and Cristina thanks you as well. We look forward to your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

As owners of a VSA resort property I chose to spend a long weekend at one of them before my wife has ankle replacement in April. I chose the Ocean Key. What a great choice. The weather was a bit chilly but the time there was terrific. Our room was bright, clean, and refreshing. Our view from our balcony to the ocean was awesome [though chilly!]. The workout room was well equipped with quality new machines. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. Bill Mitchell, this resort's GM, could not have been more pleasant. He even remembered us from the Ocean Sands the previous year! The entire resort physically was impecably clean and neat...the employees from the maintenance staff, the workout/game room attendants, and the front desk girls were exceptionally cordial, helpful and just plain nice! All of these are attributes were no doubt instilled by Bill Mitchell. Though we own at the Ocean Sands, it will be difficult for them to compare with our next stay.
PS...The restaurant was great too...good food and service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Atlantic Ave. face the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Ocean Key Resort! The staff at the Ocean Key Resort thank you as well and we look forward to your next vacation with the VSA Resorts family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This resort is at the end of the strip but its a great place to stay, regardless. The hotel staff are all extremely nice and very accommodating. We were having neighbor issues and they gave us a new room, no questions asked. We had a master room attached to a mini-kitchen that had all the items a regular kitchen would have, minus the space. It was basically a hallway that had a fridge, stove/oven, dishwasher etc. The living room was nice to have, it was pretty much a buffer for us; we didn't hear any noise from the hallway at night as the room dampened it all.

Room Tip: Dont get a room at the end near Pacific; the noise from the traffic is very loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevef826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We appreciate your comments about the service and location at the Ocean Key Resort. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, Ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our first trip to Virginia Beach. Fast and easy check in, Great staff, and the beach is right across the street. Could watch the sunrise from our balcony. Don't miss the Managers reception. Every staff member went out of their way to be helpful, especially Maura at reception. Fast and simple check out too, and FREE parking.

Room Tip: If you can get a beach facing balcony they're the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DunnSyracuse_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Ocean Key Resort. We are glad you enjoyed our Manager’s reception and I thank you for mentioning your experience with Maura. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The manager at the hotel Bill Mitchell was very helpful. I had family come in from out of town for my daughter's baby shower having everyone stay at the ocean key and the party at the ocean keys made everything convenient. The room was beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The location and view were perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itslisa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
It was a pleasure having you and your family at the Ocean Key Resort for such a special occasion. We look forward to having your family visit in the future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.0 km away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.3 km away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Property: Ocean Key Resort
Address: 424 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3611
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing