We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great views!”

Ocean Eddie's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #100 of 1,642 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: US$7 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: This is a laid back old beach style restaurant that started out as a hot dog stand in 1949. In the 70s and 80s it was a dance on the bar, loud and fun experience. Today, it is a restaurant with terrific views and food. Check out the web site for the music schedule.
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

Ocean Eddie's seafood is located directly on the Virginia Beach fishing pier and is an excellent dining choice for lunch or dinner. I've been here many times and the food is SO GOOD. The fish tacos are incredible here as is the famous she crab soup. You can't go wrong with anything on their menu. The views from the pier while dining here are excellent. You're up high enough to see the entirety of the beach to the south or the north end. The staff here are some of the friendliest people you'll meet and add to a pleasurable dining experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 0221Serendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OesManager, Manager at Ocean Eddie's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

What a wonderful review for us. This week we are thankful for customers like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 324 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2018

Driving up and down the strip just checking things out to see if this area might be worth staying for a weeks’ vacation. After a rousing game of mini-golf, we were looking for a local place to celebrate the victory. We actually found this because we were only looking for a parking lot so we could walk around a bit. We parked and as we did we looked straight ahead and there was Ocean Eddie’s! We walked across the boardwalk to the pier and stepped inside.and asked if there was outside seating on this fine October day. Sure enough, we were led to a table to enjoy the view. Our server brought menus and took our beverage order. When he returned we placed our order and chatted about the area. Not one of us had any idea all of this was here! Our appetizers were served, We were hungrier than we thought and it all disappeared in a few moments - all very good. We browsed the gift shop before leaving - the usual “beach” fare. Worth the trip though, decent food and good service. Great view! On this day there were horses on the beach by the water. Fun stuff

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gsg1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

Good restaurant with vacation beach character. Nice seats on the pier overlooking the beach.

I had the chowder which was brought at the the same time as the dinner. Need to work on the timing. It was an average chowder. Dinner was the fish tacos. Very good and the plantains on the side were great. Finished up with a chocolate chip bread pudding. It was great. I enjoyed the dinner and view.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank adammC506OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OesManager, Manager at Ocean Eddie's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

We will make sure the chowder comes out earlier next time. Thanks you so much for this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2018

The service was confusing. Food before utensils, for example. But, who cares about the small things in a setting such as this. Ocean Eddie’s Seafood Restaurant on the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier is a haven for good food and a good selection of beer. A place to sit on the porch and watch people fishing on the pier and seabirds foraging for food on the sand.
With a fall sun warming the day and reflecting off a bottle of Kona New Wave Golden Ale, life couldn’t be better.
Virginia Beach has more than its share of long time restaurants, but Ocean Eddie’s has kept its originality perhaps more than the rest. This wonderfully seedy spot dates to the 1950s and has maintained a reputation for good food and music throughout. The spot closes Oct. 28 for the season, but expects to reopen around mid-March. Put this on your calendar for 2019.
My partner Ben and I sought out Ocean Eddie’s because of Ben’s desire for Hatteras Island-style clam chowder – the kind with a clear broth. He was not disappointed. The chowder came loaded with vegetables and a wealth of clams. My choice was North Carolina barbecue sandwich accompanied by real fries, sinfully deep fried. The experience was tasty, lazy and totally satisfying, a perfect touch for our last night of a fall beach trip.
A nice touch, too; Ocean Eddie’s has forgone plastic straws.
Don’t be misled by our soup and sandwich choices. The menu here is broad and sophisticated enough to offer a beet and arugula salad. Its most extravagant seafood platter – crab legs, shrimp and oysters – cost only $30. Wines and mixed drinks are available.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank zoetav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OesManager, Manager at Ocean Eddie's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Thank you so much for this review. We will make sure the servers bring out those utensils sooner than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

You pay for the view, food was OK. Lots of fried food on the menu. Seared tuna was a good size, broccoli not cooked enough had to use a knife to cut it, we like it with a little crunch. Had the crab cake sandwich, small size hockey puck mostly filled with breading. Some plantains were undercooked too.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank joefO5663RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Eddie's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Eddie's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing