We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local's Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandbridge Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Local's Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Go to Little Island when you visit Sandbridge Beach. There is no problem with parking and yes, you may have to pay, but it is less crowded than the Oceanfront and there are public restrooms.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemyboysvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    243
    50
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SUper cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

It is secluded but close to neighborhood like options such as fire station bingo, civic leagues and christmas home tours. Seems far away, but is still part of laid-back va. beach and not pretentious.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fourth of July BBQ arrive early”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Sandbridge has BBQ areas and good restrooms so you can spend the day at the Beach. You want to arrive early by 10 am as the parking area fills up and the wait in line in your vehicle to pay the fee (which was $5) on the busy 4th of July holiday can take 15 minutes. We bring beach umbrella's and someone in our group usually has an outdoor tent so we can help minimize sunburn.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTravellerVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome beach community !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have owned a place in Sandbridge for 14 years. It is one of the nicest, cleanest and "natural" beaches we have ever been to. The people are very friendly. Sandbridge is a very special place ( like a little kept secret). And don't miss the sunsets from the South end of Sandbridge on the bay side. They are AWESOME!! Can't imagine living anywhere else !! LOVE my Sandbridge !!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vabeachboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favorite Beach for the Locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I almost don't want to rate this beach. It is not a tourist trap. There is a beach for surfers, and one for swimmers. There is a state park in walking distance. Bath houses, playground, picnic shelters with grills. And plenty of parking. You pay but it is worth it. Don't go if you are looking for bars and tourist traps.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pamelasnewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandbridge Beach also viewed

 

Been to Sandbridge Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing