We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Key Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$348
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$219
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
252
119
55
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
252
119
55
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsactivity centeracross the streetliving roomgalley kitchenmini kitchenindoor poolwashers and dryerssouth endtowel exchangepull out sofashort walk to the beachhot tubnice place to stayatlantic avenuethe entire staffthird floorparking garage
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 469 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We only live 30 minutes from the beach and initially wanted to stay at the Hilton. We brought our 5 year old and it would be impossible for my wife and I to have a king bed and but a roll away in the room, even on the club level. We booked at Ocean Key due to the reviews on TripAdvisor. We called the hotel and the front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The small suite was perfect for us. Our daughter slept on the pull out couch in the front room and we were in our king bed in the back. Rooms are separated by a kitchenette and bath room. It added the privacy we wanted.

The indoor pool in small and would probably be crowded in the summer. It was too cold for us to hit the beach and did get a little cozy in the afternoon. Hot tub was at a perfect temperature. We attended the managers reception and was very nice. The location is nice with a new park on the beach that was made for handicapped kids, but our daughter loved it.

The only drawback was the parking. It is rather tight, but we never had a problem. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaiserphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to fulfill your family vacation needs. We appreciate your kind words about the location and the units at the Ocean Key Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My family and I had a great time staying at the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach. Cristina at the front desk was exceptionally helpful in recommending a great restaurant giving us local directions, weather and always had a smile to greet the guests. She took care of any needs or questions and always with a pleasant smile on her face. The kids at the pool enjoyed it when she came in to calm them down because she was, in their words "a lot nicer than anyone else!". Having people at the front desk who are helpful courteous and eager to go out of their way separates places like Ocean Key from other resorts I have stayed in. Lorenzo in guest services was also very helpful and anytime we needed anything he was there in a flash! I give the Ocean Key Resort five stars for a state of the art room that was very clean and people with a great attitude like Cristina, we will be sure to come back!

Room Tip: Ask Cristina Collins at the front desk for any local information she is very helpful and friendly!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

I appreciate your review of the Ocean Key Resort and Cristina thanks you as well. We look forward to your next vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2012

As owners of a VSA resort property I chose to spend a long weekend at one of them before my wife has ankle replacement in April. I chose the Ocean Key. What a great choice. The weather was a bit chilly but the time there was terrific. Our room was bright, clean, and refreshing. Our view from our balcony to the ocean was awesome [though chilly!]. The workout room was well equipped with quality new machines. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. Bill Mitchell, this resort's GM, could not have been more pleasant. He even remembered us from the Ocean Sands the previous year! The entire resort physically was impecably clean and neat...the employees from the maintenance staff, the workout/game room attendants, and the front desk girls were exceptionally cordial, helpful and just plain nice! All of these are attributes were no doubt instilled by Bill Mitchell. Though we own at the Ocean Sands, it will be difficult for them to compare with our next stay.
PS...The restaurant was great too...good food and service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Atlantic Ave. face the ocean...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Les29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Ocean Key Resort! The staff at the Ocean Key Resort thank you as well and we look forward to your next vacation with the VSA Resorts family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This resort is at the end of the strip but its a great place to stay, regardless. The hotel staff are all extremely nice and very accommodating. We were having neighbor issues and they gave us a new room, no questions asked. We had a master room attached to a mini-kitchen that had all the items a regular kitchen would have, minus the space. It was basically a hallway that had a fridge, stove/oven, dishwasher etc. The living room was nice to have, it was pretty much a buffer for us; we didn't hear any noise from the hallway at night as the room dampened it all.

Room Tip: Dont get a room at the end near Pacific; the noise from the traffic is very loud at night.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevef826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

We appreciate your comments about the service and location at the Ocean Key Resort. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Our first trip to Virginia Beach. Fast and easy check in, Great staff, and the beach is right across the street. Could watch the sunrise from our balcony. Don't miss the Managers reception. Every staff member went out of their way to be helpful, especially Maura at reception. Fast and simple check out too, and FREE parking.

Room Tip: If you can get a beach facing balcony they're the best.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DunnSyracuse_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Ocean Key Resort. We are glad you enjoyed our Manager’s reception and I thank you for mentioning your experience with Maura. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews