We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but not up to hype or price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Todd Jurich's Burger Bar - CLOSED

Todd Jurich's Burger Bar
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok, but not up to hype or price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

In a word--meh.

We found it hard to believe that this is the same Todd Jurich with the great restaurant in Norfolk.

High points: Friendly waiter, decent cocktails, "blistering green beans" side*, salmon dip appetizer*

Not-so-high points: Spouse's burger was abundantly average. Good, but nothing to write home about. $2 upcharge for onion rings--standard, but completely ridiculous. My tuna melt was a little on the arid side. Got a little side mayo and stole spouse's tomato from her burger and all was well.

*Re the blistering green beans (their name, not mine!)...waiter volunteered that we could sub a veggie for the standard side of fries, so I tried the green beans. Tasty...little bit of Thai chili and some bits of porky goodness. Tasty--but not particularly spicy, albeit the "blistering" label.

**Salmon dip...very tasty smoked salmon, caper and other goodness with crostini. Trouble is...also included a hair. Not the end of the world for me...I'm one of those folks who can pull the offending hair out and continue eating without losing my mind, but it certainly added to the "average at best, probably won't go back" feeling about the Burger Bar.

Deck is pretty noisy--lots of folks having a good time there, but we were looking for quiet and here reseated just about as far away as possible--no fussing, no trouble. Decent view of Rudee inlet from deck and inside.

Bottom line--We'll take our next lunch dollars elsewhere...there are plenty of more interesting, better and affordable places in town.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_D_Bowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow...what a burger!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Was recommended by a friend. My wife and I went to have a good burger and watch the first NCAA semi-final basketball game. What a treat..we had the BEST burger I have ever eaten...the onion rings probably would rate right up there too. The food was not as pricey as you would expect at a place overlooking the water. This was great experience and we will go back again.
The service was awesome too...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Les29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good but not as good as Waterman's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Very good burgers but not quite as good as Wateman's. Bright, clean, roomy, friendly. Big bar indoors and out. Nice view of Rudee inlet. Good parking.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jackiehurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great burger with nice outdoor seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Went with my family (wife + 2 little ones) and extended family because we heard the burgers were awesome. After reading the reviews here, i was expecting slow service but that wasn't the case. we were there during the weekday and during happy hour, so we got to take advantage of the $2 PBR drafts. i also found out that ownership has recently changed hands, so that would explain why they don't offer duck-fat fries any longer (even though the website still says they do), and possibly improved service. the outdoor deck seating was nice, and they offer role-down windows around the deck if it gets too cold or windy. the waiter was great - helpful and attentive. we all got burgers, except the kids. the kid's plates were huge, so unless your kid is almost a teenager, then they will be full or can split with their sibling. hands down, the burgers were huge and 'awesome' from everyone at the table. the only thing i would suggest would be for some/better seasoning on the burger patties, as i saw 2 "foody" ladies at our table reach for the salt. some of us went for the upgraded parmesan and truffle oil fries over the standard sea-salted fries. the first batch didn't taste any different than the standard fries, and when we asked the waiter if that was supposed to be the case, he quickly brought us a second batch. this batch was overdone but again, not a lot of taste difference. so i would stick with the standard fries or try the sweet potato ones. so kudos for trying to make it right. overall, the price is a tad bit more than say a red robins, but to get the quality of meat, size and gourmet burger, and outdoor seating on the water was worth the increase.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoseclamp_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice deck bar and deck area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The deck looks over the marina and provides a casual but fun social atmosphere. The bar tender is a good guy and gets to know the customers by first name basis. They also have live music which adds to the experience. I have never eaten in the restaurant but the deck has good food, drinks and service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing